We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT SERVICE,FRIENDLY,COMFORTABLE,IDEAL LOCATION.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Park Guest House

Castle Park Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Park Guest House to your Saves list
Castle Park Guest House
75 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NU, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #256 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
gran canaria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SERVICE,FRIENDLY,COMFORTABLE,IDEAL LOCATION.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We have just returned from the edinburgh tattoo. Searching for an ideal location near to the castle this time of year is near impossible, plus the added factor that we are both smokers was another problem, but this ittle b and b offered us smoking facitlites in their garden,which we was very grateful for.
The service was very very good, the manager, and staff were very friendly.. The breakfast was plentiful..from the Scottish breakfast, to scrambled egg, or continental,all catered for and the coffee kept flowing.
Our room was not on the large side, but had a brand new en/suite.The bed was large and comfortable,flat screen t.v.. the decor was not to our choice, but a small factor as this is only a place to rest your head. And being able to use my laptop was an added bonus..
The bus stop was just outside, but the city centre is walkable, about ten minutes..with local shops near the b and b...
For the cost per night and being in August,which is edinburghs busy month with sideshows, etc etc on the streets..castle park was in a ideal location, we would happily return again

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    27
    7
    4
    10
See reviews for
5
25
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

I was shocked at the reviews for the Castle Park, as we have stayed here before. If youre wanting cheap and cheerful and not too far out of the centre this is a great place to stay. The breakfasts are brilliant, very friendly family and helpful. There is a bus stop outside, which is 5 mins on the bus into the centre and you have your own keys so coming back late isn't a problem. We were booked into room 3 which has its own hand basin, with own bathroom next door. Tea and coffee facilities which they all too happy to give us extras when we ran out and the bed was one of the comfiest I've ever slept in. We are going back for the May bank holiday weekend, so it cant be that bad! Plus it has free parking which is a must in Edinburgh!!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERFORD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2008

Book this place on the 28th oct 2008 and got confirmation of my booking from Castle Park Guest House, that it was confirmed for the hogmanay festival 31/12/08-03/01/2009.
Yesterday they got centralr to email me and cancelled me and my pal??????? they must have advertised a higher rate and got it and then just got rid of my booking.....how horrible was that? centralr are now taking them off the website as the bnb guy even hung on the centralr rep....seemingly i wasnt the 1st guests that "they could no longer accommodate". good riddance to castle park guest house from me.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

We stayed at the Castle Park Guest House for two nights in August & if all the hotels/B & B's even hostels in Edinburgh hadn't have been booked up, we would have checked out again immediately!

As in the previous review, yes there are lots of stairs, especially if you are on the top floor, but to be honest, that didn't bother us. What did bother us was the lack of cleanliness & the smell of damp, which was trying to be hidden by the artificial air freshensers everywhere!

Breakfast was ok - basic cereal, toast & cooked breakfast, but I did overhear one guest asking for a poached egg, only to be told that they don't do poached eggs, only fried or scrambled, which seemed a bit odd as it is meant to be a service industry!

The location was good, either by bus to the main attractions or very easily walkable.

From the outside and the pictures on the internet, Castle Park Guest House looks quite nice & charming, but once inside it is another story! I would NEVER stay here again - I have stayed in cleaner hostels!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness - lack of!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel with the intention of staying somewhere as cheap as possible without having to stay in a hostel. We are young and were just looking for a safe place to leave our bags and to come home to at night.

For what we paid it was an excellent deal.

It was in a quiet street about a 20min walk into the old part of Edinburgh. There is a bus stop a couple of metres away from the front door which was a huge bonus.

The rooms were small, yet clean. Our bathroom had been newly renovated. Fresh towels were given daily, beds made and even packs of biscuts left daily on the tea tray in the room.

Breakfast is simple and in a very small diningroom where the other guests eat too. Breakfast is included in the price you pay.

The hotel seems more like a house with odd fitting cosy decor everywhere. There are 3 floors and MANY steps if you are at the top!

If you set out knowing that in no way is this hotel luxurious and you keep in mind the price you are paying you will be presently supprised.

  • Liked — The value for money and location
  • Disliked — Rooms were a little too small
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Park Guest House

Address: 75 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Budget Places, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Castle Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Park Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Park Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.