We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, will definitely return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nicolson Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Nicolson Apartments to your Saves list
Nicolson Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   28 West Nicolson Street, Edinburgh EH8 9DD, Scotland (South Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic, will definitely return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here this week for one night, booked last minute for one night, great location on West Nicolson Street which was ideal for the Festival Theatre. Shortbread and complimentary water in the room which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    27
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
13
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athboy, Meath, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Stayed three nights in top floor apartment. .stairs were tough after a night on the grog..only place to hang your clothes shirts etc was on the coat stand in hall as no wardrobe...plenty of drawers for your socks and jocks though...none of the above was a hassle though and apartment was spotless. ..loved the slanted roof and the wee windows on the east side of the apartment...dont actually know if it was the east but its a review so sounded good...cool little windows though...very well equipped. .no pun intended. ..dishwasher, washing machine ,oven ,microwave, dvd player,flat screen tv etc...very satisfied with accommodation. .bed was really comfy...staff at reception were great and very friendly and seemed to genuinely want to help you get settled etc....the complimentary water and shortbread was nice touch too....overall loved it...and would definitely stay again...

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesaptsedinburgh, Manager at Nicolson Apartments, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Sven, thank you for taking the time to leave such kind and amusing feedback. It was a pleasure having you with and we are delighted you enjoyed the apartment’s facilities and design. Since receiving your feedback we have now installed hanging facilities. We hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh and should you return for a night “on the grog” please do get in touch and we can organise an apartment that is an easier stagger home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydbury North, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Beautifully appointed ground floor self catering flat in a great location with a decent cafe and a Sainsbury's within a minute's walk.
Comfortable bed, lovely bathroom, excellent kitchen and dining space.
Excellent welcome at office when picking up keys.
Problem with the eating was dealt with politely, promptly and satisfactorily.
We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesaptsedinburgh, Manager at Nicolson Apartments, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Graham, we appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with Apartments Edinburgh and are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Each of our apartments is located within a short walk of local conveniences, tourist attractions and public transport links. I am sorry to hear you that you experienced issues with the heating but delighted that our staff were able to resolve it quickly for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

I stayed for three nights in the 2 bed Studio apartment, which is the smallest of the Nicolson Apartments, but perfect for single travellers like me or couples. Be aware if considering this apartment that it is on the fourth floor and there is no lift. This didn't bother me as it was good exercise for me, but not hugely convenient with heavy luggage. The flat itself was really nicely decorated, very smart and stylish with plenty of appliances and utensils in the kitchen, as well as fresh towels and toiletries in the bathroom as you would expect.
Considering the price I paid was cheaper than the hotels in Edinburgh, I felt I got really good value for money and would definitely consider staying here again.
I didn't use the TV so can't comment on the signal issues noted by some other reviewers, but do agree the wifi could be intermittent at times.
The first night of my stay the weather was very bad and strong winds and rain lashed at the windows which caused a lot of noise rattling the windows, which I was concerned about, but the other two nights of my stay were fine, as the weather had improved (though still rainy - but that's what you get for visiting Scotland in Oct Half-Term!)
Overall, the apartments are not 100% perfect, but they suited me very well and are very good value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesaptsedinburgh, Manager at Nicolson Apartments, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us and we are very glad that you enjoyed our facilities. At Apartments Edinburgh we strive the provide everything our guests require for the perfect home away from home; Egyptian cotton linen, soft fluffy towels, sumptuous furnishings and tasteful décor with a hint of traditional Scottish design along with a wide range of household equipment and utensils. We are glad that you did not have any issues with the stairs into the building and do understand your point. As such, we request any guests with access requirements to contact us prior to any booking so we can ensure they are allocated the best apartment for their needs. I am sorry if the weather misbehaved slightly during your stay and glad you were able to enjoy yourselves. We hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Arrived back today, 6 th oct from a three night stay at Nicolson Apartments. My husband and I had a studio apartment on the fourth (top) floor. It was gorgeous. It was beautifully decorated throughout. The kitchen was spacious and very modern and just about every kitchen appliance and utensil you could ever want. The bathroom was compact but modern and spotlessly clean and the lounge and bedroom area were fabulous with great attention to detail. The only slight minus was tv reception was shocking, we couldn't watch it at all and WIFI kept dropping much to my hubby's annoyance. We would definitely stay there again, the area felt safe, there were plenty of amenities around such as bars and restaurants and supermarkets, it was also within easy reach of Grass Market and the Royal Mile. Brilliant value fr money.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesaptsedinburgh, Manager at Nicolson Apartments, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We appreciate you taking the time to leave such lovely feedback and are very pleased you had such an agreeable stay. Please accept my apologies for any issues with the wi-fi or tv reception; technology is a wonderful thing when it works but very inconvenient when it misbehaves. We do have a dedicated 24 hour helpline and had you have made us aware of your issues we would have sent our Maintenance Manager straight round to the apartment to assist. We hope that you will allow us the honour of extending our hospitality to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Well located in a quiet location but only a 5 minute walk from the Royal Mile. Very well equipped and the decor is modern. The apartments are clean and the beds are comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay. We got the airlink in from the airport which is only £7 return to Waverly Bridge. You could walk from Waverly bridge which we did when we were going home but when we arrived at night we tool a taxi.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesaptsedinburgh, Manager at Nicolson Apartments, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with Apartments Edinburgh and hope to welcome you back to our fine city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014 via mobile

Pros:
- immaculately clean on arrival
- modern furnishings, decoration etc
- fully equipped with all essentials
- pleasant staff with excellent communication
- brilliant location in the heart of the city
- quiet surrounds and comfortable bed
- £22 taxi ride from airport
- nice touches like a welcome pack of juice & shortbread
- fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher & washing machine
- close to supermarkets, pubs, restaurants, cafés & conference centre

Cons:
- be aware, some of the apartments require a steep climb up to 4 storeys of stairs. This could be troublesome for those with walking difficulties or heavy luggage.
- shower is definitely not made for plus-size people, very tiny and could barely raise my arms in there
- tv was not functioning, could not access any channels
- free wifi but keeps dropping out, really annoying!

overall, it was a pleasant and comfortable stay, with excellent value for money.

Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesaptsedinburgh, Manager at Nicolson Apartments, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Tlfern, thank you for taking the time to leave constructive feedback on your recent stay with Apartments Edinburgh. We always appreciate when our guests leave comments that assist us in improving our service. Many of our apartments are located in buildings without lifts but are specifically marketed as such to avoid any confusion. We also request with each reservation confirmation that any guest with access requirements contact us prior to arrival so we can ensure they are in the most suitable apartment for their needs. Please accept my apologies for any issues with the television or wi-fi during your stay. Had you made us aware of the problems with the television we would have replaced it immediately. We are also in the process of changing internet providers after which there should be no further issues. Please also accept my apologies if you found the shower a little constricting. It is of standard size and does not usually prove difficult for any of our guests. However, we do have many apartments with larger showers and should you return to Edinburgh please contact us prior to booking so we can ensure you reserve an apartment with a walk-in shower. We are delighted that these small issues did not detract from your enjoyment of our city or your stay with Apartments Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nicolson Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicolson Apartments

Address: 28 West Nicolson Street, Edinburgh EH8 9DD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Side
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nicolson Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city Nicolson luxury self-catering residences offer a stylish and unique base to explore all our city has to offer. These spacious apartments are tastefully decorated using neutral décor with traditional Scottish furnishings to create a warm and relaxing atmosphere. All are situated only a few minutes’ walk from some of Edinburgh’s major attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, the Scottish Museum and are located just around the corner from Edinburgh University.Each apartment has a living room with dining area, modern tiled bathroom, well equipped kitchen, luxurious bedroom(s), cable TV, a DVD player, washing machine, dishwasher and hairdryer as well as soft fluffy towels and fantastic quality Egyptian cotton linen. We can also provide cots and high chairs if required.To complete your home away from home we also provide complimentary sea kelp toiletries from the Scottish Fine Soap Company as well as tea, coffee, mineral water and orange juice to help you settle in.Whether you are visiting for work, play, a family holiday or a romantic break away we have an exclusive private residence to suit your needs. Apartment Facilities:Iron, ironing Board, washing machine, heating, hairdryer, complimentary sea kelp toiletries from the Scottish Fine Soap Company, bathroom with bath or shower, TV, DVD player, refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, electric kettle, cooking equipment and crockery, additional blankets. Cots and high chairs can be supplied upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Nicolson Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicolson Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Nicolson Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nicolson Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.