We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 5 star BB” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 14 Hart Street

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
14 Hart Street
Save
You added 14 Hart Street to your Saves list
14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland (Broughton)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Redruth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent 5 star BB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Delightful! We stayed as part of our honeymoon Scotland trip, its started and ended in 14 Hart street. James and Angela were the perfect hosts with such a beautiful home which they welcome you in to it wasn't hard to feel at ease.The location was in the theatre district it was a ten minute stroll into old town, quiet and peaceful and definitely no need to have a car but good footwear is a must.The room we lovingly decorated and spotlessly clean with a hearty breakfast, what more could you want...wine or a whisky!? well that in the rooms too. We had a lovely stay, thank you so much for all your food and shopping tips offs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    29
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
71
454
31
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We recently enjoyed a 2-night stay at 14 Hart Street. We had a car, so location wasn’t quite as important, but we walked to nearby shops and restaurants while we were staying there. James met us at the door and was a wonderful, engaging host from the beginning and throughout. Our handsome room was very comfortable, and we did enjoy the complimentary whisky in the evenings. As is often the case with Scottish hospitality, breakfast was a highlight – ample and really delicious. We also enjoyed the company/conversation of the other guests during those unhurried, lovely breakfasts. Highly recommend and hope to return on next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at 14 Hart Street for three nights during the last week of the Fringe Festival. Having read the latest reviews of this excellent guest house, I find I have little to add. James and Angela are wonderful charming hosts. James must have been waiting for us in the front hall: as our taxi arrived, he opened the door and came out to greet us. The rooms are tastefully appointed. Scotch, wine, and shortbread cookies await you. Beds are comfortable. Bathroom is clean and bright. James' made-to-order egg-centric breakfasts are delicious. For longer stays, a little more variety (p-cakes, French toast, omelettes, etc.) would be welcome.

14 Hart Street is centrally located on a quiet one-block street. It's easy walking distance to all the central sites and sights (the Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, etc). Nearby you'll find an assortment of excellent restaurants (try the Urban Angel at the top of the street), pubs (Conan Doyle), an excellent wine merchant, a Tesco Express, an RBS bank machine, even a modern shopping center with a John Lewis department store.

For those needing the internet, there's WiFi, though coverage throughout the property is a bit spotty. It was fine in our room (located at the front of the house). However, two mornings we encountered fellow guests sitting on the staircase getting their daily Facebook fix. Seems the radio waves didn't penetrate the thick stone walls into their bedroom at the rear of the house.

14 Hart Street is walking distance from the central (Waverley) train station, though I wouldn't recommending the excursion dragging large rolling pieces of luggage. While it's mostly downhill from the station to Hart Street, the streets and sidewalks are uneven, some cobblestone. Taxi fare from Edinburgh airport was £24. Taxi fare to the cruise port terminal in Leith was £13. Sad to leave the excellent hospitality provided by James and Angela, there we boarded the Windsurf for a wonderful cruise around the British Isles.

When we next return to Edinburgh, we will definitely make 14 Hart Street our home away from home. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Any room at 14 Hart Street is an excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Good location, within easy walking distance from Waverly station. Nice touches like whisky and wine in the room and a great shower. Excellent breakfast cooked to order as well as a large selection of fresh fruit, cereal and yoghurt. Sets you up for the day. Angela and James were lovely hosts, very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend this place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Choosing a place to stay in a city you've never been to can be a daunting task, especially when you prefer the small, intimate setting of a B&B or guest house. My wife and I hit the jackpot when we chose the Edinburgh Guest House in Edinburgh, Scotland for a 4-night stay in August. Our stay occurred during the Fringe festival, the Royal Tattoo, and a few other international events that more than doubled Edinburgh's population and made for an exciting, stimulating, but hectic atmosphere. 14 Hart Street is a short, 10-minute walk from all the action, yet it is located on a quiet, residential street that takes you away from all that. There are several great places to eat within 5-minutes walk as well. James and Angela are the ideal hosts, who made our stay all the better. They weren't intrusive, but they were always available to answer questions or provide advice on what to see and do. We thoroughly enjoyed our quiet, comfortable room, and James' delicious breakfasts that he served in a very proper British style. Each evening after a busy day enjoying the bustle of the city, we nestled in with complimentary wine, whiskey, tea, and shortbread. All in all 14 Hart Street was the perfect accommodation from which to enjoy the fabulous city of Edinburgh.

Room Tip: If you like meeting people, choose a B&B or guesthouse over a standard hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Angela and James are perfect hosts for a visit to Edinburgh. They offer an excellent location and fabulous breakfast. We were welcomed like old friends. On arrival James greeted us warmly and grabbed our luggage.We were guided to a comfortable and well appointed room. James encouraged us to help ourselves to the complimentary offerings of whisky, wine, shortbreads, etc. Assistance was always available and requests were promptly satisfied. We will return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a really great stay at 14 Hart Street during the Edinburgh Festival. James & Angela are lovely and helpful hosts, always on hand to help with our bags, directions, advice on restaurants - nothing seemed too much trouble. Nice touches in the room too - water, wine and whiskey! The location just off Broughton St. is quiet (with free parking at weekends), has some very good local restaurants nearby and is close to the city centre - we walked everywhere. 14 Hart St. will be our first choice when we return to Edinburgh which hopefully will be soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 14 Hart Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Hart Street

Address: 14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton , New Town
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
14 Hart Street Hotel Edinburgh
14 Hart Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 14 Hart Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.