We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for tout Le Monde” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh to your Saves list
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PF, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
newcastle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great place for tout Le Monde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The young, friendly reception staff clearly recognises the importance of making a good first impression. On arrival, our bags were carried to The Beijing, leaving our hands free to carry the complimentary glasses of champagne.

Room 306 has an oriental theme with Chinoiserie furniture and an impressive dragon mural snaking its way along one wall. The mood lighting creates a certain ambience (if you're cleverer then me and able to figure out the preset 'scenes') and when you discover that the pull chord in the bathroom controls the switchable glass window above the bath, you'll also be able to watch TV whilst having a soak. Pour yourself a Hendrick's (£6) and tonic from the mini-bar - call reception for ice - and relax.

Le Monde's location is perfect. A five minute walk from Waverley station and right next door to the Dome - a must visit place to enjoy afternoon tea (or cocktails).

The hotel bar may not boast quite as much opulence as its neighbour but the informal atmosphere seems to attract a younger crowd of customers until the early hours of Sunday morning.

Breakfast, served in aforementioned bar, is delicious if not a little pricey at just under £10 for a 'full scottish' which doesn't include tea/coffee or toast. You could skip along the road to Weatherspoons for a cheaper alternative but it's doubtful whether they'd match the quality of Le Monde's sausages.

Definitely plan to return.

Room Tip: Room 306 has windows overlooking the rooftops therefore is quiet, although not the best for people w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    130
    53
    29
    27
See reviews for
19
327
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Perfect location in Edimburg, just side by side with The Dome and close to shops. Five minutes walk and you reach the Castle and touristic attractions. The service is really nice. Only problem is parking your car, they do not have a Parking and it's so very expensive to leave it close to hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are different and go by names of citys arround the world, we stayed at "Moscow"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Receptionist on arrival very welcoming, even helped us with our bags as struggling with the champagne you get when booking in.
On first impressions of the Tokyo room I thought it was nice..... One of the running curtains fell to the floor when I tried to close it. Sat on the sofa and the cushions really moved. I went into the huge impressive bathroom to be met with ? Pubic hair two in the bath, one in the shower and one in the sink well this doesn't happen in a clean bathroom at my home so don't expect to get that in a 4* hotel. I complained it was re-cleaned and a bottle of prosecco chilling and a sorry note beside it which was a nice gesture but I would have been happier with a clean bathroom on arrival.
Young guys on the bar very slow to serve.
Cooked breakfast was so-so not fresh produce from a butcher something you buy from a supermarket fridge.
Very expensive £560 for two nights but would have been worth it if standards had been higher, as the toiletries, mini bar, dressing gowns, and crisp white bed linen were nice.
Hotel lets down the lovely receptionists who booked us in and out, there a credit to the manager.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Booked a midweek 2 night stay recently. booked on the day over the phone and drove up.
When we got there, after mentioning it was a birthday present for my better half on the phone, they had upgraded us to a suite (the Sydney). It was awesome. Sunken bath, massive bed, cool atmospheric lighting. (The air con control panel is in amongst the long wall of pictures you'll never find it unless you ask!!!)
The room was exceptionally clean and well supplied with toiletries, towels, tea and coffee etc.

I think the biggest credit to this hotel is it's staff. These modern stylish hotels can be pretentious and starchy but not here. Every single member of staff was friendly, genuine and helpful and made our (now 3 night stay), even more amazing.
Breakfast is gorgeous at this place, but if you have the porridge, be prepared for the biggest bowl you'll ever have.
11/10. We'll be back without fail.

Room Tip: There is a nightclub in the basement and when it is on, you may hear it on the 1st and 2nd floors. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Visited the hotel for a one night overnight stay, booked in for dinner bed and breakfast staying in Atlantis at the cost of £265 (not a cheap night out). We arrived and were greeted by 2 very nice receptionists with complimentary champagne (a very nice touch).

1) When we went up to the room I went in to the bathroom to freshen up, on turning the taps above the sink on the wall they both fell off in my hand!!
2) On both the soap dispenser and the hand lotion bottles the pump did not work, I had to unscrew and pour into my hands!!!!!
3) Fish tank in room cloudy and dirty looking.
4) We fancied a cup of tea before heading out for a walk, kettle broke, had to call reception to get another sent up!!!!
5) After our walk went to the bar for a pre dinner drink, I was given a dirty wine glass that I sent back!!!!
6) My partner had booked for dinner in advance, this information clearly had not filtered from reception to the restaurant as it was obvious that there was no booking for us.
7) Menu!! If you fancy pub grub at your local Brewers Fayre you are in for a treat. Choices include Bangers & Mash, Beer Battered Fish & Chips, Steak Pie. I had Macaroni Cheese and my partner had a Burger. Hardly a menu for a (and I quote from their website) luxury boutique hotel!!!
8) We retired to the room later to discover that our, another quote (comfortable king size bed) was in fact 2 single beds shoved together with king size bedding on it!!!!
9) In the morning I ordered the Eggs Florentine for breakfast to be given hard poached eggs with an overpowering taste of vinegar.
10) When my partner finally managed to get hold of the Manager (3 days later!!) he was told that she apologised that we had not enjoyed our stay and if we ever chose to stay again she would give us some sort of discount, not very likely!!!!

Room Tip: Be aware if booking Atlantis that it looks bigger on the website than it really is, gotta love wide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

First stay at Le Monde. Absolutely fantastic experience - the food, drink and staff were excellent. The hotel and restaurant's relaxed atmosphere was just what we needed. The New York Suite was spacious, comfortable and just ooooozed class! Can't wait to book again x

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed here a couple of years ago and it was a different experience altogether. The room this time was not entirely clean and space was limited (Barcelona Room). The bed and linen were very comfortable but overall the facilities have been trimmed too far.
We made the (bad) decision to eat there at night - a nightmare - just don't! To finish on a plus - the reception staff were both very welcoming and friendly throughout.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 16 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#39 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the 8th trendiest hotel in the UK, we are without a doubt the trendiest hotel on George Street, and one of only three to make the shortlist in Edinburgh. Wander through a unique odyssey of world class eating, drinking and dreaming... without even leaving Edinburgh. Our 18 individually designed rooms are inspired by some of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Monde Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Le Monde Hotel
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.