We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We always choose The Bonnington!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bonnington Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Bonnington Guest House to your Saves list
The Bonnington Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   202 Ferry Road, Edinburgh EH6 4NW, Scotland (Leith)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We always choose The Bonnington!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have stayed in this guest house over six times to date. The rooms are spotless and guests are provided with extras such as sherry, water and chocolates. It is quiet and backs onto Victoria Park plus it has private parking at the side - a boon in a big city. The proprietors treat guests like family and there is plenty of information about where to go and what to see. The breakfast caters for all tastes with plenty of choice from a buffet of fresh fruit and a wealth of cereals, The cooked breakfast - The Bonnington Grill - can be as large as you like! We have always been made most welcome and feel we can book on-line or phone directly to chat about dates. Would always make this our first choice but often they are fully booked!

Room Tip: Look on-line as there are plenty of pictures. The rooms at the rear which back onto the park are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    19
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
43
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting Edinburgh .we literally turned up on doorstep asking if there was a room !we were welcomed in and had a room on ground floor , it was large ,high Celling and was spotless! We were giving plenty of local info and the bus stop was just round corner, which was great as parking in Edinburgh can be a pain . We went to the castle and Mary Scott's close which was brilliant !!
The choice at breakfast was huge, and that was without the cooked breakfast which of course we had too !!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Wonderful reception, great atmosphere, coziest beds ever!
Great location thats easy to get to, loved all the little trinkets and final touches. would definitely return. A MUST FOR THE FESTIVAL NEXT YEAR.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

What a great decision to have stayed at The Bonnington Guest House during our visit to Edinburgh. It is in a quiet and lovely location with excellent access to the bus routes in and out of the city. On our first night of three, we loved our walk down to the harbour to Newhaven for an excellent seafood dinner. Just one of the many great recommendations Jill had suggested while we were being shown our room in this clean,beautiful and comfortable guest house. I loved all the special extra comforts and touches that says we care and want you to be comfortable while you visit with us. You do not often see the extra attention to detail this guest house offers. I also want to mention that the breakfast offered is wonderfully prepared and delicious. I would not hesitate to stay here again and I highly recommend The Bonnington Guest House while you are visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham uk
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

If you are looking for somewhere to stay, away from the hustle and bustle of the city, The Bonnington is the place for you! Lovely,friendly,warm welcome from Gill, who then led us up to our spacious,tastefully decorated, immaculate room. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was gleaming. The decanter of sherry and some chocolates on a welcome tray was a nice touch, as was the inclusion of the small fridge in the room. The delicious, hearty cooked breakfast set us up for each day and the buffet table supplied a great range of cereals and a different selection of fresh fruit every morning. Gill greeted us every day with polite and cheery conversation and gave us invaluable advice on where to eat, travel arrangements etc. I would recommend this Guest House to anyone and if we were to pay a return visit to Edinburgh, we would choose to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I have just returned from a two night stay in The Bonnington GH and I must say that I am very pleased with it. After doing my research, I realized that this would be perfect for us for a number of reasons: private off road parking, triple room (not many offer this option), and in a convenient location, only 10 minutes away from the city centre by bus, plus the bus stop is just half a block away. I really didn't want to drive into the city centre and face heavy traffic...

All in all, the GH is very comfortable. The room we stayed in was huge, with a very high ceiling, which gives the impression of an even bigger room. The room and the toilet were very clean and nicely decorated. It had a small fridge, flat screen TV, hair dryer,... quite functional in my opinion.

The breakfast was good but nothing to write home about. You get a standard buffet plus Gyll (the owner) takes your order at the table for whatever hot food you may want.

I would definitely choose The Bonnington GH once more if I were to visit Edinburgh again!

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems call first as there is a big staircase leading to the upper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We picked this b&b because we wanted to be within walking distance of the Royal Botanic Gardens. It was an excellent place to say. The hosts were really friendly and helpful. We stayed in a large double and it certainly lived up to its name. It was lovely to stay in the suburbs and it was very green and near Victoria Park and good walks. It was a simple bus journey from Waverley Station.

The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. Breakfast was delicious and much better than the 4 star hotel we stayed in a few days later.

Very clean room and bathroom. The complimentary sherry was most welcome. Lots of lovely period features in the b&b.

This was the best b&b we'd stayed in for a long time. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Large double was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bonnington Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonnington Guest House

Address: 202 Ferry Road, Edinburgh EH6 4NW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonnington Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bonnington Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonnington Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bonnington Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.