We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality service, informative, comfortable, quiet location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lindsay Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lindsay Guest House to your Saves list
Lindsay Guest House
108 Polwarth Terrace, Edinburgh EH11 1NN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quality service, informative, comfortable, quiet location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay, The Owners were very polite and informative throughout. Our room was set in a Victorian style layout which was clean and comfortable, great shower.
We came to Edinburgh for a get away and would recommend Lindsay Guest house.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
88
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in late August during the festival, it's in a pretty ideal location - 25-30 mins walk into city centre, and a very straightforward route! The owners Pam and Keith are really nice and helpful if you need anything. Our room was gorgeous and we felt right at home. Loved every minute of my stay, would definitely come again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Auckland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Good place to stay,we booked to be handy for the Edinburgh Tattoo and the bus stop was right outside the guest house,very hospitable hosts, fantastic breakfasts. Keith was very helpful on advising bus times etc.
Room was a good size and parking on site was a plus for us.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed at the Lindsay Guest House for 2 nights during the Fringe Festival. The guest house is located in a very nice and quiet area with excellent access to running routes (canal) and short walk to bus stops which are a direct connection to the Royal Mile. Keith was very supportive and kind. Breakfast was lovely. I'll defititive come back next year for the Fringe and will book the Lindsay Guest House.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We found the Lindsay Guest House for the Fringe in 2012, and booked again for 2013.
The walk into town along the canal is a great start to the day (and the bus stops almost outside the door on the way back), and you can leave your car in the hotel car park -best place for it in Edinburgh.
The room was spacious, clean and quiet with comfortable beds and TV, free WiFi and Tea/coffeee etc.
Breakfast was excellent, and -as other reviewers have said-the owners are firendly and helpful.
Will probably be heading back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights early August 2013. We were greeted by Keith , he was extremely helpful and informative. He spent about 1/2 hour discussing routes and transport into the town centre and other amenities nearby. He then showed us to our room. It was spacious very clean and had tea/coffee making facilities, TV etc. There was a wide choice at Breakfast, which was very well cooked and presented. I would highly recommend it as a place to stay. It is just out of the town centre but easily reached by foot or public transport. My car never left the car park as there was no need. All in all a very friendly family run Guest House

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A good friend and I stayed at the Lindsay Guest House for 2 nights earlier in July during our weekend in Edinburgh. We could not have had a more wonderful time. The room was beautiful, clean, and spacious, with all necessary amenities. We had a gorgeous view of the canal, and actually walked the 20 minutes into town from the Guest House to have dinner in the city. It is also a very easy bus ride into town, and Pamela sat down and showed us exactly how to get to wherever we are going.

Pamela and Keith were amazing. They are such kind, well humored, generous hosts, and did everything they could to make our stay pleasant and comfortable. Breakfast was just incredible as well, filling and delicious. If I ever have the opportunity to return to Edinburgh, I will stay at the Lindsay Guest House again. It could not have been a more perfect experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lindsay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindsay Guest House

Address: 108 Polwarth Terrace, Edinburgh EH11 1NN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindsay Guest house is a red sandstone Victorian listed building of great character. Located in the highly desirable Merchiston area it is on an excellent bus route which takes 10 - 15 minutes to make the journey to the city centre. For the more energetic it is possible to walk along the Union canal to the city centre (approx 30 minutes). Car parking available. (No cost) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Lindsay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindsay Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindsay Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.