We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well rested and recharged.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh to your Saves list
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PF, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Well rested and recharged.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This gorgeous wee boutique Hotel in the heart of the city is a must for a special night.

We sadly only had one night, could've stayed forever.

We had the Berlin themed room which was very comfortable.

The check in time is strictly 3pm but was worth it as the room and bathroom was spotlessly clean. (They'll take your bags though.)

My wife being a bit petite found the bathroom mirror and shelves far too high as was the bed for my mini wife but maybe being the Berlin room they were expecting tall blonde folks. We'll book the Tokyo room for lady wife next time.

Staff are genuinely warm and friendly.

We dined in the restaurant which we have used many times before for lunch and dinner so have no complaints.

For some bizarre unexplained reason they dont have chicken breast on the menu ~ you're guess is as good as mine?

The breakfast was excellent but would have liked our Scottish favourite tattie scones!

Being very fussy with food standards I can assure you won't be disappointed.

Definitely going back and try a longer break.

Besides we usually visit the cosy wee bar and sit by fireplace when shopping in Edinburgh.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    130
    52
    29
    27
See reviews for
19
326
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just back from spending our 30th Wedding Anniversary at Le Monde. We wanted somewhere special for our stay in Edinburgh and this hotel certainly lived up to this.
We booked the Atlantis room which was amazing, with a fish tank behind the bed!
The whole stay was a pleasant experience, staff were friendly and helpful. In good position for visiting the sights, most things within walking distance. Would recommend to anyone looking for something different.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed at the Le Monde for 4 nights and enjoyed every night of our stay, we stayed in Milan, Paris and LA and all rooms were amazing. The staff were fantastic and very friendly and the rooms were spotless, and we liked the mood lighting and great themes in the rooms. We look forward to coming for our anniversary thank you to everyone at Le Monde.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Upon arrival , impressive friendly staff , very happy to help.Check in quick and easy. Room very clean, stayed in the Atlantis.room location was quiet and comfortable.Had dinner in the very busy bar, limited menu but enough to satisfy, washed down with plenty of cocktails. Overall a lovely time and would definitely visit agin

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed recently for our anniversary. reception staff brilliant. Stayed in "New York" room. Lovely big room, possibly not if you require a view from windows but that wasn't a concern of ours. Positioned very well for visiting Edinburgh Would definitely recommend and will use as our Edinburgh base when visiting again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we stayed at the hotel. The first time staying in a 'standard' room the rio. 1st stay was fantastic, room was great and quite spacious. This visit we decided to pay the extra and stay in one of the 'superior' rooms- the Dublin. The room actually appeared smaller than the rio despite the slight increase in price.the bathroom especially was smaller. Whilst clean and tidy the room could have benefited from a blackout blind and a proper kingsize bed ( bed was just two singles pushed together with a slight slope). The other guests on the same landing were quite noisy ( obv not within hotel control) and you could hear quite a bit through the walls. Could not fault service or the package we were able to get however very disappointed in the 'superior' room.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Fun and unusual hotel in a great place. We stayed in the Sydney room which we enjoyed a lot if you can avoid breaking your neck by falling in the sunken bath! Nice food, cocktails. No parking though and the nearest car park is at least 10 min walk away but that's fine as you won't need your car during the stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 16 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#39 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the 8th trendiest hotel in the UK, we are without a doubt the trendiest hotel on George Street, and one of only three to make the shortlist in Edinburgh. Wander through a unique odyssey of world class eating, drinking and dreaming... without even leaving Edinburgh. Our 18 individually designed rooms are inspired by some of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Monde Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Le Monde Hotel
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.