We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aaran Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aaran Lodge to your Saves list
Aaran Lodge
30 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Abruzzo
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

A bit out of the city but on main bus route (15-20 mins to city centre). Even going around by car was easy. Clean and comfy. Near a beach very suitable for a quiet walk. Owner was really really helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    20
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
45
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

The owners of this guest house have clearly spent a lot of money on furniture and furnishings. However, the chairs were so stacked with cushions that there was no space to sit down. Beds too came with both a duvet and a heavy quilted cover which had to be removed before sleeping - even in Edinburgh, it was a warm summer's night. The impression was of clutter - albeit expensive clutter. Breakfast was certainly billed as a treat in store, but sadly the reality was quite different. Sausages were cheap and pappy and the fried egg rubbery. Scrambled "egg" was dubious - was it made from real eggs or reconstituted?

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Stayed for two nights and we were impressed with the looks of the place. Very clean and nicely decorated. The room was large and comfortable even with two kids. However, the attitude and reception from the owner takes the edge of the above mentioned. The first thing we are told when we arrive is that the price we've been given does not include a cooked breakfast and the she will charge a £5 extra per person for it. Not a big deal, but irritating since it's not mentioned anywhere on their website and she didn't mention it when I booked either. There was also a feeling that we were in the way, a nuisance to her. Not a great feeling to get and we haven't felt that way anywhere else.
So all in all we feel that it was good but not a place we will be returning to.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

this accommodation far out shone the hotel next door....highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

Recently stayed for 2 nights. A very friendly atmosphere, well cared for property and rooms very well kitted out. Excellent breakfast and service from Alec and Mrs Tod. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

UNBELIEVABLE deal for the price .. our family unexpectedly had car trouble the evening before a marathon and vacancies were extremely limited. After a long search we came upon Aaran Lodge - located very close to the Best Western.

Beautifully and impeccably furnished and decorated. Our host Alec was terrific. He appologized extensively for the fact that due to minor renovations at the time - there was no WiFi/internet and that they were unable to take credit cards. When I told him I would need to find an ATM, he drove me to not just one, but 2. In the morning we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast and I took a great walk on the nearby beach while Iwaited for our car to be repaired.

The building itself, the host and the price all make this top notch in my book.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

Very overpriced. Not value for money at all. The rooms were nicely decorated but small. The location is awful straight onto the mainroad and backed by ugly college buildings. On my next visit we stayed literally next door at the Kings Manor Hotel - cheaper, rooms twice the size, great food in the restaurant, and a swimming pool to boot. Aaran Lodge is no competition.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aaran Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaran Lodge

Address: 30 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Georgian Townhouse provides luxurious four-star accommodation, en-suite rooms tastefully decorated and furnished to the highest standard and fully equipped with large satellite t.v., internet access. Located near beach golf, close/easy access to city center. We offer double, twin or family rooms suitable for up to 5 persons; discounts for children and longer stays, free parking, friendly family run: this is why our guests return time and again so book today and have a wonderful stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Aaran Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaran Lodge Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aaran Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.