We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but does the job” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Abbot's House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Abbot's House Hotel to your Saves list
Abbot's House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   10 Links Place, Edinburgh EH6 7EZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #397 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cheap but does the job”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 only. Was really worried after reading these reviews but everything was okay when we got there.

Parking available but if full there's lots of free on street parking. Only 5 minute walk to bus stop (turn left at police station) takes 10 mins to get to Princes Street, make sure you have 1.40 in change tho!

Room was ok, en suite twin on first floor but view was of an alley with overflowing bins!.. Room and bathroom very modern and clean tho but beds were rock hard - had to use a spare quilt to cushion it. Walls and doors are paper thin and you can hear everything next door, especially rude inconsiderate guests who thought it was ok to get up at 4am and make as much noise as possible before leaving then when asked to keep noise down they banged on the wall repeatedly-shame on you you dicks!

Would return to Abbots tho cos staff and location were great. If you want posh go elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    29
    25
    24
    45
See reviews for
22
37
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights and the hotel is not what we expected. We were given a room right down at the basement. Room was spacious for 4 Adults but the lighting is too dim! There's a large window in our room which overlooked the back of the hotel and you can practically see people's feet as they walked passed our window! The showerhead is too dirty and the state of the bathroom is in need of a renovation! Basically, the amenities provided are basic. There's a bus (about 5-10 minutes from the hotel) which you could take to go to the city. The staff did arranged a cab for us upon checking out to get to Victoria Bus Station for £10. Overall, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Request for a room on a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We had originally booked @ Link's. I recieved an email that Link's was no longer available and that my reservation had been moved to Abbot's. We stayed for 1 night in family room(en suite). Everything was fine. Room was fine, minor problem with t.v. reception but that was o.k. Allan and staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. Our room overlooked golf course. Room was very comfortable.
We would surely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed here for one night with two friends. We paid £60 for a Saturday night ensuite room, triple room.
There was mix up with our booking. We originally booked this hotel (for £75) and were sent an email saying we had been moved to the Links House Hotel.I phoned them as that was listed at £60, I was given a refund (£15), job done ... or so I thought. We showed up at Links and it was for sale with noone around. After going into a nearby hotel we learned the Abbots wasn't far and to ask them as they were 'sister' hotels. When we got to the Abbots it turned out our booking with them!
The Abbots allowed us to check in early (which was nice), the room was basic but served its purpose. It was fine for the price. The location was nice, overlooking the park. On the number 25 bus route which ran every 15 minutes about 10 minutes ride into centre. The shower was a little small but was ok for one night and the toilet was very loud but again was fine for one night. It is an old town house which is nice. We were downstairs through a little maze of stairs was a little scared we wouldn't find out room again after a night out. They allowed us to leave our bags in the office after check out which saved us money as the train station charges £7.50 per bag for the day!
I probably would stay again as the price, location and room were all good. No major problems (aside from being sent to the wrong hotel!)

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
362 helpful votes 362 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed at Abbot's House because of our own booking error and the hotel we were originally booked in didn't have any available for an extra night. Abbot's House was fairly expensive for what we got - I believe we paid about $120 CAD, and our room was nowhere near the quality I would expect for that price. However, we did book at the last minute, and hotels in Edinburgh are expensive to begin with. The location of this hotel was not the greatest - one has to take a 15 minute bus drive to get to the centre and all the attractions. However, there is a very nice large park just outside the hotel, and a huge Tesco in the walking distance. The hotel has some parking spaces available but not many - we were lucky enough to get one. Our room was average if not below average, but for one night it was ok. The sheets seemed clean and the bathroom was fairly clean as well, although in dire need of updates.
I must say though that the service was quite good, the person who greeted us was very friendly and helpful with how to get around town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This was the worst "hotel" we ever stayed in. The whole hotel was very shabby (even from the outside).

Our room was in the basement - we had to walk through a labyrinth of corridores to get there. It smelled like a bit of disinfectant (well, that would be okay...) with scent of mould. The furnishing was way out dated and the frame of the bed was really filthy. It was a bit difficult to use the toilet, because you had to sit in a strange angle because there was not enough space.

If you plan to stay here consider that this hotel is about 2 kilometers away from the town center and thats quite a walk...

The only good points were that the breakfast was okay and the staff was helpful. There was free parking, but only for up to four cars.

Room Tip: Try to get an other hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Even having read previous reviews on this B&B, I wanted to form my own views and I am sorry to say that previous reviews have frightenly accurate. Whilst our rooms were reasonably clean and renovated (en-suite), the building is not very clean and poorly maintained with the dining area looking like it was purchased as bankrupt stock from a chinese restaraunt! Whilst Alan the general manager was pleasent enough, the remainder of the staff could hardly speak english and the general staff u iform appeared to be tracksuits or jeans. Whilst having been told to leave our towels on the floor for exchange we came back after a day out to find that the only thing that had been changed or cleaned was one coffee cup and our dirty towels were still on the floor where we had left them! I spoke to the duty manager who said there were no clean towels left and it was only upon my insistance that he went and 'raided' some towels from unoccupied rooms!
We paid the additional £5 per day for breakfast which was terrible. The Polish Chef seemed to think that a 'hard boiled egg' meant that it should be left in long enough for him to go outside the front door for a ciggy (which he did regularly) so the eggs were raw but the sausages burnt. On our last morning, breakfast should have started at 0730hrs but the chef did not turn in until 0830hrs!
Devistastingly disappointed as we have stayed in some good budget hotels in the past. i am very suprised that the Scottish Tourist Board allow this business to continue to represent their tourist trade as there were a great deal of foriegn tourists who had booked in but language withstanding, were also disapointed with the facilities and services being provided in the name of 'Scotland'. Had this business been situated in England, I would have been deeply embarassed to be English!
I know that budget hotels are run on a shoestring but that should not mean that they are totally devoid of any quality of quality customer service. To the owners of this business, if you do read trip advisor, you really do need to invest in the fabric of the building, employng staff who give a dam or at the very least, speak a smattering of english so that your guests can at least be able to voice their dis-satisfaction.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbot's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's House Hotel

Address: 10 Links Place, Edinburgh EH6 7EZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #397 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbot's House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abbot's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbot's House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbot's House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.