We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Edinburgh!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tigerlily

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tigerlily to your Saves list
Tigerlily
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland (New Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Edinburgh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

From the second we walked through the door we were impressed!! We were greeted very warmly by the bubbley blond hostess (Jules I think her name was) who offered to help us with our bags and showed us to reception. We were shown to our room by another very friendly member of staff who was more than happy to help. The decor of the hotel is very modern and the whole place is immaculate. All the staff were smiley and happy to be there and were well presented. The rooms are spacious and the beds are wonderful!!! We had the continental breakfast which consisted of, brie, smoked applewood cheese, dry cured ham, parma ham, slice of granary toast, pain au chocolate, croissant, marmalade, jam, tea/coffee/any fruit juice - which was all delicious although the only negative I have about the hotel is that the service was slow at breakfast. The location is fantastic for shopping and it's only a short 10 minute walk to the center. There are loads of bars and restaurants around the hotel too if you fancy a night out. I will definitely be back soon!!! This place is perfect for older families and couples.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    189
    65
    22
    9
See reviews for
57
564
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Overall fantastic experience .. This place knows how to make any occasion special ... Service Fantastic ... Staff are so professional ... Nothing a problem for them ... Food here is excellent and fantastic range of spirits

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Vic
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stylish and buzzy hotel in the New Town, with very luxurious rooms and good food. Bar and restaurant alive with activity most of the weekend we were there, with a distinctly younger crowd than the residents in general. We had accidentally booked a 'love package' which provided room, breakfast, champagne and chocolates as well as a rose-petal strewn bed, and turned out to be good value as well as a source of amusement.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Tigerlily for 3 nights and loved everything about this boutique hotel!
It is in the new town area of Edinburgh but just a short walk to the Edinburgh Castle and all of the museums, etc in old town. It has a lovely restaurant and bar, both of which seem very popular and busy. There are also numerous interesting restaurants and pubs nearby. Best of all-the large and beautifully decorated rooms are extremely quiet and comfortable.
The hotel is a bit pricey but worth it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I stay at Tigerlily approximately 4 times a year. This time, on a Monday night.

What impressed me this time was the vibrant atmosphere in the restaurant and bar all day.

Great place to stay if you like boutique. Well done ...

I'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have much enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The modern, cosy and boutique interior offers lovely welcoming space. Loved the central location in the New town, short walk to the Edinburgh castle in the old part of the town. Love the seating around the bar, very cosy, great for a night out with friends or a romantic drink with your other half.
Staff very friendly and welcoming. I would definitely visit again and would highly recommend it to couples, solo or business traveller.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I booked a graduation lunch for ten people. The food was great and the menu had something for everyone. Our ages ranged from 17 to 85. The food, service and atmosphere was excellent and everyone had a great time. Some of our party were delayed by traffic in the centre of Edinburgh and our meal was late starting as a result of this. This was handled very smoothly and the whole experience added to what was already a lovely day. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tigerlily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily

Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tigerlily reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh
Tigerlily Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tigerlily, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.