We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable accomodation- great views!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ravensdown Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ravensdown Guest House to your Saves list
Ravensdown Guest House
248 Ferry Road | Goldenacre, Edinburgh EH5 3AN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #310 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Reasonable accomodation- great views!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

David was a really helpful host and the room had great views of Edinburgh. The room and facilities were reasonable but not spectacular. Location is ok- about halfway between Leith and Edinburgh centre although easily accessible.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
6
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Although the expanse of the front room looks incredible on line...prepare thyself for Vegas meets Edinburgh! Noisy all night traffic (which the man of the house thought we wouldn't mind since we were from NYC), this room is mirror and silver and velour together at last and very...well...very green...as Alica S says in Clueless: "I've stumbled into some bad lighting!" I have to confess the bed and the bedding was next level comfort and despite the loud traffic I slept well. I am the type of tourist that is actually on vacation and I do not feel the need pop up and out of bed each and every day for the infamous and often delightful Scottish breakfast. I move at my own pace and this resulted in me being the constant victim of snide comments from the proprietor. He kept it up with my partner saying things about my inability to rise for breakfast. Finally my partner explained that because of my work schedule I enjoy having no schedule while on vacation. This guy was very open in his distaste for tourists and in particular horrid Americans. He tortured us about our lack of a chip in our cards (wait let me call Joe Biden who knows the most about why my credit card is making him so much money and probably can illuminate the reason I am a chipless wonder). Edinburgh is so wonderful I can't wait to go back and explore! I will definitely not return to Ravensdown Guest House and I'm sure I will not be missed!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Walked in off the street and was greeted by David - great house, greater host, wonderful sleep. And the views of Edinburgh, just icing on the cake - especially Edinburgh Castle lit up at night. Make this a definite stop to lay your head for a few days!!

PS David - thank you so very very much for your help with calls!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Offers good service and hosts are very amicable.We stayed here for 3 nights and was a very good experience. I recommend this place to everyone traveling to Scotland.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

We found this poor value for money. Breakfast was very poor and not typical of our experience of Scottish guest houses. Cheap bread to make your own toast, a few tubs of yoghurt and a poached egg was just that - one poached egg on an otherwise empty plate. Only one sachet of shampoo, one teabag per person provided and no hair dryer in the room. All rather soul-less and disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

What a wonderful holiday in a really nice and clean guest house. Pure indulgence, thanks to the owners of Ravensdown. For me it was an enjoyable experience: Located near the Centre. We will be back! A hot tip for everyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

We had a spacious and clean room. The bathroom was what you could expect, not very big but sufficient. Breakfast was good. The location is super. you can reach the centre in a couple of minutes by public transport or taxi.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ravensdown Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravensdown Guest House

Address: 248 Ferry Road | Goldenacre, Edinburgh EH5 3AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #310 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravensdown is a friendly and stylish guest house, run by David (Scottish) and Yoka (Dutch) providing quality bed and breakfast accommodation in central Edinburgh. A spacious Edwardian house built in the early 1900’s, Ravensdown has spectacular views of the city skyline, Edinburgh castle and Arthur’s Seat.Situated on Ferry Road to the north of the ancient city, within easy access to the port of Leith, with lovely pubs and restaurants, and the Royal Yacht Britannia. Approximately 5 minutes walk to the Royal Botanic Garden, Canonmills, Broughton and Stockbridge, a lively up market 'village', with wonderful pubs, restaurants, bars and boutiques.We can advise you what to do and see in and around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ravensdown Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravensdown Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ravensdown Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.