We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very unpleasant stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Edinburgh Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Edinburgh Park to your Saves list
Novotel Edinburgh Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Lochside Ave, Edinburgh EH12 9DJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #77 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A very unpleasant stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We paid $240 for a double room. The hotel does no have air conditioning nor any sort of ability to get air movement in the room - consequentially, our room was soo stiffling hot that we could not sleep. There is om ort of heat ump, but.......The overly complicated gadgetry in the room (shower, Tv) was frustrating. There is no free wifi in this hotel and if you want it you pay a further $16.00 for this privilege daily. Yes, there is a computer at the reception area which, after laboriously filling out the application, you can use for 10 minutes.
We strongly suggest you look somewhere else for a hotel!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you taking the time to write a review of Novotel Edinburgh Park. We are sorry you felt your stay wasn't to your expectations. Please note that we do not have air conditioning in this hotel but do have air-cooling system which works slightly different. Our wifi is chargable at the moment but from July 2013 this will be free of charge to all guests throughout the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    525
    164
    44
    30
See reviews for
349
332
68
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

from the welcome at reception when we first arrived through to our departure 2 days later the service was excellent in this hotel. We had breakfast included, which offered a great selection in true Novotel style with some local delicacies thrown in. We also used the bar, swimming pool and restaurant for an evening meal. The prices were reasonable for an hotel of this quality we felt. We were given adjacent rooms and both were clean and well furnished. The beds were comfortable and there were spare pillows and a spare duvet available in each room. The location for us was perfect as the hotel is sited out of the city centre but within a 2 minute walk of a railway station that gets you into Edinburgh city centre within 10 minutes. This meant we could enjoy the highlights of Edinburgh but then return to the peace and quiet of Edinburgh Park. Once the trams are open next year this hotel wilol be even better placed as the trams will take you from the airpoprt to the hotel, and you will be able to choose whether to take the tram or the train into the city centre. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We would like to thank you for your kind positive review. I will be passing on your comments to the relevant departments as its always good to feedback to the staff . We hope that you will return to Novotel Edinburgh Park in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for Edinburgh. Quick train journey into city centre (10 mins). Room rate compared to city centre hotels is great value.
We found the staff very friendly & helpful - we were advised what to do & see in Edinburgh. Rooms are very comfortable & good bathroom. Hotel has a pool / gym, so overall it was great value for money. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of the Novotel Edinburgh Park. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. 2 adults and 2 children, ages 9 and 5. On driving up to the hotel, I was a little concerned about how much sleep I would get, as it is right next to a train line, and a busy motorway. This was not a problem at all though, couldn't hear a thing when the windows were closed. There is a tram line being constructed at the moment, so not sure if this would impact on the noise in the rooms at the back, as it virtually goes past the windows! We were on the front of the hotel overlooking KFC and Krispy Kremes. Not the most inspiring view, but that's not what we stayed there for.
Check in was fantastic. The lady on reception gave us lots of info, including maps and train timetables.
Hotel is 2 mins walk from Edinburgh Park station, where the trains run regularly and are very reasonable compared to Manchester prices!!! It is so handy, we didn't move the car at all from check in to check out.
We used the pool in the hotel daily. Small but the kids still loved it.
Our room was nice and comfortable-loved the shower!! Nice little mini fridge which is handy if you want to buy a bottle of wine or some beer from the Tesco across the road.
I didn't rate the breakfast, but there was plenty of choice. From memory the children got breakfast free if you pre book it online.
We had originally booked a Premier Inn on Princes Street, but cancelled that a few weeks before our stay. This hotel was £150 cheaper, and the free parking was a major plus point, so we were really glad that we had changed.
We didn't eat our evening meals in the hotel, so can't comment on that. We ate once at the restaurant at the Premier Inn at Edinburgh Park station which was nice, so would recommend that if you don't want to venture far.
All in all we had a great stay, and if we go back to Edinburgh, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel, away from the train/tram lines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for all the positive comments about your family's stay here at Novotel Edinburgh Park. We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay and maybe you will all come back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Husband and kids stayed here whitst I took part in the Edinburgh Moonwalk. The kids were delighted to receive their small toy on checking in and the room was modern and clean. We returned at 6am after I had completed my walk we all mangaged to get a few more hours sleep even tho we were right next to the train track. We all enjoyed the swimming pool and the breakfast was served til 12 so that suited us to have a late one. We then used the train station a few minutes walk (by this stage for me it was more of a hobble) away. A few minutes later we were in the city centre to take in a few of the sights. Look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. We do hope you all return very soon to Novotel Edinburgh Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you're looking for a hotel for reasonable money and good access to the city then go for the Novotel. Immediately adjacent to the train link to the city centre (10 mins) and only a few miles from the zoo, this is a perfect place to stay. Don't even think of staying in the city centre with over inflated prices when you can stay here for significantly less and only 10 mins out. Great restaurant and breakfast. Avoid the wine as this is extortionate and then some!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

First of what hotel schould improve - signage and directions to hotel. I have spent 15 minutes with taxi driver trying reach hotel from Lochside Ave which was closed with barrier (private road). May be better write that address is Lochside Ave but entrance is from City Bypass or Bankhead drive. Second possible improvement - early breakfast. I have flight at 07 05, so I left hotel at 05 00 and have got only coffee. In past when I stayed in Ibis Centre I always have some choice of croissances and snacks even at 04 30.
All other things were OK, room was good, very well equipped, sleep quality excellent. Highly reccomended for early flights from EDU.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. Our hotel has been open over 5 years now and most Edinburgh taxis know exactly how to access our hotel. Breakfast is open from 6am till 10am Monday to Friday but if guests inform reception the night before they are checking out earlier a packed breakfast would be offered. Please note this for future stays. Thank you again for the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Park

Address: 15 Lochside Ave, Edinburgh EH12 9DJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Park 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Novotel Edinburgh Park is ideally located for a city break in Edinburgh, the hotel has free on site parking, leisure facilities including a pool, gym and steam room. The hotels is only a 2 minute walk to Edinburgh Park train station, where the frequent trains take you into the heart of the city in 7 minutes, kids travel free at weekends. Elements Restaurant is the place to eat, after a busy day sightseeing, serving quality food and drink in relaxed surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Park Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Park
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Park Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Edinburgh Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.