We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous as always!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 14 Hart Street

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
14 Hart Street
Save
You added 14 Hart Street to your Saves list
14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland (Broughton)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Northumberland
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fabulous as always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

This is the third time visiting 14 Hart Street. It is a fabulously comfortable and relaxing B and B with excellent facilities in a great location. We could not recommend this establishment enough.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    29
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
71
455
31
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orgeval
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

From James' welcome at the front door until our departure the following day, 14 Hart Street fully lived up to our expectations.Having travelled through from Glasgow, we had a short walk on icy streets to the Bed and Breakfast. Two of the family had arrived the previous day and had glowing praise for the accommodation and breakfast and the rest of us were not disappointed. The high-ceilinged rooms in the Georgian town house are beautifully appointed and tastefully decorated. The hosts, James and Angela, are charming and very helpful and they do a wonderful breakfast. The house is in a quiet street and there were no sounds to disturb our sleep. We thouroughly recommend it for short or longer stays in Scotland's capital city.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

We arrived in Edinburgh late in the afternoon after a tiring flight from Belgium. When we arrived at 14 Hart Street, we were greeted by Betty. She showed us to our room where we enjoyed a glass of wine or scotch. We had a pleasant conversation with the owners, Angela and James who are school teachers in Edinburgh. We followed their recommendation and had a wonderful dinner at a restaurant a couple of blocks away.
The room and bath room were both very large and were beautifully decorated. Breakfast the next morning included many delicious choices prepared by Betty.

We loved the location- just a short walk to the Royal Mile. We had a great visit. Next time we will plan to stay for more than a couple of days and we will definitely stay at 14 Hart Street again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

Perfect from start to finish. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor we know we would be well looked after and James and Angela made our stay most welcoming. The room was delightful as many other guests have also commented on, with lots of personal touches (even going so far as buying mint tea for my wife!) Our flight got delayed and we had to stay another night and Angela graciously left work early to meet us.

James and Angela are wonder hosts and they made our time in Edinburgh very special.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

As soon as i pulled on Hart Street I was impressed with the location of the No.14. Walking through the large front door into a grand looking hall way I was even more impressed. The room was exquisite with minor detail attended to. The wine that is replenished is a lovely addition to the stay. The bed was extremely to comfy and at times I almost didn't want to leave to enjoy the sight of Edinburgh.

With the location being on a one way street just tucked off the main streets, it was quiet and a very pleasant sleep. The breakfast in the grand dinning room will get you ready for the day with many option at hand. I would recommend the Black pudding!

The owners of No.14 are the added touch to the already lovely stay. As mentioned at the start, it's the detail. With both owners ensuring your stay is well and being at hand with a willingness to help where they can I was most impressed.

One of the best birthday I have had.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010 via mobile

We stayed for the weekend at the start of November and were so pleased we picked it. Angela and James are the perfect hosts. The room was decorated beautifully and the ensuite bathroom was fab with the most fantastic shower. There are Jo strict rules about having breakfast early,we had ours at 10am both mornings. The wine and whiskey in the room was a lovely touch. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elnesvagen, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

We came to 14 Hart Street late in the evening after arriving by plane and were happy to find such a cosy accommodation a few minutes walk from the centre. First we were puzzled by not seeing any visible signs of a B&B which one is used to seeing at such places, merely the number of the house showed us that this had to be the right address. However, as the door was opened, it was no doubt where we had arrived and we got a very warm welcome by Angela and James, who proved to be the most friendly and concerned hosts you can imagine from the very beginning till we left two days later. We enjoyed staying in the spacious room downstairs which offered beautiful furniture and pictures + lovely treats like whisky, wine,shortcakes and chocolate. The bathroom was small as most British bathrooms are, but very modern and clean, with a powerful shower. The heating was also good. Hart Street is very quiet and our room facing a garden, so we couldn't hear any traffic noise during the night. The breakfast was also very tasteful and generous. The first morning we went out for sightseeing my partner was struck by sudden pains in his back, so we had to return to Hart Street after only 20 minutes of walk. Angela and James were surprised to see us in such a poor state, but acted promptly bringing some efficient painkillers which managed to reduce the pains quickly for my partner. We were amazed and very thankful to receive such unexpected concern, and this help certainly proved to save the day for both of us, as we could continue the sightseeing shortly after. Everything in this B&B seemed so positive and perfect, also the price, that we would be happy to stay there again if we return to Edinburgh and also recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 14 Hart Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Hart Street

Address: 14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton , New Town
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
14 Hart Street Hotel Edinburgh
14 Hart Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 14 Hart Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.