We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craigmore Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Craigmore Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Craigmore Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
20 Craigs Rd | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 8EL , Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Stratfield Saye, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We first stayed at Craigmore in 2003 on our first trip to Edinburgh for the Military Tattoo. Rae and Peter made us very welcome and we loved our stay with them. Since then we have been to Edinburgh several times and the first thing we do when planning a trip is to see if Rae and Peter can accommodate us. We wouldn't like to stay anywhere else. The breakfasts are fabulous and the B&B is ideally situated for bus trips into town. Rae and Peter have become true friends over the years and we hope to have many more visits with them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
5
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stornoway, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at Craigmore B&B a few times since summer; it is nice to come into a friendly people´s home, with no issues whatsoever; the rooms are very nice, with en-suite facilities (I have been into two of their rooms) and the area is quiet, yet close to airport by bus;

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigm0re, Owner at Craigmore Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
hi,
I have just learnt how to respond to a review so although I am very delayed in replying I thank you for the positive reviews and hope we see you more in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweiz
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

we chose this B&B for its proximity to the airport, because we had to leave early in the morning to catch our flight. turns out we should have booked it for more than just one night, as we felt very welcome and would have loved to chat a bit more with Rae and Peter MacKenzie, who served us a wonderful breakfast early on a Sunday morning.
they were even so kind as to send us an item we forgot on our departure to our home address.
we highly recommend Craigmore Bed & Breakfast and look forward to staying there again on our next visit to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We are couple in our thirties, needed place to rest for the night before our long journey home to Kent the next day. We were greated on arrival with a pot of tea & selection of cake & biscuits. The accommodation is shared with the owners but this is not awkward at all as they gave us lots of space. Our room was nice with tea making facilities. Our bathroom was big with bath & shower, clean towels.
The breakfast was brilliant, lots of selection. She is a wonderful cook too.
We rang alot of B & B's & this one was best value for money.
Immaculately clean felt welcome.
Property was decorated in an old English style lots of ornaments & old fashioned furniture. Was like being at my nans house. I think if you were a foreign tourist this theme would add to the experience of being in this country.
Highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

After returning from the Highlands, we needed just one night's stay in Edinburgh before we flew home. My family used both lovely bedrooms.

The benefit of staying in a B&B, where the owners live, is the opportunity to chat with the locals and learn more about their city and country. Rae MacKenzie was friendly and informative.

The ample breakfast was served on fine china and the butter curls chilled on a dedicated silver dish. We felt royal indeed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

A very enjoyable 3 night stay with family who had stayed here before. Rae and Peter MacKenzie are wonderful hosts and share their home so graciously. We appreciated the personal touches such as tea & biscuits on arrival and different elegant china and linen at breakfast each day. Breakfast was superb. The choice and quality would put many hotels to shame. The bedrooms are homely, comfortable and spotlessly clean with ensuite facilities.

There is ample roadside parking with no time restrictions. We left the car there and used the bus service to go into the city. Very reasonable fares one way or day pass and frequent service (every 10/15 minutes).

Overall a very enjoyable visit to see the Military Tattoo, which was spectacular. The Palace of Holyrood House and the Queen's Gallery are also well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just as with the other rooms, I'm happy to confirm that Rae met us on arrival and within minutes we had tea, a glass of milk and all the home bakes we could wish for! The room was comfortable and breakfast superb. It's really easy to get here on the 26 bus and I highly recommend doing so!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Craigmore Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigmore Bed & Breakfast

Address: 20 Craigs Rd | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 8EL , Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craigmore guest house, the home of Rae and Peter, is superbly located on the west side of Edinburgh only a short taxi ride from Edinburgh international airport and within easy reach of Edinburgh city centre. Listed as a four-star bed and breakfast by the Scottish Tourist Board, Craigmore guest house offers two tastefully presented and comfortable rooms with en-suite bathroom for you to choose from. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Craigmore Bed & Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigmore Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.