We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in Edinburgh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Edinburgh Park

Save Saved
You added Novotel Edinburgh Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Lochside Ave, Edinburgh EH12 9DJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hotel in Edinburgh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you're looking for a hotel for reasonable money and good access to the city then go for the Novotel. Immediately adjacent to the train link to the city centre (10 mins) and only a few miles from the zoo, this is a perfect place to stay. Don't even think of staying in the city centre with over inflated prices when you can stay here for significantly less and only 10 mins out. Great restaurant and breakfast. Avoid the wine as this is extortionate and then some!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    455
    146
    42
    27
See reviews for
294
280
62
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

First of what hotel schould improve - signage and directions to hotel. I have spent 15 minutes with taxi driver trying reach hotel from Lochside Ave which was closed with barrier (private road). May be better write that address is Lochside Ave but entrance is from City Bypass or Bankhead drive. Second possible improvement - early breakfast. I have flight at 07 05, so I left hotel at 05 00 and have got only coffee. In past when I stayed in Ibis Centre I always have some choice of croissances and snacks even at 04 30.
All other things were OK, room was good, very well equipped, sleep quality excellent. Highly reccomended for early flights from EDU.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. Our hotel has been open over 5 years now and most Edinburgh taxis know exactly how to access our hotel. Breakfast is open from 6am till 10am Monday to Friday but if guests inform reception the night before they are checking out earlier a packed breakfast would be offered. Please note this for future stays. Thank you again for the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

The location is good for easy access to Edinburgh by train £2.50 return .
The room was quiet , clean and comfortable. The staff are extremely helpful and pleasant.
Breakfast was good with a varied choice. I had a meal in the restaurant the second evening- sadly not a great success. Billed as 'Chicken Fajitas' so I was expecting a wee Mexican vibe with chilli and cumin. Sadly the chicken pieces came drowned in a kind of bland stew of tomatoes onion and peppers and the guacamole had an unpleasant chemical flavour . No spices whatsoever. The waitress did offer me an alternative from the menu, but I had waded through the chicken by then, though not the ratatouille type stew.. However the bill was discounted by £6 which meant I could do dessert at the Krispy Kreme donut franchise over the road ..,,

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Novotel Edinburgh Park. I will pass on your positive comments to the staff. I will also pass on the comments about your meal to our Head Chef for his immediate attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The staff are very welcoming and friendly, the room comfortable and clean, the restaurant for dinner and breakfast was very well serviced. My only regret was that we could stay only one night. I have no hesitation in recommending Accor Edinburgh Park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about your stay at Novotel Edinburgh Park. We are so glad that we made your trip comfortable and we hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tresana, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Good location and a comfortable hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Price of internet access is outrageous.

I have nothing else to add, but am trying to reach the required 200 characters, which seems a strange requirement.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about your stay here at Novotel Edinburgh Park. I am pleased to say that our WIFI will be free throughout the hotel as from July 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Having booked this hotel and paid for it before my stay, I checked in late evening and was told the room I had paid for was fully booked. I do not understand how this can happen as I had already paid for my room. The room i was given was basic, and I was informed I would not get the difference back. The staff spoke very basic English. I ordered room service and I was served the wrong food. The positive for the hotel is that it located right next door to edinburgh park station with regular trains to the city centre. Furthermore the breakfast was the best aspect of the stay. Large range of fresh hot food available, only part of the experience which was 4 star.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
I am so sorry your stay at Novotel Edinburgh Park was less than satisfactory. If you could contact the hotel and ask for the Rooms Division Manager she would like to investigate your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel was nice clean and modern and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Good value for money. The breakfast was good with plenty of choices. The small swimming pool is nice and clean. The location is not pretty as it is on a retail park but it is a great location for getting to Edinburgh either by car or there is a railway station close by .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about your stay at Novotel Edinburgh Park, we do hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Park

Address: 15 Lochside Ave, Edinburgh EH12 9DJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#58 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Novotel Edinburgh Park is ideally located for a city break in Edinburgh, the hotel has free on site parking, leisure facilities including a pool, gym and steam room. The hotels is only a 2 minute walk to Edinburgh Park train station, where the frequent trains take you into the heart of the city in 7 minutes, kids travel free at weekends. Elements Restaurant is the place to eat, after a busy day sightseeing, serving quality food and drink in relaxed surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Park Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Park
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Park Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Edinburgh Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.