We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gladstone House

Save Saved
You added Gladstone House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gladstone House
90 Dalkeith Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5AF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 441 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very close to the Royal Commonwealth Pool on the Dalkeith Road. Edinburgh Old Town / Royal Mile about a 15 - 20 minute walk away, but very regular buses nearby that take you there in a few minutes. The Royal Park and Arthur's Seat a 5 minute walk. Had 4 nights here - no complaints at all. Rooms clean and comfortable, nice variety of breakfasts. 3 off street parking spaces at the front of the property bit of a tight fit but managed to squeeze in. Hosts very friendly and hospitable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again next time you are here to research your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
33
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was by far the best experience I have ever had traveling. The room was very large and comfortable. I loved the sunken bathroom. The view was lovely. The food was out of this world.
Tom and Hamish are gracious, kind, and extremely helpful host. I highly recommend beautiful Gladstone House.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your high praise. It was such a pleasure for us to have a real Southern Lady come to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montserrat
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed while working at the Royal Highland Show, as I had to leave to early for breakfast, a breakfast in a box was arranged. On my last day I was able to enjoy a cooked breakfast, which was excellent. A huge range if information is available from places to eat , bus routes and walking routes to town. The room was very clean and well furnished. I would certainly return

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Our packed breakfasts are very popular. They give guests who have to go out early the freedom to take their breakfast with them and eat them when they feel like eating. We are glad you enjoyed them, but also that you had time to have a sit down breakfast and a chat before you left us. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We do very much appreciate your comment and we hope to see you again next year for the Highland Show if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed at gladstone house while at a conference in Edinburgh. My room was really nicely decorated and very clean. The owners of the place were very charming, warm and welcoming. The breakfast was delicious! Minor issue was that the room was cold during the day because its on a timer. So the one day when i stayed in the room during the day it was pretty cold but warms up once the heating comes on.
I would definitely recommend the place, but you may need to ask for the heating to be put on if you plan to stay in the room during the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Guesthouse and got a chance to see some of our beautiful city between conference events. You certainly got into Scottish culture with your enthusiasm for Ceilidhs. Hopefully your ankle is all better by now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a very pleasant 3-days stay at this loveley guesthouse. Our room was a very comfortable and beautiful room with garden view. Everything was perfectly cleaned. The owners are so friendly and helped us with any query. We really enjoyed the delicious breakfast with a great offer of different breakfast menus. The town center is just 1,6 km away and can easily be reached by bus or by walking through a beautiful park. The owners provided us different routing instructions how to reach the city center. So we surely say that we can recommend this guesthouse to everyone and will stay there again when we will be in Edinburgh the next time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words here and in our visitors book. We try to make sure that our guest get the very most out of their visit to our city and it is so pleasing to know when we have achieved this. Luckily the weather allowed you to make the most of our varied and we hope interesting walks to the Castle, Royal Palace etc. We are glad you enjoyed them. We hope you tour of the Highlands went well and we certainly look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Positives:
Nice furnishing/clean
Reasonable location

Negatives:

We felt that this place was generally unaccommodating, uncomfortable in terms of hosting skills and poor value for money. It felt like we were children at school and we were behaving badly and therefore being punished. We felt that the hosts had an attitude where they felt that their place was better than any other place and therefore they could dictate all rules and regulations without any flexibility or thought for their guests - their way or the highway. In fact we were paying quite a large amount of money for a "no-frills B&B"

I DID telephone to ensure that the hosts were fully aware of our late arrival with an estimated time. Host was fine with this on the phone. However upon arrival host seemed annoyed. I also had to pay the additional charge of late arrival DESPITE prior notification.

The following day my partner was surprised when the host notified her that she CANNOT be in the room between the hours of 11am and 1pm! When she explained that she was unaware of this, the host asked her whether she had read the note on the back of the door - as if she hadn't done her homework! As a result of this, she felt very unwelcome and uncomfortable in the room. For £100 per night we did not anticipate to feel this way.

The room was very cold. But by this stage we felt too uncomfortable to ask whether we can have the heating increased.

Breakfast was average. Times were limited between 8 and 9 (weekdays), (9.30 weekends). I asked for replacement of meat for an omelette but I was denied this but we were given an extra egg instead!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for the positives and the high score for cleanliness.

We are sad to read of your disappointment with your stay with us. When you booked with us, the agency site you used did state arrival times and that we reserve the right to charge for late arrivals. This was further made clear when we sent you our own booking confirmation. You did advise us the day before your arrival, that you would be arriving late. As a result we made a reduced charge despite the fact that you arrived after midnight, five and a half hours after our latest arrival time and over an hour after the time you arranged. We are sorry if your welcome was rather subdued and rushed but it was in the small hours of the morning and we did not want to disturb our other guests.

Where guests wish us to clean their rooms and refresh the complimentary drinks tray and toiletries we ask them to vacate their room between 11am and 1pm so that we can do this. When we spoke to your partner we did not even suggest that she leave the room, rather we confirmed that she was welcome to remain and we would leave cleaning of room to the following day. She seemed quite happy with this as she said that she did not actually expect us to clean the room at all.

We are sorry that you did not let us know that you had difficulties in regulating the central heating radiators in the room. If you had only said something at the time we could have investigated and done our best to find a solution.

We are surprised that you were disappointed with your breakfasts. When guests ask us to produce a meatless traditional breakfast, we generally suggest adding an extra egg. You seemed to be both happy with this suggestion at the time. We have 6 main items on the menu of which 3 are suitable for non-meat eaters (including an omelette) as well as a wide selection of fresh fruit salad, compote, dried fruit, cereals and juices. We are therefore at a loss as to why you feel you were not able to have an omelette especially as you had one for breakfast on the second day your stay.

We genuinely thought that you were enjoying yourselves during your stay. If you had only voiced your concerns at the time, we could have done something to put you at your ease.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I was watching a TV program that was set in Edinburgh and wanted to see if the B&B that I stayed at in 1996 was still there. Yes, it is and now has a website that brought back lovely memories. My friend and I found Gladstone House through the "I" station at Edinburgh rail station and were so lucky! Convenient located on a bus line that took us to central Edinburgh, this was one of the loveliest B&B's I've ever stayed in. Beautiful decor, wonderful atmosphere, very reasonable price and great food made me remember my experience there with pleasure. Any friends that have contemplated going to Edinburgh, I have recommended Gladstone House. It is one of only a few places that I've been in many trips to Europe that I found so charming that I always recommend it. Thanks again for a lovely stay 16 years ago... I had to put in one of the dates of travel, but the trip took place in July 1996. I'm not sure if this review will stay up, but I do hope the owners see it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
It is good to hear that your visit to our website brought back fond memories. You will have noticed a lot of changes since your last visit. We have made many improvements since you were here and the biggest achievement would be the award of another star by Visit Scotland (our Scottish tourist board) making us now a four star guesthouse. We would love for you to come back some time to see how it all looks now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gladstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone House

Address: 90 Dalkeith Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 441 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Gladstone House we offer our guests elegant four star bed and breakfast accommodation less than a mile from Edinburgh City Centre and within easy walking distance of many of Edinburgh’s historic and cultural "must see" locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gladstone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gladstone House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.