We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B for a longer stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kenvie Guest House

Kenvie Guest House
Kenvie Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kenvie Guest House
16 Kilmaurs Road, Edinburgh EH16 5DA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 441 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Katzelsdorf, Niederosterreich, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great B&B for a longer stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great B&B in quiet area, bus stop 5 minutes walk, Royal Mile in walking distance (about 30 minutes). The room was well furnished, clean, with tea/coffee making facilities, wlan. Excellent full scottish breakfast including fresh fruits and Dorothy was very helpful. We enjoyed our stay and would choose it again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed there July 12/July15. Breakfast was great. Convenient to public transportation, University of Edenburgh and a great pub. Clean and affordable. Dorothy was very helpful in guiding us to where we wanted to go. We arrived later than we thought and Dorothy was waiting for us and it was much nicer than what we anticipated. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in May with wife and two college-aged kids. Dorothy is very personable and an excellent resource for sight-seeing tips, etc. Breakfast was very good, served to the table (no buffet) in a lovely dining room. Never took the bus (we're walkers!) approximately 20 minute, safe walk to city center. Free parking on the street right in front of the B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Not fancy. Clean and comfortable with our own bathroom. Easy bus connection to city center. The Vidlers are informative and helpful. Very Good "full Scottish" breakfast. Alternatives to "Scottish" breakfast available. Favorite Pub within 10-15 minute Walk - The Bell Pub. Just ask the Vidlers about it. We were able to eat in the restaurant section upstairs with our young daughter. We used the Pub menu rather than the restaurant menu. Very good traditional pub dishes and decent prices compared to elsewhere. The restaurant menu is fancier and more expensive. Very nice, clean atmosphere at Bell Pub. Kenvie is in a quiet neighborhood away from bustle of downtown. Near Common Wealth Swimming Pool and fitness center which travelers can use for a fee. Swimming Pool is mainly lap lanes, not for hanging-out.

Room Tip: There are a fair number of stairs. If you need an elevator - this is not the place for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

If hou are hoping for a reasonable, well-run, clean place in Edinburgh, this is it. Dorothy took care of our every need, from a great breakfast to the loan of a scale to check luggage weight to touring suggestions. While this is not luxury, there are many nice touches such as oat biscuits, ice upstairs in the evenings, etc. we walked to everywhere from here, although others may wish to use the convenient buses.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed at Kenvie Guest House for 1 night during our visit to Edinburgh. Our host Dorothy was very friendly, hospitable and helpful. I have to say that the place is located in a very quiet neighbourhood which is one of the best things about it. It's very clean and tidy. The room we stayed in (my husband and I) was kind of small, but very comfortable and the bed was extremely comfortable, we had a very good night rest after a long tiring road trip to Edinburgh and walking around the city centre for the rest of the day.
Breakfast was great. You're kindly asked to fill out a breakfast form the evening before which only takes a few minutes but in return you get a perfectly delicious breakfast cooked to your own taste, which we really enjoyed.
Overall it's a great value for money - a very nice place about 20 minutes away from the city centre (there are buses nearby but we prefer to walk) :).
Definitely recommend to stay there!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

My father and I stayed at the Kenvie Guest House 2 nights during a week long trip to Scotland. Dorothy Vidler was wonderfully pleasant and accommodating during the reservation process and during our stay. She kindly allowed us to check in early in the morning (right after we'd gotten off the plane in Edinburgh). Though we couldn't get in our room yet because it was still occupied she made us some coffee so that we could relax in the breakfast room and held our bags until we returned that evening and our room was ready.

I felt the B&B was a good value for Edinburgh and in a good location (a long walk or quick bus ride from the city center) with several enjoyable pubs close by.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kenvie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenvie Guest House

Address: 16 Kilmaurs Road, Edinburgh EH16 5DA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 441 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly traditional 3-star guest house well-situated in a quiet Victorian residential area of Edinburgh, recommended by Lonely Planet and Rick Steves. 10 minutes from the city centre on good bus routes. Attractive, comfortable rooms, most with en-suite bathrooms. Free wireless internet access in all rooms and a free shared PC. Good Scottish breakfasts and warm helpful service! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kenvie Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenvie Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kenvie Guest House to your Saves list