We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tigerlily

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tigerlily to your Saves list
Tigerlily
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland (New Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Insch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

What an absolutely wonderful hotel. From the minute we walked in the door we knew that we were in a top quality establishment. All the staff were so helpful and friendly, we arrived early checked in and left our bags so we could have a wander around Edinburgh, came back and was taken up to our room by a charming young man who explained the light system and everything in the room. The room (33) had brilliant views over the Forth and into Fife, the windows were uplit with red led lights which looks fantastic. The biggest most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, 2 big easy chairs, a turn down service, amazing shower, our breakfast was delicious - none of the standard buffet stuff, it was definitely cooked to order, staff were so friendly, the wonderful cocktails... the list goes on.
Everything Tigerlily does, it does well, its perhaps not the cheapest hotel but its location, staff and luxury are well worth it. And when my other half comes back from Afghanistan again, we are going back there for another few days without a shadow of a doubt and i cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    214
    71
    24
    11
See reviews for
61
626
17
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here recently in 'The Black Room' and LOVED every second. The hotel for me has a classy and elegant feel with a touch of sassiness and romance thrown in for good measure - a true boutique hotel!! The Staff are incredibly accomodating, friendly and helpful - we wanted to book a restuarant locally and they took care of everything. We only had brunch and breakfast at the Hotel, but what we did have was superb. Location of the hotel is also ideal and you can walk anywhere.
We loved it so much Im going in January and cant wait!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Tigerlily is absolutely wonderful. This boutique hotel hasan old world Georgian charm with modern luxe theme. We splurged on the Georgian Mini Suite, and the room was outstanding. The bathroom was large with a great shower/tub, and the fixtures in the room were very nice. Robes and slippers are provided for the chilly hardwood floor, and the space of the Mini Suite was very refreshing in downtown Edinburgh.
The restaurant at the Tigerlily was just as great. I would highly recommend eating dinner there while staying at the hotel, even if it is a little pricey.
While we did not have a great view (courtyard) we did not feel enclosed. The location of the hotel is exactly where you want to be located, you can walk anywhere from the hotel including Edinburgh castle. The staff went above and beyond to help us, always friendly, and even included champagne in our room (since it was our honeymoon).
You will pay a little more to stay at the Tigerlily, but really it's a great value for what you get, and with the atmosphere and location, you can't beat it. I would love to stay here again the next time I find myself in Edinburgh, and I look forward to going back soon.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem amazing, for the extra room, consider upgrading to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltcoats
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Just stayed at Tigerlilly last night (14/01/13) on a voucher deal. Had a great time. The hotel is fantastic and has everything you require for a great stay. I have to reiterate what most people say in their reviews in that the service at the hotel is truly amazing, There was a slight hiccup with our booking not sure who was to blame, us or the hotel, but we were immediately upgraded to a deluxe room by the girl at reception ( sorry I didn't get your name) due to this, a really nice gesture.
Choice of food on the residents menu was really good, and we both had a wonderful meal. The mushroom risotto starter was incredible. Our waitress was lovely and the service in the restaurant was fantastic.
Breakfast was the same, service and food amazing.
Reception staff kindly let us leave our luggage after checking out, allowing us to do a bit of shopping before picking up our car a short distance away (Riego St £15 24hr stay) .
Hopefully we will return later in the year for another self indulent luxurious night.
Thanks to all the staff for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a deluxe room number 30 and it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellshill
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Booked this hotel through "Itison" so got it half price for one night to celebrate my birthday. From entering the hotel to leaving all the staff were terrific and couldn't do more for us. Although trying to park near the hotel was a nightmare it didn't spoil our night. Car Park was a 15 minute walk and it was freezing but didn't matter when we reached hotel as it was very welcoming. The room we had was beautiful with everything you could think of including hair straighteners. The food we had was delicious and we even had our breakfast served in our room at no extra cost. All in all a wonderful experience and made my birthday even better. Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

This was my 3rd stay at Tigerlily and I always enjoy the hotel, but this time it exceeded my expectations. I travelled with my mum for a 2 night stay. On arrival, we were thrilled to find they had upgraded us from a junior suite to the incredible Georgian suite. The suite blew us away! Absolutely beautiful and definitely the jewel in tigerlily's pink, sparkly crown. Everything from the 4 poster bed to the huge bathroom with free-standing tub was perfection. Infact, we loved our room so much that we cancelled our pre-theatre dinner on the saturday & had room service instead.
Our stay was made even more special by the staff. Every member of staff we encountered from turn down service to reception staff, were pleasant, helpful and enthusiastic. Nothing was too much trouble and they really go out of their way to ensure guests are looked after.
We arrived on a Friday and because we had theatre tickets for the Saturday night, we spent the Friday evening in Tigerlily bar & restaurant. The hotel staff were very helpful even before I arrived, making sure our tables were booked for us. We had a delicious dinner in the restaurant, the food was excellent and I'll review it sperately. Yes, if you eat late, it's noisy. But it really didnt bother us as we expected it. Tigerlily is a busy, vibrant place with a real buzz about it - the restaurant just reflects that. We also spent quite a few hours before dinner sampling the cocktail menu in one of the cosy booths, a great start to our stay.
A special mention goes to the fantastic Jeremy who was behind the bar on Friday night & looked after us so well we felt like we had our own personal cocktail waiter. He also remembered us on Saturday afternoon and recommended a cocktail that eased my hangover after a morning of shopping. A lovely guy who makes a mean margarita!
We had breakfast delivered to our room both mornings and it was delicious, it also arrived at exactly the time we had asked for.
I've already booked to return with my boyfriend in May & I certainly wouldnt stay anywhere else when visiting Edinburgh. If you are looking for luxury, glamour & fun book Tigerlily.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Organised Sunday Escape for my wife, including cocktails, and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience, from reception, bedroom, bar, dinning, through to breakfast the following morning in our room at the stated time. All the staff we young, attentive and very friendly. Would recommend this establishment to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tigerlily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily

Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Tigerlily reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh
Tigerlily Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tigerlily, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.