We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tigerlily

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tigerlily to your Saves list
Tigerlily
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland (New Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Great Bar !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I can only review as a bar as we never stayed here. We visited two nights on the row. Great trendy place with different areas to both eat & drink. Expansive range of drinks. Great music & vibe. We loved it and recommend a drink (At least).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    189
    65
    22
    9
See reviews for
57
564
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Didn't realise this place even had a hotel - we visited the bar and restaurant on a Thursday evening on the recommendation of a taxi driver who took us into the centre of Edinburgh - we weren't disappointed.
You have to walk through the busy and noisy (with music) bar areas to get to the restaurant which was separated by a corridor and hanging bead wall - you can still hear the bustle and music of the bar but not enough to ruin conversation. The restaurant was nicely decorated in a stylishly modern theme creating a nice ambience.
The drinks menu was extensive but a little pricey - good quality beers and wines though and the cocktails were delicious.
The food was also a little pricey but the quality was worth it. We were given olives and bread to nibble on (free of charge) whilst waiting for our starters - the restaurant and bar were really busy so they took a little time to arrive but it wasn't a big issue. When they did arrive they were nicely presented and very decent portion sizes. I ordered mussels and I almost didn't finish them there were so many! I also ordered some oysters as a treat and they were really good quality though a little small for what we paid for them. The main meals were similarly good portion sizes although I felt that the pork I ordered was a little overcooked and a bit on the tough side. I didn't mind too much as I was already stuffed with the starter/s and I felt it was also forgivable given that the restaurant and bar were so busy - I'm sure it was a one off.
As I've already said - the restaurant and bar were very busy and the staff were expected to work both, no mean feat and they were rushed off thei feet but remained very professional and friendly throughout. I would eat here again and would recommend it to anyone visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had a fantastic stay here for 2 nights with my girlfriend just before Christmas.

- Clean and spacious rooms with great large bathroom and rain shower - even comes with an ipod and dock playing Robbie Williams (nice idea, poor execution;)
- Ideally located for getting around central Edinburgh and close to the old town too
- Brilliant breakfast included in the rate and very friendly service
- Not cheap at over £200 a night but no problem as my girlfriends work paid one of the two nights;) had I been paying both nights this review ight be quite different for a value for money calculation
- Lively bar in the evenings
- Courteous front of house staff without being mega friendly but I put that down to the place being crazily busy

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have a standard hotel that we use when in Edinburgh, but unfortunately it was full the weekend we were looking to stay. I've been to bar on a number of occasions and had heard very positive things about the hotel, so decided to give Tigerlily a try. We weren't disappointed.

We arrived at around 11pm on a Friday evening so were a little concerned check-in would be difficult given it's a busy bar. We were shown immediately to the desk by a member of the door staff through a dedicated door and the check-in itself was painless.

The hotel was pretty large by Edinburgh standards and well appointed (I particularly enjoyed the tv at the end of the bed and the well stocked mini bar). Very modern and nice little touches (iPod with music already loaded).

We had breakfast in the restaurant on the first morning (very good food, friendly quick and attentive service) and breakfast in the room on the second (at no extra charge).

A small quibble would be that you could hear music from the bar, but the bed was so comfortable that we fell straight asleep and had no real issues. I can imagine if you are travelling on business it may be a little off putting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend for our 1 year anniversary. We arrived at around 12 and were able to leave our bags and told we would be called when our room was ready. At around 2 the hotel phoned to say it was. We were shown to our junior suite which was simply beautiful!
The room was open, clean and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was also all of these things. As we had informed the hotel it was our anniversary there was a bottle of prosecco and a note wishing us a happy anniversary from the hotel in the room which was a lovely touch!
We had dinner in the hotels resteraunt and the food was delicious. The service was also wonderful.
Overall our stay could not have been better. The hotel is gorgeous and the service was fantastic. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

After hearing about how good this hotel was, we decided to book the hotel on a recent visit to Edinburgh. It didn't let us down, in fact it proved to be even more of a WOW experience than we had hoped for.
The room was stunning, the attention to luxury and detail is every where to be seen and you can't help but be impressed.
From the moment we arrived till we checked out the whole team at Tigerlily were first class and really added to the experience.
We ate in the restuarant and everything was very well presented and delicious!!! Especially the mushroom risotto we had as a starter.
Breakfast the next morning was just as good and as an extra touch we had it served in bed (at no extra charge).
We both left wanting to return and I'm sure we will before long!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed here over rugby weekend in early March. Had mini-suite which was great complete with its own fire. Fire not working on arrival but before we had even noticed recepion had called, apologised for this and offered us a bottle of complimentary champagne for inconvenience - which clearly we accepted! Loved room (although as others say lights a challenge). Ate in restaurant which was good and used both bars which had a good atmosphere whatever the time of day. Breakfast included in price of room and selection was very good although service could be a bit slow - more like carribean time than Edinburgh time but we were not in a hurry so no major issue. Well located on George Street - close to the sights but far enough away to be relaxing. Would definately stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tigerlily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily

Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tigerlily reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh
Tigerlily Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tigerlily, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.