We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class B+B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One Royal Circus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added One Royal Circus to your Saves list
One Royal Circus
1 Royal Circus, Edinburgh, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
1 review
“World Class B+B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

After bragging to my long-time girlfriend about how wonderful Edinburgh is, I finally convinced her to take a long over due vacation with me from our home in California.

With the pressure on me to deliver, I researched B+Bs in Edinburgh and found One Royal Circus here on Trip Advisor. I could not have made a better choice!!!

Upon our weary arrival after a long flight, we were warmly greeted by the owners Mike and Susan. They instantly made us feel personally welcomed into the amazing, centrally located New Town property.

Though historic on the exterior, the interior has a very distinctive modern appeal while still preserving its original character of high ceilings and crown moldings. A large skylight situated over the central stairs crowns the tastefully appointed B+B. Our beautiful bedroom featured a totally comfortable bed with luxurious linens. The bathroom had a cool, minimalist feeling.

Breakfast was fantastically prepared and we made new friends every morning as we sat in the kitchen area sipping some great, great coffees. Mike and I ended up sipping a couple brandy's together late at night, and I enjoyed playing pool in the Parlor area with him while listening to some hip music on their wireless system.

All in all, I must say that we were totally sad when we left One Royal Circus after our week in exciting Edinburgh...but hey, my girlfriend and I have since became engaged and we are planning on incorporating some of their design ideas into our own home as a fond memory of our stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    5
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
54
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We spent five nights here this past week and were very impressed! The house is amazing! You feel like you are living in a mansion, we hardly ever saw any of the other guests except occasionally at breakfast, which is relaxed and served after 9:00, allowing time to sleep in, if desired (city hours). We were high up on the 3rd floor (you definitely get your exercise going up and down!) in a two room suite with a bathroom in between. Our teenage son was in the bunk bed room which he liked, though disappointed no TV reception in there, but at least he could play video games on the the Sony Playstation. The rooms were immaculate, sleek and modern, very comfy beds and beautiful high ceilings giving an air of spaciousness to each room. I would have preferred a door to our suite area, rather than the velvet curtain, which is lovely. I just would have liked that extra bit of privacy that a door would offer. The bathroom was sleek and modern as well and the shower pressure is great - I didn't want to get out it felt so good! L'Occitane amenities are available, as well as a hair dryer in the bedroom closet.

The location is great, a beautiful area in New Town. Close to Stockbridge and Thistle Street restaurants. Walking to Princes St. is no problem as well.

Breakfasts were delicious and made to order by Sophie or Kerry, who were both great. Susan welcomed us (albeit we were earlier than expected) and she gave us the tour when we arrived, but from that time on, we were pretty much left alone, like we had the whole huge place to ourselves! My son and husband had fun playing pool on the first floor. The drawing room was nice to sit in, while checking emails (wireless is very spotty and unpredictable though, especially way up on the 3rd floor.)

If you're looking for a comfortable B&B and have always wanted to stay in one of those gorgeous townhouses you see in Edinburgh or London - this is the place to go! The decor is minimalist modern (think Philippe Starck) offset by the classic Georgian architecture of Playfair, beautifully restored throughout the house. The ceilings, skylights and mouldings are just gorgeous! A real gem!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed here for three nights during the Edinburgh Fringe. The hotel was the perfect place to relax and enjoy some peace away from the frenetic atmosphere of the Fringe. Our room was gorgeous with soft, luxurious bed linen and a lovely bathroom. Breakfast was delicious and it was also great to come back in the evenings and enjoy a nightcap in the living room. This, incidentally, is not your average living room, but a high-ceilinged Edwardian delight with beautiful wood floors, a chrome bar and low sofas.

The only slight downside if you're visiting the Fringe is that it is about a 25 minute walk from the Pleasance etc. so it's not that good if you want to come back in the middle of the day but we were fine spending all day out and only coming back in the late evenings.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I spent four days at One Royal Circus with my wife and two sons of 13 and 11 years old and we had a wonderful time. We were fantastically attended by Kerrie, an excellent host, but, at the same time, we felt very independent within the house, so that it was like staying at home. We had a full floor for us comprising two rooms with en-suite bathrooms and a well-equipped gym. We also enjoyed freshly cooked full Scottish breakfasts with an excellent haggis. The location is also amazing, because One Royal Circus is located in a beautiful part of the magnificent New Town of Edinburgh and is very close to the City Centre. For the kids it was also an enjoyable stay, as they could play pools and use the iMac with internet connection, both located at the library (a nice collection of books is also available for the guests). However, in my opinion, the best of this place is the feeling of being at home in a impressive and charming house of the New Town. Definitely, One Royal Circus is an excellent place to stay and we'll be back soon!.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Four, not so young, couples visited Edinburgh together for the Fringe Festival on what had to be one of the wettest weekends ever. We were therefore relieved that we had chosen a B&B that was just a short taxi ride from most of the venues, and that the house itself was warm, comfortable, well equipped and had a seemingly endless supply of hot water. They even offered us black bin bags with which we could enclose ourselves and our supposedly waterproof clothing when we went to the Tattoo!

The house itself is a beautiful georgian building dating from 1823 on one of the lovely circles of which Edinburgh is so justifiably proud. Kerrie welcomed us on arrival and showed us around the public rooms before taking us to our bedrooms. I was in one on the second floor (no lifts) with views over the beautiful circle garden. It was spacious, if rather featureless, and I did not like the old fashioned dark cupboards (too few hangers!) which dominated it , but TV, music and a coffee machine were provided and the bed was very comfortable. A useless and unattractive side room acted as a corridor to the bathroom which had only a single sink and shower, but the towels and toiletries were good (although the latter were not refilled when used) and a hairdryer was provided.

Breakfast was excellent, served in a cosy kitchen and prepared in front of us. A large choice was offered, much of it home made.

One Royal Circle is a perfect venue for a group such as ours. Effectively we were living in a beautiful, private house, with someone else to do all the work! We should certainly stay there again should we have occasion to visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I have just spent a week at One Royal Circus. It is the second time I have stayed there and I cannot recommend it enough. The staff are wonderful, the decor is spectacular and stylish, the breakfast is delicious - everything is perfect. I cannot find fault with anything. I enjoyed playing the grand piano in the living room and found the hotel to be ideally located for reaching the centre of Edinburgh (just five minutes walk to Princes Street).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST PP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

If you are after a B& B version of a Sanderson, Costes, Crazy Bear or Delano Hotel of this world and seek understated Regency style, superior taste and excellent service this boutique B&B will supersede your expectations. The photos on this site do not do this place justice. I will not repeat the praise and remarks on the below reviews. Every bit of it is truly deserved. Mike, Sue and their Manager Kerry and staff do a formidable job to create an intimate, relaxing, homely, and delectably stylish stay for guests. From the wonderful warm, welcoming homely feel, the cheerful and helpful staff, the understated but sumptuous bedrooms (beautifully made up for you every day while you are out) , the delightful breakfasts (home-made treats and locally sourced produce ) there are a wealth of thoughful little ' make yourself at home touches' around the property to wish that your stay was longer. A taste of what to expect: Nespresso coffee machines are nestled around the lounge/bar and kitchen as well as each bedroom. The kitchen is well supplied and is beautifully appointed for all guests to use. The Library is stocked high with titles to suit all reading. For those with a sporty inclination there is a Pool Table and Table Football in the Games Room and there is also a small gym for those actively minded. Otherwise one can relax in the lounge to the wonderful sound of lounge music subtly playing through the Sonos and Bose speakers. And if you fancy a touch on the ivories one is free to play on the Grand Piano - perfectly in tune - Just like all of One Royal Circus. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Request a shower or bath to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One Royal Circus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Royal Circus

Address: 1 Royal Circus, Edinburgh, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Royal Circus is a stunning Townhouse located in the heart of Edinburgh's New Town. It combines the Georgian architecture of William Playfair with modern amenities and is a short stroll from Princes Street and many of Edinburgh's best galleries, bars and restaurants. A regular celebrity haunt this 5* property offers the discerning visitor a home from home in the heart of a great city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your One Royal Circus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Royal Circus
One Royal Circus Hotel Edinburgh
One Royal Circus Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Royal Circus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.