We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilmaurs Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kilmaurs Guest House to your Saves list
Kilmaurs Guest House
9 Kilmaurs Road, Edinburgh EH16 5DA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

i went to this b and b so i could be close to edinburgh to visit the various castles..
plus go to the miltary tattoo at night..it was spectacular..
the place was close enough to town where we could either walk or take the great bus system..
Donna prepared a great scottish breakfast for us..and i loved that coffee..
and the beds were very comfortable and i slept well..

i would highly recommend this place and i hope to go there again in the future to see more of edinburgh

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
19
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I would recommend this lovely home (that is what is it, home away from home) to anyone visiting Edinburgh for business or pleasure. From the wide variety at the breakfast table to the soft clean sheets, the friendly atmosphere and convenience of the location - The hostess and staff are amazing, friendly and maintain your privacy as well.
I would certainly stay here over and over again!!!
Thank you Donna

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I really enjoyed staying in this comfortable guest house! The three highlights for me are:
1) Service - you really get a above 5 star hotel service. The owner is very concerned about providing the guests the best experience in Edinburgh.
2) Breakfast - there is a great variety of options available for breakfast, especially if you like fruits!
3) Comfort - when you get in the guest house, it doesn't look like a "hotel", but the room is just amazing and super comfortable, and well decorated.
However, there are two things you need to know before going there:
1) Dogs - there are two dogs in the house. If you are allergic to animals, take this into consideration before booking the room.
2) Location - the guest house is a 10-20 min bus drive from the downtown. The bus system there is pretty good, and there are three bus lines that you can take just 2 blocks from the guest house. It's very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Excellent service and breakfast provided by Donna. Clean and comfortable. Convenient location in a quiet road but near a well-served bus route to the city centre. I would certainly stay here again and would recommend.

Room Tip: My room at the back (9) was comfortable, very quiet and had a good view. The shower room was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

It is a wonderful Guest House. The rooms are comfortable, nice and clean. The breakfast is really good and Donna (the hostess) is simply lovely. She makes you fell at home during all your stay.
Thank you very much Donna!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Kilmaurs is located just off a main road (free parking on street), about a 25 minute scenic walk from the bottom of the Royal Mile, or on a main frequent bus route into town.

The owners were very friendly, the rooms were large and comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was fantastic - an extensive buffet with lots of fresh fruits, and a choice of cooked options including some Scottish treats (haggis!).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

The Guest House was clean, the breakfast was great and the owners were very friendly and helpful. My only thought was the bathroom was quite small. Not a problem for my cousin and I but would be for a larger person. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again if we returned.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilmaurs Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmaurs Guest House

Address: 9 Kilmaurs Road, Edinburgh EH16 5DA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Kilmaurs Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmaurs Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Kilmaurs Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilmaurs Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.