We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place just a bit too far away.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arden Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Arden Guest House to your Saves list
Arden Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   126 Old Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 4SD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #220 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice place just a bit too far away.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Arrived late but directed by the host as unsure which way to take the bus. Our host sorted us out with breakfast menu and our room. Nice and cosy room tea and coffee available. Good breakfast and only real complaint was lack of pressure in shower when turned up. Just a little too far from central Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    27
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
12
32
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had an unscheduled stop in Edinburgh and stayed at the Arden guest house we were welcomed despite the late check in The bedrooms and bathrooms are small but clean and comfortable. The young man in charge made us feel very welcome and was very supportive when we were un sure of our plans.(our mother had been admitted to hospital) they kept our room and luggage until we knew what was happening. Also the breakfast was excellent superb poached eggs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This accommodation was warm and welcoming, free from the noise typical in the city centre, but easily accessible via frequent buses just outside. The staff was kind and more than willing to help with questions, such as dining recommendations. The breakfast provided was likewise good. Bathrooms were slightly tight but not bothersome. Room was kept temperate and beds were comfortable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed at the Arden Guest House while visiting the Royal Infirmary for a short internship. Fantastic service, lovely breakfast, very warm welcome, I would definitely recommend this B&B and come back myself!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I booked this on the recommendation of a colleague. However, they meant the place next door!! This guest house, in summary was cold, unwelcoming, not very secure ( my window didn't close properly and was a downstairs room). I Booked a double room and I was put in a room with twin beds. I asked for a double and was told they were full. There was a vacancies sign in the window, and I saw one other guest in the b&b.
Breakfast was ok, but nothing special. I had to ask for milk to go with tea, and butter for the toast never arrived.
There was also rubbish left in my room from a previous guest, the heavy blankets (no duvet) on the bed didn't smell great, and no wifi.
Nobody asked if everything was ok when I checked out.
In all a pretty depressing place. I will certainly be staying at the really nice place next door in future.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arden_Management, Owner at Arden Guest House, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We understand that your expectations were not met since you thought you had booked yourself into the 4 star hotel next door, when in fact you had booked yourself into our 3 star bed and breakfast in error. Obviously a 4 star hotel provides a different experience (and price tag!) to our more affordable, value for money option. We have spoke to our on duty manager and it appears your booking was for a single room but you were put into a twin. You did ask to have a double when you arrived but unfortunately we were fully booked apart from one other twin (thus the vacancies sign still being on). Whilst we are sympathetic and always try and acommodate our guests where possible we feel providing a twin room for a single person booking (charged at a single rate) to be satisfactory. Our central heating is on a timer as most of our guests are out during the day. We do however have a supply of spare oil heaters which are passed out freely to any guest asking for heating during the day. Our central heating is timed to come on late afternoon and we have alot of guests commenting that they in fact find it too hot. Unfortunately you did not speak to any of our staff to give us a chance to rectify the situation. Our wifi is fully operational and the window in your room appeared to be in full working order when we checked it after your review. Thus we can unfortunately offer no further comment on these issues. Had you brought your queries to a staff member we would have been happy to show you how the window operated and how to log onto our wifi. Re breakfast and your room not being properly cleaned we would like to offer a sincere apology and say that we had a new housekeeper on that day who has only just completed her training. We will be addressing the issues you raised with her to ensure they do not happen again. Whilst we are grateful to you for bringing them to our attention we are disappointed that you did not bring them to the attention of anybody during your stay. The missing milk and butter could have been rectified very easily.
We get alot of compliments on our friendly staff (and our breakfasts) by our guests. Many of whom are repeat guests. Whilst we are genuinely disappointed that your stay was "really bad" we trust that the higher grade hotel next door (who books with us when they are full) is able to meet your high expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Whilst there was a very good breakfast the rooms are small and poorly decorated. This guest house is in desperate need of updating and staff are not always available. Paid £65 per room which frankly was not good value even though the cost is low compared to typical Edinburgh hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arden_Management, Manager at Arden Guest House, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Kevin S
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet with your approval.
Firstly we are glad you enjoyed your breakfast. In fact if you look back through our reviews we are complimented time and time again on our breakfast and our friendly staff.
We do acknowledge that some of our rooms are due for redecorating. This is simply due to the usual wear and tear after a very busy spring/summer/autumn. Unfortunately winter is the only time we can gain access to our rooms to redecorate them and we are in the process of doing this now.
I do want to point out to you that Arden is a guest house, not a hotel and as such does not provide 24 hour reception. However if you had spoke to management at breakfast or at your check-in we would have had no hesitation to move you to a room you were 100% happy with. With regard to value for money, may I point out that you booked a double room for 2 persons and paid the rate of £65 per night. Arden does in fact offer rooms for single occupancy for £45 per night in the winter including breakfast. We believe this is a good rate for the standard of service/accomodation we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed there for 3 nights last December and enjoyed it completely. Great connectivity to the centre of the city with a bus stop close by. The room I stayed in was rather small, but comfortable and well stocked. The hosts were very warm, helpful and welcoming. Breakfast provided was sumptuous and very well prepared. They have a beautiful dining room overlooking the garden. Specially loved their potato scones! I only wish we could stay there longer. Would love to go back again. Left in a hurry, with a train to catch..... so here is wishing the family that runs the place a very Happy New Year!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Guest House

Address: 126 Old Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 4SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arden Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arden Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.