We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value set menu.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh to your Saves list
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PF, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Kirkliston
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent value set menu.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I didn't stay in any of the rooms so can't comment on them. I ate here as part of a large hen party. We dined from a set menu which was priced at £30pp for 3 courses. The menu was fabulous, with a few different choices. The food was beautifully presented and very tasty. Staff were friendly and attentive, but relaxed at the same time, and seemed to enjoy their jobs. My friend and I had a champagne cocktail from the upstairs bar which was great! There was another hen party dining in the same area as us, so it got rather loud, but we were seated upstairs in a separate area away from the main bar downstairs, where I can imagine it might have been quite irritating for other drinkers/diners! All in all, a great evening with lovely food in very luxurious surroundings. Would recommend to anyone looking for a high-end dining/drinking experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain W, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. Our set menus are always a hit with larger groups and so glad to hear our staff looked after you all so well. Next time you join us why not contact our events team and try one of our cocktail masterclasses where you can join in the fun of making some for yourselves. Looking forward to welcoming you all back very soon.

Kind regards

Iain Whiteley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    130
    53
    29
    27
See reviews for
19
327
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the LA suite for 2 nights and loved it! Staff were very friendly. Great size of room, huge comfortable bed, 2 TVs, great lighting features, nice seating area, large dressing table & huge bath tub! Great location for getting to shops/restraunts. A bit pricey for the suite and nightmare to get parked outside hotel. Nearby car park is about 5 minutes walk away. We ordered wine & strawberries and it arrived within minutes. Only downside was the TV didnt work in the bath tub - receptionist advised this is due to be removed. Would definitely go back and stay again. Love each room resembling a different city!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain W, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments on L.A. and your recent stay. So glad to hear you had such a good experience and are intending to come back in the future. Being city center parking can be a little tricky outside the hotel but as you said there are plenty large car parks within 5 minutes walk from us, best to drop your bags off first and we can get them to your room to save you walking with them.

When you are looking to return to Le Monde if you contact our lovely reception staff, they will be more than happy to assist with the best available rates.

Kind regards

Iain Whiteley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Booked 2 nights over the weekend but was not impressed. We booked an executive room which was nothing special, very basic with only a standard double bed. For what we paid for the room it was very overpriced compared to other boutique hotels we've stayed. We requested a quiet room but still very noisy all night from people amalgamating outside and the crashing of glass bottles from bins emptying. Forget Breakfast, it is served in the bar, while the bar staff are clearing up and stocking up from the night before. You have to order everything from the orange juice to a slice of toast with everything individually priced. All in all, just not worth it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain W, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us, however I am sorry to hear you felt let down on this occasion with your visit. We take all feedback very seriously and strive to better ourselves from all comments.

All of our rooms are themed and are unique to a different city of the world so I am sorry to hear you felt it wasn't special. Being a small hotel with only 18 rooms, we have a more personal breakfast service and want to make sure you receive the freshest and best offering available. In turn, we feel our table waited service ensures you receive the best coffee and freshest food possible. Breakfast is available to add onto your room rate at a fixed price by contacting the hotel direct to avoid paying for individually priced items.

Once again I'd like to thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards

Iain Whiteley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Location is amazing, right next door to hard rock cafe, lots of lovely restaurants and shop, very central. Staff were lovely, and we got upgraded to the Atlantis room. The Atlantis room is beautiful and modern with a big comfy bed.

The only downside I can say about this hotel is that the fish tank in our room above our bed was really dirty, looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months! As we have tropical fish of our own at home. And also there was a TV in our bathroom beside the bath, and when we turned it on made a really loud fuzzy noise, which scared the life out of us! we phoned reception to let them know it wasn't working and they said they haven't been working since the digital switch over, as it is quite a big job to fix them, which it may be, but if your paying a lot of money to stay here you expect things to be working.

We didnt eat in the hotel, although the menu looked nice and a reasonable price. The hotel also offer dvds to watch in your room just ask for a list at reception. We got the airline bus to princes street for £12 return for 2 adults, and its 5 mins walk to the hotel. Also if your visiting the zoo you can get the number 26 bus from princes street on the Scott monument side and it will take about 20 mins, have the correct change for the bus £1.50 for an adult one way.

Overall I would defintely stay here again, and I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great value fixed price lunch with colleagues. Service great and food both quality and quantity were pleasantly and surprisingly good. All round good experience in a great location in very elegant surroundings

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed in the Atlantis room with the infamous fish tank and glow up wall. Yes , simply stunning room , spotless and modern. Rainfall shower, built in tv - what else do you need ? Dressing gowns and bedding immaculate and bed was exceedingly comfortable. On our first night we dined in the jazz bar, a guy was playing the piano, we had dinner and cocktails and it was a brilliant night. Later on we went down to Shanghai with our free passes and tab card we were given ( excellent touch). 2nd day We ordered room service and had to send it back as it was cold when it arrived but the girl was very pleasant and re-ordered for us. We also phoned down enquiring about the dvd choices and the girl brought us up a list. Very helpful. Watched a dvd in bed with dinner on our 2nd night, even phoning down again for dessert, absolutely bliss.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed Friday,5th April,for one night,had spent some time in Glasgow and decided to spend our last night at Le Monde. We decided to go on the stand by upgrade,when we checked in,we were told we had been upgraded to the Dublin room,which added £15.00 to the bill (fair price).We were full of expectations of being blown away!!! Ooh,what a disappointment! The room was small and dark,it had a tiny window,overlooking the roof tops at the rear of the building,fixtures and fittings were average,and an expensive mini bar,bathroom contemporary in style,with walk in shower,with t.v built in,(yippee! Not much use,with water battering your head). Breakfast not our scene either,a bit weird to me,to be eating breakfast in the bar! Everything had to be ordered,juice,coffee,cereal etc,just not user friendly at all. We think this hotel is geared more towards young people,with a very good disposable income. But not for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 16 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#39 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the 8th trendiest hotel in the UK, we are without a doubt the trendiest hotel on George Street, and one of only three to make the shortlist in Edinburgh. Wander through a unique odyssey of world class eating, drinking and dreaming... without even leaving Edinburgh. Our 18 individually designed rooms are inspired by some of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Monde Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Le Monde Hotel
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.