We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm friendly guest house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aynetree Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aynetree Guest House to your Saves list
Aynetree Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   12 Duddingston Crescent | Milton Road, Edinburgh EH15 3AS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A warm friendly guest house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 2 nights then we went traveling for one day and came back again for another 2 nights. So we stayed in 2 different rooms whch were both equally nice. The first room was a petite double with a shower; the room was very clean and was well stocked with useful things for your stay. The second room was bigger with a private bathroom across the hall which you have your own key for. The bathroom had a bath with a handheld shower; again very clean. We were served a full Scottish breakfast which included porridge, haggis and black pudding if you wanted! The atmosphere in the breakfast room and the whole guest house was very warm and friendly and the service excellent. The people were very friendly and helpful especally if we had any touristy questions. The guest house is a 15 minute bus ride to the city centre and the bus stop is literaly just outside the house. They run all night and are very regular so it didn't create any problems. We drove to Scotland and found it was one of the very few guest houses that had parking which was very useful. I would definately stay here again as it was probably the best guest house I've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    50
    21
    11
    5
See reviews for
38
92
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PAris
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

I travelled with my friend to this guest house in mid april and im happy to go in that place, Beautiful place confortable and very clean room and excellent services.
The thing we didnt like its not so easy to find and the location for the center of edinbourg is far, about 15 mn in bus.
I recomended this place beautiful and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALTA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

We spent 5 nights at Aynetree guesthouse and had a lovely time. Brian and Anne are great hosts and helped us out in every way. The house is spectacular and so is their hospitality. Breakfast was very good and we were given the privacy we deisred. We definetly recommend it to anyone visiting Edinburgh.
James and Chrissy

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed it so very much!

Brian and Anne were so very kind and accommodating! My friend has a gluten allergy, and our hosts were good about caring for him in that regard.
Also, we had some unexpected travel changes which altered our schedule enough that we arrived very late, and again, Brian and Anne were gracious and helpful. Brian gave us directions and advice that made our stay and visit in Edinburgh SO much easier and saved us lots of time. He even showed us extra sites on the city map that we didn't know about and we loved the extra bonus visits!

I'd recommend this place every time!
Brian & Angel

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

Thankyou Anne and Brian for an enjoyable stay. We were made to feel very welcome and given good information which helped make our trip easier. Nice room, excellent breakfast, good bus links into town and easy to find if driving in.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

A lovely guesthouse! Very clean, comfortable and well decorated. Charming room. Complementary parking, in addition to convenient bus service to/from the historic city center. Anne and Brian are delightful. Both so helpful, and each with a wonderful sense of humor. They make one feel welcome. Delicious breakfasts were preceded with a cheerful morning greeting. Anne and Brian are so gracious that one feels comfortable in asking for advice, directions, or just engaging in a bit of friendly chit-chat. A guest is felt valued, and that is greatly appreciated. Thank you so much for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

We had a good time in this Guesthouse. Brian was very kind and helpful. The room was pretty and very clean. The breakfest is great!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aynetree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aynetree Guest House

Address: 12 Duddingston Crescent | Milton Road, Edinburgh EH15 3AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aynetree Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Victorian detached guest house, with private parking for 6 cars, situated near the city centre. 5 fully equipped en-suite bedrooms except one which has a private large bathroom all modernized and refurbished in June 2006 to a high standard. The dining room has a coal fire which is used during chilly nights. Although central to all attractions including Arthur's Seat and the Palace of Holyrood; the house is peaceful, quiet and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aynetree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aynetree Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aynetree Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.