We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A genuine class act.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ayden Guest House

The Ayden Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ayden Guest House
Save
You added The Ayden Guest House to your Saves list
70, Pilrig Street | EH6 5AS, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Barnsley
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A genuine class act.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

My partner and I recently stayed at the Ayden Guest House for 4 nights during our visit to Edinburgh. Having looked at a lot of hotels in the Edinburgh area we were shocked to discover just how much they were compared to even places like London and Manchester and therefore opted to stay in a guest house as a more reasonably priced alternative. We certainly don't regret that decision having just arrived home.

The Ayden is fantastically convenient for public transport links to get into Edinburgh centre or to the Ocean Terminal shopping mall. For those driving there appears to be free on street parking too which is at a premium in the town. From the front door to the bedroom doors the decor is tasteful and the ambience is peaceful. David and Anita couldn't do enough for us as guests, myself turning up with an injury sustained after booking and my partner being lactose intolerant. Nothing was too much trouble including the offer of alternative rooms, extra pillows, storage of the lactose free milk and a genuine smile and good nature in offering them all.

The room we had was at the very top of the house and was quiet considering the road that runs outside. The bed was soft with excellent quality linen, the tea tray loaded with various teas, coffees, biscuits and mints, the bathroom stocked with a generious array of toiletries with flannels and even cotton wool balls provided - all touches that you'd be lucky to get in some of the nicer hotels in the town centre charging twice their nightly rate. Breakfast is taken in the dining room which just as it appears on their website and the classical music that plays whilst you eat is very relaxing indeed. Good quality products seem to be the order of the day. Premium branded cereals, excellent coffee and a freshly cooked breakfast were a fine way to start each day of exploring.

Having had questionable experiences in the past with guest houses I can say that our stay at the Ayden has renewed a lot of my damaged faith in staying in them. On a side note I would like to state that such glowing reviews are pretty tough to get out of me. I'm not praising this place out of anything other than genuine enjoyment especially considering the fact that I have no desire to visit Edinburgh ever again - it's not a city I enjoyed at all. I would however recommend The Ayden in a heartbeat to anyone who was headed that way, especially gay couples like ourselves who all too often find themselves unwelcome outside the big chain hotels.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
47
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in mid June 2011. The B&B is well located with a bus stop directly outside the front door with regular buses in and out of the city, though it would only take about 15 - 20 minutes to walk to the top of Princess Street. The house itself is very attractive and our room was very big and comfortable with nice bed linen and an immaculately clean bathroom. David and Anita were friendly and very helpful, taking the time to write down names and numbers for suggested restaurants and bars. Good value for money and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engadin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Ayden bed and Breakfast is a perfect location to explore the scottish capital. From Princess Street you can catch a bus Nr 11 and get a ride almost to the front door. If you want to explore the Town by foot you get to the princess street within 15 min easy walking and to the old town within 20 min.
The rooms are bright and have big windows. Although the bus stops in fornt of the house is is quite. Our room was very tidy and very nice furnished. For breakfast the guest can choose a menue beside cereals and toast.
The hosts are very friendly and helpful. They borrowed us their tour guide for our trip to the Isle of Skye.
The Ayden Guesthouse will be our choice for the next trip to Scottland.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for the Edinburgh marathon. I can not fault this B&B in anyway. The service was exceptional, we stayed in the family room (as we booked so early) and it was amazing! The breakfast was superb, they even sourced my partners special Pre marathon breakfast which was completely off menu. We're staying here again this May and didn't even consider any other B&B's. We have already recommended this to my brother who also loved it as much as us!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Stayed here for one night on a business trip, what a lovely hotel! The rooms were beautiful, the beds extremely comfortable and the owners friendly and helpful. The city centre is only a 15 minute walk away. There is also on-street parking, which is sometimes difficult to find in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Ayden early in October. It is a really great, well maintained B&B.
We were pleasantly surprised by the large, beautifully decorated room and spacious bathroom, both very clean. Shower was excellent! The bed was comfortable and a couch near the window where you could relax with a cup of coffee was welcome. The room had a courtesy tray with tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits etc.
Anita is a lovely host. She is friendly and helpful and makes a very good breakfast!
The bus to the city stops right in front of the house.
We can definitely recommend this guest house.
Thank you Anita

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We were in Edinburgh for 3 nights and enjoyed a very pleasant stay at the ayden guest house. being 6 of us, we had a large family room and a double room. The rooms were clean and well kept. The guest house was well located with the bus stop to the city centre right outside. The hosts Anita and David were very helpful and hospitable. the breakfast variety was great and served well. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ayden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayden Guest House

Address: 70, Pilrig Street | EH6 5AS, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Ayden Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ayden Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.