We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets all expectations and more- run by a really friendly, helpful couple.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ayden Guest House

The Ayden Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ayden Guest House
Save
You added The Ayden Guest House to your Saves list
70, Pilrig Street | EH6 5AS, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
1 review
“Meets all expectations and more- run by a really friendly, helpful couple.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011 via mobile

I never usually write reviews but felt this place deserved one. We stayed 2 nights in a comfortable clean, spacious room with a modern bathroom. Good attention to detail, with room cleaned when we were out and Restocked toiletries and biscuits and tea. Breakfast was delicious, especially the veggy haggis, fresh coffee and poached eggs- set in a beautiful Victorian living room.
David and Anita were really welcoming and helped us out with restaurant choices and planning our days. They even gave us a new duvet when we found we were a bit hot!
Will definitely return here one day.

Peter and Sara-jane

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
47
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights at the Ayden at the end of October 2011. Its a 15-20 minute walk from the city centre. We are a gay couple and were made very welcome by David and Anita.who were perfect hosts.
The room we had was large, spotlessly clean and pleasantly decorated. It had tea, coffee making facilities with very nice biscuits. We are vegetarian and had a good choice of breakfasts. We tried vegetarian haggis, which was very nice. There was also a choice of eggs, fried, scrambled or poached.
Edinburgh is a very picturesque city. Plenty to see and do. We walked up Arthurs Seat, which has fantastic views of the city when you reach the top. We also went on a day trip to Loch Ness. Anita provided us with a packed breakfast as we had an early start. The trip to Loch Ness and Glencoe had great views and was very beautiful but the drive back was very tiring.
We had a fantastic time at the Ayden and would highly recommend this guest house to visitors to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We have stayed here twice now in order to visit the Jazz Festival in Edinburgh. Anita and David are excellent hosts and the guest house is immaculately clean. Breakfasts are freshly prepared and delicious. Parking is free in Pilrig Street and it is easy to leave your car and walk into town. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Just ask the advice of the owners! Both rooms we have stayed in have been fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Lovely big spacious room and comfy bed. Everything very clean with lovely modern furnishings. Breakfast also good, my husband has the cooked breakfast which he enjoyed and I had the fresh fruit with yogurt and honey which was delicious. Lovely place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We had an excellent visit to Edinburgh and stayed at the Ayden Guest House.
Anita and David were really wonderful hosts and the room was clean and spacious.
Everything in the room -bedding, furniture etc seemed brand new.
Breakfast was delicious every morning.
Anita was very helpful in explaining how to take the bus shuttle from the airport to the center of town.

Room Tip: Location is very good and convenient to several bus lines if you need to get farther across town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at the Ayden for the bank holiday in May. It was our first time in Edinburgh so we wanted a convenient base to explore the city. From booking onwards, Anita and David could not have done more to help us, responding promptly to emails, making sure we knew exactly how to get there from the airport, giving us info about local attractions and routes into town. The room we were in was absolutely immaculate, and huge - a real home from home (well, better than my home actually). The breakfast is included in the room rate and was delicious...served with a smile and some humourous anecdotes from David. We even requested extras for the breakfast which Anita went and bought in especially. I would really recommend this guest house, it's location is a 15-20 min walk from the Mile so close enough to be convenient but far away enough to provide a secluded retreat. I have recommended it to several friends since, and wouldn't hesitate to go back there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The house is very nice, the room very confortable and the bed superb! Just stayed one night due to lack of availiability in other B&B where I stayed the first two nights.
It is very clean, nice rooms, with beautiful courtins and linnens.
Anita, the host was very kind and prepared a nice breakfast.
I wish I had more time to spend here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ayden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayden Guest House

Address: 70, Pilrig Street | EH6 5AS, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Ayden Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ayden Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.