We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, friendly people and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cellar Door

The Cellar Door
44-46 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1EJ, Scotland (Cowgate)
0131 226 4155
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cellar Door is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #337 of 1,826 restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $2 - $86
Cuisines: European, Steakhouse, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Cowgate
Description: Step downstairs to our 50 cover restaurant where you will receive a warm and friendly welcome. We specialize in fresh local produce cooked to order by our passionate team. Ideal for couples, parties, group bookings, special occasions.
Millington, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place, friendly people and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We got brave and ordered the scallops and black pudding and a chicken dish. Both were good but the scallops were great. Who knew we would enjoy black pudding?? Finished with the sticky toffee pudding .. Again wonderful!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    227
    101
    38
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a Disappointment!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Cellar Door was highly recommended by our hotel, and so we were looking forward to a great meal. What a disappointment! I ordered the chicken, and when it came, I was unsure which object on the plate was chicken. After tasting everything, I still wasn't sure of what I was eating - a cylinder of pressed mystery meat, breaded and then deep fried? This was quite possibly the worst meal I have ever had in a restaurant.
My three companions were satisfied with their mains, but not blown away.To be fair, the service was very good, and I did not complain about my meal, so the management didn't have a chance to replace it. The chef might want to rethink that chicken dish. . .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Tasting Menu Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband & I had purchased a voucher to try the tasting menu. It was fantastic and I would highly recommend it. I notice some of the highlights from it can be found on the Set menu also, at a very reasonable price of £25 each for 3 courses. I would recommend the terrine, blade of beef, and sticky toffee pudding. The service and staff were lovely too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have visited this restaurant on several occassions whilst visiting Edinburgh and never been disapointed. The food is always cooked perfectly and the prices are reasonable, Quiet during the week. If you have room try the choclate deserts, highly recomended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Friendly place with nice steak.
Service is good. Starters were disappointing but main and dessert were well presented. Definitely a place to try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cellar Door also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Cellar Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cellar Door, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.