We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B in the heart of Edinburgh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 14 Hart Street

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
14 Hart Street
Save
You added 14 Hart Street to your Saves list
14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland (Broughton)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect B&B in the heart of Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Angela and James - we salute you! Your home turned B&B is simply stunning. I stayed here with my fiance for just one night for a friend's wedding and it was the epitomy of bliss. We only wished that we were able to stay for longer. Much more than just a home from home. Our bedroom was beautifully furnished and carefully decorated. Our friend staying in the next door bedroom claimed "this is the best B&B i have ever stayed in" and "the best shower I have ever taken"!! Breakfast for our sore heads the next day was delicious and hearty. Thank you so much for your fantastic hosting Angela and James. Rest assured - we will be back!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    29
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
71
455
31
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beckenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a short but very sweet stay in 14 Hart Street last week and since our return we have been urging everyone we know to go and stay there! Everything about this place is wonderful, but the memory which will linger longest is the warm welcome and hospitality of the hosts, Angela and James. We took the sleeper train from London so arrived in Edinburgh very early in the morning, but they invited us to drop off our bags and pick up a key, and also gave us a map and recommended some lovely places to visit. The location is great for exploring the city by foot, it's only a ten minute walk from the main station and is in a great part of town. Our room was large & spacious with beautiful furnishings, interesting artwork & antiques, the most comfortable bed in the world and a fabulous bathroom. A lovely touch is the complimentary wine and mini decanter of whisky in the room - very much appreciated after a long day's walking up and down the hills of Edinburgh! Breakfast was excellent, the delicious freshly prepared food served around a big table in the gorgeous dining room set us up perfectly for our second day of exploring the hills. The hosts are genuinely lovely people and truly excel at what they do - they really made an effort to ensure we enjoyed our time at their B+B and in Edinburgh, and we can't wait to go back! Thank you so much for everything Angela and James! - Jenny & Chris

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

During our recent four night stay in Edinburgh we stayed at 14 Hart Street - a lovely old world house which is full of character and very centrally located for just about everything. Our hosts Angela and James gave us a really warm welcome and none of our requests were too much trouble for them. They were more than happy to phone taxis when required, we were welcome to leave our luggage until it was time for us to leave for the airport and were happy to help us to track down our misplaced luggage on arrival.

Our room was very comfortable with lots of interesting paintings and ornaments. We felt at ease returning during the day to put our feet up and rest in between activities. It was lovely to partake of the beverages available to us - a cup of tea in the afternoon, a glass of wine before going out to dinner and a whiskey nightcap.

Breakfast was delicious, cooked to order by James. It was leisurely and the conversation at the large dining table with the other guests was very pleasant.

Angela and James were charming hosts and we are already looking for an excuse to return and will be recommending them to our friends.

Marion and Ciaran McGettrick (Dublin)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed for almost two weeks in this wonderfull B&B. The hospitality of Angela and James is amazing. The accommodation is elegant with antique furneture and the bathroom is modern. The breakfast is delicious and carefully made by James. But overall it was wonderfull, that in the evening after a long exhausting day you were wellcomed and in the morning you had been given a farewell for the day. So I felt every day like coming home. Thanks Angela and James, that for a short time your home was our home!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

During our stay in the cold scottish winter, we had highly appreciated the warm welcom of Angela and James.Our room was spacious and well decorated with italian, french and scottish art. The upkeep of the room was also well done, and we also appreciated the comfort of the mattress. Complimentary water, tea, wine, whisky and shortbread were also welcomed after a long city walk.
Situation of the B&B is perfect for visiting new town, and you just need a little walk to go to old town. The full breakfeast was also perfect.
2 suggestion for our host in order to have 6 stars comment on trip advisor :-)
- it was not a problem for us, but why such a small TV in a such large beautiful room ?
- Our bed was extremely comfortable but just a little small (about 140cm) if you are used to king sized bed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night to celebrate my husband's birthday. The owners were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. When I rang Angela to confirm the booking I mentioned that we were arriving in Edinburgh at 10.30am. I assumed we would be unable to check in until mid afternoon, but Angela told me to come straight along to the B&B and that although the room might not be ready we would be able to leave our bags and would be given a key. As it happened the room was ready and being able to check in early was a great start to our stay.

The house is beautifully decorated and furnished. Our bed was huge and very comfortable and the welcome addition of complimentary wine and whiskey a lovely touch. The bathroom though small was perfectly functional and the shower was both powerful and hot.

Breakfast was delicious with a good selection of cereals, fruit and yoghurt. We both began with fresh blueberries, topped with organic yoghurt and honey and followed this with a hearty breakfast of bacon, sausage, black pudding, egg, mushrooms, potato scone and tomato - delicious. Toast and a large selection of preserves were also provided. There was a choice of teas, coffee and orange juice to drink.

We will have no hesitation about staying at 14 Hart Street during any future trips to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just spent a wonderful weekend at Hart Street, the stay was excellent from start to finish. Our hosts were very welcoming, the room was fantastic, spacious, tastefully decorated and very cosy which was much appreciated given the snow outside. Home cooked breakfasts were delicious and filling, really set us up for the day. We couldn't recommend Hart St highly enough and hope to return there again in the future. Thank you Angela and James for making our weekend in Edinburgh a real treat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 14 Hart Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Hart Street

Address: 14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton , New Town
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
14 Hart Street Hotel Edinburgh
14 Hart Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 14 Hart Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.