We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star food and drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Spice

Britannia Spice
150 Commercial Street Ocean Drive, Edinburgh, Scotland
0-131 555 2255
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Britannia Spice is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,235 of 1,789 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Thai, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Doing business, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: From its location in a former whisky bond close to the waterfront at Leith, Britannia Spice has been attracting Edinburgh's diners to its multi-ethnic blend of exotic eastern cooking since 2000. Drawing on the traditional cuisine of India, Bangladesh, Thailand and Nepal, the critically acclaimed dishes are served in a nautically-inspired interior with an airy yet intimate ambience.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“5 star food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Excellent dinner. Always have a great meal. Bit pricey but worth the money..Great atmosphere and beautiful food. We will return!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    66
    56
    24
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A disappointment!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I heard great reviews about this restaurant and was let-down.
At first glance the decor looks excellent; however, as I sat in my seat I noticed the walls could do with a wash and a touch of paint. The room just felt a bit run down which added to the atmosphere.

The menu looked amazing so I opted for chicken pakora for starters... i expected more than 4 small pieces! My wife took the King Prawn Butterfly...you needed bionic eyes to find the prawn. It was meant to be a KING prawn. It should have been called Tiny Prawn Butterfly.

When it came to the mains, I chose Chicken Tikka Masala and nan bread. What a great disappointment, the Tikka Masala was so bland a supermarkets ready meal was bursting with more flavour and the nan bread was small.

I love Indian food and will definably not be going back to this restaurant in a hurry. For the quality/flavour this food is mediocre and overpriced.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Too expensive to be so mixed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Britannia Spice is a somewhat cavernous restaurant with good service. Its menu offers a range of Bangladeshi, Thai, North Indian and Nepali dishes. Take-away is available.

The chutneys were pretty standard - onion, sweet mango and lime pickle - and the latter two seemed to come from a jar.

I had a Nepalese chicken and split pea dish. The amount of chicken was about the same as you'd find in a ready meal - not acceptable at £11.95. It also had the consistency of a ready-meal - stabiliser?

On the other hand, one of my companions had the Bangladeshi fish, which was both tasty and unusual - a huge hit. The North Indian Pista Gosht Passanda was also good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Looking for somewhere to relax and have a nice meal as we arrived quite late in the afternoon. The staff at the holiday in nearby, recommended the Britannia Spice, almost next door. Although I love Indian food, my wife finds the spices a little overpowering and sometimes too hot. However the service was exceptional and the waiters went out of their way to make sure we had a great meal. My wife totally enjoyed her meal as it was precisely what she had asked for. All in all a great experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good, but was better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I ate here 3 times in 2012 and first couple of times staff were great, food was quick and well presented with lots of meat! the last time i ate just a couple of weeks ago, none of the staff that were there before were there and it showed when i was asking about some of the dishes,, the food wasnt too hot and waited some time, But i will be back in the future,

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Britannia Spice also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Britannia Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.