We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous day - Viking Coast & Alnwick Castle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heart of Scotland - Day Tours

Heart of Scotland - Day Tours
Bus Stand ZE | Waterloo Place, Edinburgh, Scotland (Broughton & Calton)
+441312282888
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Small groups of 16 in the Wee Red Bus. Our guided tours have been specially designed to give you maximum variety by including famous sights as well as hidden gems that many tourists never see. We look forward to welcoming you onto our famous Wee Red Buses to experience and enjoy the essential Scotland together.
Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous day - Viking Coast & Alnwick Castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a 5 star review not because it is a private tour, but because this reasonably priced day trip was run knowledgeably with an excellent driver, and extra guide as our coach was full (27 people). I pre-booked online, the coach arrived promptly and both driver and guide were entertaining, fun and knowledgable, great ambassadors for Scotland. It was a long day, visiting three locations. I would have liked longer at Lindisfarne, and less time at the Castle, but it is still highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    84
    17
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I used the hearts of scotland tour, taken tour 2. Guider was so nice, friendly. The tour wasnt too rush. I loved it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mountains, Monarchs, and Malts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My mother and I just took the day tour to visit Stirling Castle, Loch Lomond, and Glengoyne Distillery. It was lovely!

The bus is decently comfortable, though the seats are on the narrow side (bigger people beware). But what made us very comfortable was our driver, Angie. She was a delight and was very conscious of how people were feeling, always asking if the temperature was okay or if anyone was feeling carsick. She was incredibly knowledgeable and spoke over the microphone for most of the drive. This was most welcomed, as she had a lot of interesting things to say about the things we drove past.

Stirling Castle and the hillside town is so fascinating, it really requires more than the 1.5 hours that they allot. I'd love to go back there and spend an afternoon in the town. Check out the castle, but be sure to see a few of the other sights in the town. The views from the castle's walls are incredible.

We were supposed to go see Haymish, the highland cow, and have lunch nearby, but instead we went to a cafe on a loch. You should insist that you do this! Loch Venachar is GORGEOUS, and the cafe sits right on the water. We had a wonderful meal, though the service was a bit slow for the 45 minutes we had at the stop. But once again, Angie was a real pro and waited for everyone rather than hurrying people along.

The roads at the foothills of the Highlands are both beautiful and incredibly small and windy. Caution to those who are prone to motion-sickness.

We stopped to take photos of the mountains and Angie told us about the local plant life. Again, is there anything she doesn't know?!

Loch Lomond has a walking tour you can do with the guide, or you can do what we did and enjoy the quirky pub.

Glengoyne Distillery's tour is worthwhile even if you aren't a whisky fan. It's fascinating and good fun at the same time.

Though it's a smaller bus than some, I highly recommend this tour and this company. They go out of their way to make sure people are having the best possible experience. As a matter of fact, when Angie heard that we had dinner reservations we were running late for, she dropped us off close to the restaurant and took everyone else where they needed to go, instead of just dumping us all at the designated drop-off spot. So thoughtful!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“mysorkiester”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

On June 5th my wife and I took the tour to Hadrian's wall and enjoyed the stops. I feel that we know Matt's life very well and most of the history of Scotland. He is a wealth of knowledge. Please take this tour so the owners can purchase new suspension for their coach. We were on the "back of the bus" and the ride was painful. Advice is get on early to get a seat on the first 4 rows. Matt sure knew his history and was a very gracious host. Helen we wish the best. I rated the tour average. It breaks down as Matt 4 stars and the coach ride 2 stars.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nckr, Manager at Heart of Scotland - Day Tours, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for your review - delighted to hear you enjoyed the company and excellent guiding of Matt and Helen.

The problem was actually an electrical fault which meant the rear air suspension was not responding to road conditions properly, hence the bumpy ride. Apologies for that - the fault was resolved the following day and everything is now back to normal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour Company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Visited Edinburgh, Scotland in November 2012. We only had a few days so we wanted to take in as many sites as possible. We took a chance on the Heart of Scotland Day Tours. Wow. I'm so glad we did. I booked the Stirling Castle, Loch Lomond and Whisky tour for my husband, 13 year old daughter and me. What a wonderful day. We were able to see enough of the country and the sites to really appreciate the history of the country.

Our tour guide was fabulous, informative and kind. He told us stories and legends of the area including fairy folklore. He had my daughter and my interest immediately. Loved him. I was slightly worried about a whisky distillery tour with my daughter but she really enjoyed it. The distillery made the tour interesting and fun.

Highly recommend this tour company. I will use them again on my next visit to beautiful Scotland.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heart of Scotland - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Heart of Scotland - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heart of Scotland - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.