We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tigerlily

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tigerlily to your Saves list
Tigerlily
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland (New Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I had booked a room for one nights stay as an anniversary present for my girlfriend, we came from newcastle and the minute we arrived the whole stay was absolutely amazing! The staff are extremely friendly, helpful and very attentive. The room we stayed in was the Black Room, and both myself and my girlfriend agreed that the photos do not do this room justice at all, both the room and bathroom are very spacious! I booked the love package as an extra treat and it was definitely worth it to see the look on my girlfriends face! We only had two cocktails in the bar but again really friendly staff and the drinks and atmosphere was brilliant! We didn't dine in the restaurant but sampled some fries to the room for room service and had breakfast in bed the next day, both perfect! From start to finish the stay was perfect, we will definitely return and if I remembered the names of staff I would name them but they all deserve recognition!! Perfect!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    189
    65
    22
    10
See reviews for
57
565
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Meath
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at the tigerlily for two nights and it was a lovely hotel. The food and service were brilliant as we're the gorgeous cocktails we enjoyed in the bar. The only downside was that the hotel does not provide any parking so you either have to pay for street park or park overnight in a car park down the road and it can be pretty pricey! Apart from this we had a wonderful stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

basically once you step in through the door you can stay in the whole day: restaurant, bar, hotel - it has everything you need, in a very stylish decor.
The room we had was gorgeous, a lot of attention to details was brought, amenities included little things you appreciate when travelling; white company toiletries, hair dryer and straightener, slippers...
The bed was very plush and comfortable, the ipod dock and tv are a great atmosphere plus.
Overall, great for a romantic couple stay. They even have turnaround service.
The only negative note was the wifi which was very slow during rush hour.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

After this hotel being recommended many a time by my work colleagues, I finally booked Tigerlily through itison. My boyfriend and I stayed for one night on the 8th of November. Upon arrival we were informed that we had a complimentary upgrade to a luxury room which we were obviously delighted with, especially with it being our first time staying at the hotel.

The service at the reception was brilliant from the start to the end of our stay, everyone is so helpful and friendly. As soon as you walk in, you can't stop looking all around you, the decor is so unique and is absolutely beautiful.

We got shown to our room and the luggage also got taken up for us. The room that we stayed in was absolutely lovely: huge bed, small dining table, 2 sofas with a coffee table, nice big TV, dvd player, iPod dock with ipod, a mini bar with an AMAZING selection, wardrobe, ironing board with iron, GHD hair straighteners and a hairdryer, a huge bathroom with a massive walk-in shower. We literally couldn't fault anything with this room.

For dinner, we had a three-course meal each and again everything was absolutely amazing. The food was delicious and arrived to our table quickly, the service was brilliant and the cocktails were great - the selection of cocktails was huge.

The only problem with this hotel (and it isn't even a big one) is that it doesn't have a car park. Outside there is spaces for parking and you have to pay at the meter per hour but from 6.30pm at night through to 8.30am, the parking is free. Make sure in the morning that you are out sharp to pay again as the traffic wardens always seem to be roaming around trying to catch people out.

The location of this hotel is ideal for a weekend away shopping and the local tourist attractions aren't far away either.

Overall, this has got to be one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed in, it is literally faultless. I highly recommend a stay at this hotel - we wish we could have stayed longer!

Tigerlily do great deals on certain rooms all year round including meals, breakfast, cocktails etc. Keep your eyes peeled and you can get a great deal!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed 29th October to 1st November on the DBB offer to celebrate my daughters birthday. It was chosen as a treat and we were not disappointed. Initially I booked dinner for the first night only anticipating exploring other restaurants in Edinburgh. However, an email suggested we booked a table each evening and cancelled if we wanted to. We were so pleased we did as the weather deteriorated late afternoon every day and venturing out would have been horrible. There was plenty of choice on the menu and the food was delicious - we mixed and matched the different menus to suit with no objections at all. The complimentary cocktail was interesting but enjoyable. On the second evening the barman suggested a change which we tried but went back to the original on the third evening. Excellent breakfasts were served in the bar/restaurant with effective lighting adjustments?
The room was spacious with great decor. Loved the little turn down touch of sheepskin rugs on the wood floor. I share the minor criticism of the lighting system and add one other, also minor, - lack of drawers.
Staff were all fantastic - friendly, attentive and helpful without being intrusive. It felt that nothing was too much trouble. A waiter at breakfast noticing we were looking at a map of Edinburgh volunteered helpful and enthusiastic suggestions.
We heard no noise from the night club at all, in fact we had to ask where it was as we were intrigued.
We thoroughly enjoyed our special stay and I have no hesitation in recommending the Tigerlilly. The strong point, apart from the wonderful decor, is most definitely the staff - full marks to selectors and trainers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed one night in tigerlilly on bonfire night , I had read reviews about the club so i emailed first thing before arrival and got a reply pretty much instantly to say i had been allocated a room on the top floor , The rooms are stunning ! beautiful furniture and bedding , Huge bathroom and lots of little extras . The staff where all pleasant and i had one of the best mojitos ever in the bar . The location is excellent with many bars and restaurants , Within 5 mins from princes st and a short walk to the mainline station . Great for a little luxury break , Highly recommended .

Room Tip: The top floor rooms are the better to avoid the noise and are more superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

On arrival, the welcome at reception was excellent and first impressions fully met our expectations. What exceeded our expectations was the unexpected chilled sparkling wine & chocolates waiting for us in the room (thank you Jodi for resolving the confusion over our reservation). The room and en-suite were very spacious. Nice touches like fresh fruit each day and a small jug of milk in the fridge to go with the filter coffee added to the effect. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was very peaceful. We were also very impressed with the service and quality of the breakfasts which were a great start to the day. We would unhesitatingly recommend Tigerlily and look forward to staying there again in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tigerlily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily

Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tigerlily reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh
Tigerlily Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tigerlily, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.