We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Laurels Guest House

The Laurels Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Laurels Guest House
320 Gilmerton Road, Edinburgh EH17 7PR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 441 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stopped for two nights. Room not very clean, sheets not ironed, not a very welcoming room and the bathroom was little more than a cupboard. The couple we were with were of the same opinion. The only plus was that the location was good for the bus service into the centre of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    11
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
25
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent five wonderful nights at the Laurels Guest House in August and enjoyed every minute we were there. The breakfasts were yummy, the rooms clean and quiet, and we especially appreciate the friendliness of Jill, John and the staff. The location is conveniently close to the bus stop with a short ride to the middle of town. We are eager to get back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stopped over for 2 nights at this establishment to attend the Tattoo. It fully met our needs. Room was excellent, fresh linen/towels etc and giving access via french doors into their beautiful garden. Breakfast was excellent too and good choices all round. Location was excellent also; with a main bus route passing the door and on-site parking it was equally convenient with a car to travel into Edinburgh. Owners were very charming people, at the ready to advise on any queries you had. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would thoroughly recommend it as a convenient stopover for visiting Edinburgh and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights during the Fringe festival. It met all our needs. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. Breakfast was well done, and were all able to accommodate my requests for gluten free, made well in advance. The guest house was on a bus route and so was easy to travel to and from the city on buses. Will happily stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Good bus service to b n b. get off at robinsnest pub. Towels fluffy, room clean. Nice cat. Owners very cute whistling along together making breakfast! Room cold in eve, glad I had someone to cuddle up to! Tea coffee uht biscuits water, nice touch. Tv worked. Does what it says on the tin. Breakfast for me was not great.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Quiet and friendly but the room was dusty i.e the pictures and dust under the beds, drawers and shelfes had hair and dust on them and the bath had stains in it, website said there was a welcome pack, there was none and i was bitten by some sort of flea after sleeping in the uncomfartable bed. The breakfast was average.
I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay at the Laurels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night with a fellow traveller of the feline variety. The owner was very flexible and helpful to our 'cat needs'. Room was clean and bright. No complaints from the humans ...and Mona the cat gives it 5 paws.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Laurels Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laurels Guest House

Address: 320 Gilmerton Road, Edinburgh EH17 7PR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 441 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Laurels Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Laurels Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Laurels Guest House to your Saves list