We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best ever hostess” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Victorian Town House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Victorian Town House to your Saves list
The Victorian Town House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   14 Eglinton Crescent, Edinburgh EH12 5DD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Castellonet
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best ever hostess”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

It's our first time in Edinburgh, a family of five and we got it absolutely right. Aileen is the best hostess I've ever come across.
To start with, the house is a spacious Victorian house within 10 minutes walk from Princess St., in a nice crescent. The rooms we occupied, were very clean and with plenty of space to feel like at home. The rooms had all the hospitality niceties (tea, coffee, chocolates and of course whisky). The rooms are decorated in style and elegance.

The breakfast is generous, with a wide selection of cereals, fruit, yogurts, juice, etc..., as well as a properly cooked Scottish breakfast, more than enough to keep you going for most of the day.

Aileen is an incredible hostess, always willing to have a good chat with you, and offering any information you may require to make your stay in Edinburgh a great experience.

I will come back for sure, and I will highly recommend The Victorian Town House to every visitor that wants to enjoy a great few days in Edinburgh with a fantastic accommodation.

Room Tip: The African room is very spacious and nicely decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
167
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We found the accommodations clean, spacious and cheerful. Breakfasts were delicious and filling. The hostess, Aileen is as nice a person as you could hope to meet. She was very helpful when we were having problems with our car rental documentation and allowed us to use her office to solve the problem. The location is only a 15 minute walk to the center of town where you can enjoy Edinburgh's cultural offerings. If you are making your first trip to Edinburgh you would do well to stay here for the good advice on things to do around town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Spent two nights at the Victorian and everything was just as others had said. Rooms were clean and well stocked. Aileen is fabulous - fantastic cook and hostess; helpful and pleasant! We felt completely at home. Location was perfect - within walking distance of everything we needed/wanted and very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Victorian Town House from June 20-22 and we were very pleased with the accommodation. Aileen is a charming hostess who made us feel very welcome. We arrived early after an international flight and she was okay with us dropping our luggage and freshening up before heading out to explore the city. The location of the B & B is very convenient to walk to main tourist points in the city. The room and ensuite bathroom were large and very comfortable. There was no issue with noise. The breakfast was excellent as was the conversation from other guests in the morning.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Aileen is just full on. Her warmth and chattiness and genuine interest in you, just makes it easy for you to connect with her. She has the most awesome scottish breakfast and a great carafe of whisky and chocolates in the room. The cleaning is regular and good. She gave us really good advice which made our trip just wonderful. Aileen is definitely on your side!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed 4 wonderful nights with warm welcoming victorian inn. Everything was great from the staff to the breakfast and the delightful hostess aileen. Really got our two week holiday off to a grand start. Quiet neighborhood with easy access to food pubs and all the sights.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We were 5 friends from Switzerland and had booked a week occupying all the 3 available rooms. We had our own entrance. The photos on the Website were exactly how we found the rooms - perfect and beautifully decorated. The carafes of Whisky and lovely chocolates were real treats. The breakfasts were the best we have ever had in a B & B. Aileen's Attention to Detail and to our Needs was wonderful. She always goes more than the extra mile to help and advise. We hit really awful weather but to arrive at the B & B wet through and to have a shower in the lovely bathrooms made life seem good again. I cannot recommend this address more highly.

Room Tip: The garden room is the warmest and most quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victorian Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Town House

Address: 14 Eglinton Crescent, Edinburgh EH12 5DD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victorian Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is situated on two floors with the guest rooms situated in the garden flat which has its own private entrance. Guests are provided with a key to enable the flexibility to come and go as they wish. There are 3 Bedrooms all with en suite facilities, a sofa, colour T.V. (with digital Freeview box) and are decorated to the highest standard. Other featuers include; radio alarm clock, hairdryer, hospitality tray with a selection of teas, coffee and biscuits. A small decanter of whisky and crystal glasses awaits your return from a hectic day so you can unwind before retiring to your extremely comfortable bed. The en suite shower rooms are very spacious and finished to a high standard with fresh fluffy white towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Victorian Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victorian Town House Hotel Edinburgh
The Victorian Town House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victorian Town House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.