We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful, clean, and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alba House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alba House to your Saves list
Alba House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   29 Craigmillar Park, Edinburgh EH 16 5PE, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Norco, California
1 review
“Delightful, clean, and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

The breakfast was outstanding and the hostess was very personable and helpful. The room was clean, complete, and modestly decorated. The location is right on 6 of Edinburgh's main bus routes that connect to anywhere in the city - at 3 pounds for an all day bus pass you can tour, meander, and shop and return within minutes to Alba House with ease. We truly enjoyed our stay with Alba House.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
67
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheringham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

As we run a B & B we were really struggling to find somewhere that ticked all the boxes - Alba House certainly does that and more!! It is a great place to stay for easy access into the City, rooms are spacious and really well equipped. The breakfast was superb and we were made to feel very welcome! It also has it's own parking which was brilliant as some B & B's we looked at said they had parking and when we checked it was on street with parking meters! We can thoroughly recommend this B & B!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Stayed for a weekend with my wife and with friends, all celebrating wedding anniversaries.

The Alba is a handsome Victorian building, sympathetically converted to B&B use, a little way from Edinburgh town centre but well-served by public transport (many buses, a 5 min journey). Car parking (free) couldn't be handier, on the property right at the front door.

We were met by Cath, the owner, on our arrival. She is extremely friendly and helpful, and took time to show us around the guesthouse and our room, explain the bus services into town and even provide us with maps of the town centre.

Both ours and our friends' rooms were individually decorated to a high standard and in sympathy with the building. The beds in particular were top quality and very comfortable indeed. bathrooms were spotless, with flannels and miniature toiletries provided, which pleasantly surprised me at this price.

The inclusive breakfast is provided between 8 - 9am (earlier by arrangement), with a choice of a good hearty Scottish fry-up (well, grill-up) or eggs scrambled or poached. pasties, croissants, juice and cereals are also provided. The breakfast room is quite in keeping with the grand nature of the building and very well-appointed. Perhaps a radio in the background to alleviate the silence would have been appreciated, but this is being nitpicky.

Edinburgh is not a cheap place to stay, so £80 per room per night is very good value, espcially in light of the quality and friendliness of the experience. If we return to Edinbugh this will certainly be our first choice to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at this B&B, our host Cath was so warm and welcoming, and very helpful with tips in getting around and what to see. Food was great, room was gorgeous, the place is beautifully decorated. Would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

The location is within a pleasant walk to the university. The beds very comfortable and the breakfast delicious. I cannot recommend Alba House highly enough. Will definitely be booking here again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

I was staying with my parents and my sister, and while we were expecting average bedroom size and service, Alba house surprised us with a very warm and cosy feeling. We booked to stay at the 'family suite' which turned out to be a nice little cottage at the back of the guest house. So we had the whole cottage on our own with a well-equipped kitchen, bathroom and lounge, plus a nice back garden view. The kitchen was a bonus as we got to use the washing machine and a break from expensive dinning-out. We sure did make ourselves home! The weather was not very good the four days we were in Edinburgh and I remembered when I was soaked in the centre the only thing I wanted to do was to lie on the couch in the cottage! Very comfortable stay.

Cath the hostess was extremely helpful, she even got the bus numbers printed on the business card which was very convenient. Alba is located in a quiet area away from the centre but with very good bus service which takes you to Royal Mile in 10 mins. Cath was also very helpful in finding directions of places in the centre. Amongst the four days there was one morning we had to leave early and Cath was very kind to arrange breakfast for us outside of normal serving time.

There is also a small shopping centre with a big Sainsbury and there's where we got our dinner sorted. Staying in the cottage in Alba house is almost like staying in a apartment with privacy but you also get cooked breakfast and lovely service from the hostess. Definitely a bargain! And we love Rock and Jack the lovely dogs!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

We stayed in the 'city centre apartment' and were very pleasantly surprised by how nice it was. It is well furnished and well-equipped and despite having a kitchen, we were invited to have breakfast in the guest house, which was lovely. The bedrooms didn't have views as they looked out onto the back of the main buiding, but the beds were clean and comfortable and it was quiet.

Alba House is located on a main road (but noise is not a problem) with a direct route into the centre centre if driving and there are also buses. We didn't have too far to go to get to Holyrood House and the Royal Mile.

All in all, it was a very enjoyable stay with the best of both worlds - self-catering with the guest house right next door if needed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alba House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba House

Address: 29 Craigmillar Park, Edinburgh EH 16 5PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alba House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alba House is a beautiful detached listed Victorian Villa, situated in the Craigmillar Park Conservation area of Edinburgh. We offer comfortable, great value bed and breakfast. Alba House is a ten minute bus ride south of city centre and close to Edinburgh University and Einburgh Royal Infirmary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alba House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alba House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.