We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One Royal Circus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added One Royal Circus to your Saves list
One Royal Circus
1 Royal Circus, Edinburgh, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Out of this world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Quite simply, the best hotel experience I have had. To call it a hotel doesn't really do it justice, as it felt more like our own private mansion. Beautiful interiors, well presented room, great food and service...Not to mention, baby grand piano, stunning first floor guest room, pool table...

If you are looking for a boutique hotel in Edinburgh, look no further.

Room Tip: We had room 2, which was quiet, spacious and overlooked the rear garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    5
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
54
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

One Royal Circus has to be seen to be believed. It's elegant, sophisticated, classy, stylish, and unbelievably comfortable. It's in a perfect location, with restaurants and shops nearby. The atmosphere is relaxed, with kitchen and bar privileges open to all. The full breakfast was delicious, and yes, haggis was offered, and yes, it was delicious. I sincerely wish we could've stayed longer than two nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erding, Bayern, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Brilliant, just an amazing experience. This is a totally unique base right in the heart of Edinburgh where nothing is too much trouble and where attention to detail is the norm. I wouldn't hesitate to return.
The only problem I had was nothing to do with the hotel, but the booking agency (Scottish Accommodation Index) just couldn't handle a staggered booking. I needed two nights but not consecutive and they managed to book me for one night at double the price, although the very nice people in the hotel sorted this, no problem in the end. My recommendation is to stay at 1 Royal Circus, you'll not be disappointed, but book in the old fashioned way by speaking to people rather than online if your stay is anything other than very straight forward.

Room Tip: Just book, there isn't a bad room in my experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I decided a few weeks ago to take my new girlfriend, frighteningly used to five star-plus trips to New York, St Tropez, that hotel in Dubai - you get the picture, to Edinburgh. Surely one of the most beautiful, elegant, noble and architecturally striking cities of the world - a city that has a story or two and a city with the finest pub / bar crawling potential. For me, it has it all. So, where to take Miss Big Ticket? I considered The Glasshouse strongly among other top rated hotels and I am sure we would have had a lovely time.

However, I had heard from an actor friend, who had stayed at what he described as the perfect urban retreat, that there was only one place to consider as a base for taking in all of Edinburgh's richest offerings : a georgian townhouse, in a part of town designed with beauty and care in the 1700s, incongruously named to many of the city's new world visitors as "New Town". It is a five minute walk to the hub of George Street yet it was a million miles away - in the most quiet, elegant and gorgeous circular streets, which resembles an Austen period drama set on a day off from filming. A quite breathtaking location.

Once inside, the attention to detail with the finish of the interiors of all rooms strikes one straightaway. The typically high celinged beauty, the fun French prints, elegant furniture and the effort that has clearly gone in to making the space come alive is striking, laudable and appreciated.

The room was fantastic. A flat screen TV, ipod docking station, Nespresso coffee machine and other stylish, cutting edge modernities in the bedroom and bathroom alike, which caused my girlfriend to flash an impressed affirmation in my direction. I already knew she would be loving the first impression that cannot fail to hit you.

The public rooms are beautiful and fun. The free drinks at the exquisite bar and the civilised freedom to roam, use the kitchen and spread yourself about made it impossible for hotel chains, however grand, to compete with One Royal Circus. It is the personal touches that make the difference and we were looked after beautifully, had the opportunity to meet another wonderful couple because we chose to ( it can be as private an experience as you want) and felt rather grand and relaxed in our townhouse retreat. We will be back many times and certainly one of those times soon will be to take all the rooms. It is just inventing a special occasion now!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We spent three nights here with our two teenaged daughters -- we reserved the family suite that had two bedrooms and a large bathroom. It had everything we could have asked for and more -- a library, billiards, board games, a computer for guest use, a bar, a relaxing parlor, delicious breakfast, and a helpful manager. The home is gorgeous -- a lovely, light-filled Georgian in a quiet neighborhood that was a perfect retreat after sightseeing in Edinburgh. We have recommended it everyone and would stay again in a heartbeat.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Had a really lovely few days staying here....just like having your own home in the centre of Edinburgh. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night, as they couldn't accommodate us for a second night. Went there as Jimmy Carr described it as the Lear Jet of B&Bs. Never been near a Lear Jet but I think I'd like it after staying here. We live in a Georgian house, as we like the architectural style. One Royal Circus is an outstanding example of a fine Georgian house, furnished beautifully in a modern style. You have the run of the house - there was one other couple staying there apparently but we didn't see them. As you would expect, the rooms are large & well proportioned. We stayed in a room on the first floor, facing the rear as requested as there is road noise from the nearby cobbled road, which can be quite busy. V comfy bed, high quality linen. Bathroom a little small but perfectly functional - the Georgians weren't big on big bathrooms btw. Liked the "help yourself" bar. Breakfast was excellent, cooked perfectly. They let us store our luggage for a few hours after we left, giving us a key. Would we stay there again? Yes, absolutely. Everything is easy walking distance. They recommended Cafe Fish, c 200 yards away for dinner & made us aware of a half price offer through Facebook ( which we are not on ourselves). Good restaurant, which is up for the Scottish fish restaurant of the year we understand. Worth trying - it was full when we were there. Only v slight niggle - some emails to confirm arrival times had to be resent to get a reply but that may be nothing to do with them.

Room Tip: If you like total silence, ask for a rear facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to One Royal Circus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Royal Circus

Address: 1 Royal Circus, Edinburgh, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Royal Circus is a stunning Townhouse located in the heart of Edinburgh's New Town. It combines the Georgian architecture of William Playfair with modern amenities and is a short stroll from Princes Street and many of Edinburgh's best galleries, bars and restaurants. A regular celebrity haunt this 5* property offers the discerning visitor a home from home in the heart of a great city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your One Royal Circus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Royal Circus
One Royal Circus Hotel Edinburgh
One Royal Circus Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Royal Circus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.