We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service, the most friendly people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbotshead House

Abbotshead House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbotshead House
Save
You added Abbotshead House to your Saves list
40 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 2BR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #340 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“excellent service, the most friendly people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Me, my husband & three small children stayed here for 2 nights. The family room was lovely, large with en suite and very clean. The breakfast served was lovely and they went out of their way to cater for our small children. The couple who run the b&b were fantastic, so friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The b&b is just a short walk into the centre. I would most definately recommend this b&b and if we are in Edinburgh again will be staying here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

This house is well located close to downtown, but in a quiet location. Bus services connect to Royal Mile in least than 10 minutes.
In addition, rooms are charming, clean and comfortable enough.
Service is of good quality and employees are really nice and helpful for tourists. Breakfast could be heartier but is served in quantity.
As you can see, I really appreciated being there for a short trip

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Awful first experience of staying in Edinburgh, came all the way from Canada with my family, room was not ready, rooms were dirty, when advised that they were ready rooms were not serviced daily. No hairdryer, extremely poor parking facilities. Host was 1/2 hour late for breakfast even though it was only served between 8 - 9 am. Very poor decor carpat coming away from staircase. Only told at checkout that they didn't accept Visa and we had to walk to an ATM to get cash out to pay the bill. Generally very dissorganised.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

Once again wanted something central to preferred location, but cheap. Found a good price on the internet and then phoned to book. The lady who answered the phone spoke very little English and couldn't work out the price for 4 nights, especially as I asked for it at the price I had seen on the internet and not what they were charging for that time of year. After a very difficult call, she decided to honour the price, took my credit card number and told me to call the guest house since we were arriving around midnight.

After reading one review here I decided to double-check a couple of days before our arrival that we actually would get in if we arrived late. This time a man answered and knew exactly who I was, called me by my name and assured me that if I callled that number we would be let in immediately as the owners live in the basement.

We were pleasantly surprised to find out that this was indeed the case. We arrived, called the number and were shown in and to our room. First impressions were, as someone else here said a little sceptical. It all appeared to have been refurbished to some degree, but not totally. Our room was minute. (we had the smallest room in the house, I did take the liberty to check out the other rooms, which were all pretty well-sized). Only just enough room for the bed and the en-suite was very intrusive, but did look very new, albeit not very well thought out. It was as if someone hadn't really thought out the layout when refurbing the room, for example, the television was above the headboard on the bed, so to watch it you had to lie upside down in the bed!

Breakfast was a simple but adequate continental, as advertised.

Whilst we were there we heard one guest complaining every day that their room had not been cleaned. This was the case. We were told that they didn't even have a spare key, which in some ways was quite comforting. We were only there for 4 nights, are quite capable of making our own bed, don't require a daily change of towel and when we asked for cups etc to be washed there was absolutely no problem whatsoever, it was done in an instant.

The best thing about the place is the proprietor Abdul. He has an excellent sense of humour, second to none customer service skills, vast knowledge of the area, facilities and amenities and quite honestly made any defects in the accommodation appear insignificant.

We walked every day into the centre of Edinburgh quite easily... Just a 20 minute stroll on a straight road into the city.

Not advertised, but very fast wireless LAN avaialable from the Guest House at no expense to the guest. Ask Abdul for the code.

Oh - and the bed was soooo comfortable for someone like myself with a bad back. No aches and pains upon waking. Bliss!!

All in all, very happy. Would stay here again, but probably wont as we like to go to different places.

Give it a try.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

Really friendly staff, and although the sign and entrance filled us with a sense of dread, we were pleasantly surprised at a large, clean, en-suite room. No problems getting to the heart of the city, 25 min walk or 5 min bus journey (with buses every few minutes, bus stop right outside the bnb).
Continental breakfast simple but adequate, with plenty of cafes nearby as alternatives.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

The b&b is still a work in progress; the ensuite bathroom was new and it was obvious that some works have been going on. Still the window in the hall were half broken, the furniture a bit tatty, the carpet on the stairs quite precarious.
There was nobody based at the b&b so if you don't phone them the exact time of your arrival you might be in for a long wait at the doorstep (no point in ringing the bell, most of the time nothing happens).
Breakfast was very basic as well

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

Arrived at this guest house to stay for 2 nights. Myself and two friend were visiting the Edinburgh Festival. There was a large skip at the front of the house. All the upstairs windows were open and it was quite obvious that it is being renovated. We were shown to a ground floor room that was not up to the standard they claim on their web site. It was clean is about the best you could say for it. The furniture was very old and tatty. The head board on one of the beds was propped up on the bed side chest of drawers and every time you sat on the bed it fell off. We ended up laughing about it and nick named it Faulty Towers. Although I still think that was being kind to it. Having said all that, when it is finished I'm sure it will be totally different and very nice. Just anyone wishing to book this place, check that the work is finished. Get somewhere else if it isn't.
With the festival being on we couldn't find anywhere else. At that time of year, Edinburgh is pretty much booked up.

  • Liked — On a main bus route into Edinburgh and not far from the city centre
  • Disliked — It was a building site when we visited
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbotshead House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotshead House

Address: 40 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 2BR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #340 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This picture is the dining room if you want to have a place to stay I can assure you, you've come to the right place. Breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbotshead House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbotshead House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.