We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will go back again, and again, and again...!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mortonhall Caravan and Camping Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mortonhall Caravan and Camping Park
Save
You added Mortonhall Caravan and Camping Park to your Saves list
38 Mortonhall Gate, Frogston Rd, Edinburgh EH16 6TJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I will go back again, and again, and again...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Wonderful place to stay, friendly and clean, you can use public transportation to get to down town area which is in between 10 minutes. I went with my family and honestly, I will go back! 100% recommended!

Room Tip: nice spots for camping
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    54
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
53
44
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here in our campervan for a weekend in Edinburgh. Great facilities, regular buses to city centre and taxi only £13. Lovely staff; upon check in a very helpful receptionist noticed my 7 month baby bump (hard not to really!) and upgraded us to a hard standing site near the toilets for free! Homely on site pub with scrummy food and great atmosphere! All in all, a lovely stay and would def recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We (2 people) stayed here for 3 nights during the Fringe festival. The campsite is very easy to find from the Edinburgh bypass.

Check- in was simple although the receptionist wasn't overly welcoming. We had a good pitch (F246) near toilets and showers which are spotless!

The bus service is on main road at the bottom of the campsite driveway, a 5 min walk.
There is a local bus parked at the bottom of the driveway between 8am-2pm that sells bus fares and gives info which is very handy.

To get in to the city centre, cross the road and take the 11- Hyvots bank. It's about 25 min during daytime as its busy and about 15min return in the evening.

Overall a great campsite in a great location. We will be back!!.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawick
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

fantastic, pretty, interesting site, well laid out, great facilities, lovely busy bar/restaurant with v good staff as are the very helpful staff on reception.
been 3 times to mortonhall in campervan and each visit has been really great fun even in the rain.
I love that site is so rural and quiet despite its size and also the flipside is that you can be in city centre in 20mins - fantastic for bored teenagers. love the cosmopolitan feel to the site, havent found that anywhere else.

Room Tip: been to 3 different pitches, all fab but the hard-standing pitch meant that i didnt sink into the mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed here with my family on the weekend and we had a good stay ! We phoned the site to book because we where told that it was busy by some one who had just come from there and we was shocked to find out it was fully booked an the only pitch we could get was in the bus park, this was a shock because our last visits we where told that only 50% of the site can be booked and the rest is on a first come first serve basis!!!! But we took the pitch and it turned out to be ok and we enjoyed our time in Edinburgh and next year we will be booking up early !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great campsite with lots of different cultures. It is clean, simple and has great facilities. The pub is good and it even has a TV room. Great for travellers to Edinburgh as just outside the campsite there are loads of bus stops. Id highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

First time camping so only went for two nights and decided on Mortonhall due to it's previous good reviews and location.

The camp itself is big and clean and everyone respected the rules which is always nice to see, the on site bar is nice enough although the shop very expensive, it's a captive audience I know but it was nearly ten quid for a bottle of four pound wine and 75p for a 500ml of milk so only go to the shop if you need too.

Nice and clean and warm showers and the toilets were clean too so they must get a regular clean as the place was rammed.

My only beef was we had asked to hire an electric hook up and they said they didn't have any when we arrived, they didn't mention that they sold them so we ended up on a needless 45 minute round trip to get one, most of the staff seem seasonal workers so maybe a little bit impersonal but I'm not really moaning as it was a cracking couple of days.

Oh and the kids play area was pretty good too, had to drag my daughter away from it both nights!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mortonhall Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortonhall Caravan and Camping Park

Address: 38 Mortonhall Gate, Frogston Rd, Edinburgh EH16 6TJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the south side of the city and set within a 200 acre country estate lies the beautifully maintained camping and caravan park. Our Thistle award Caravan Holiday Homes accommodate up to 8 people(easy access van available)whilst our new Wigwams, which can accommodate up to 5 people, offer camping in style. Tourers and campers always welcome with various pitch options available. Very accessible to the city centre and all Edinburgh's attractions and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mortonhall Caravan And Camping Park Hotel Edinburgh
Mortonhall Caravan And Camping Park Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mortonhall Caravan and Camping Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.