We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dinner for two” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hermitage Bar

The Hermitage Bar
1-5 Comiston Road | Morningside, Edinburgh EH10 6AA, Scotland
+44 131 447 1205
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 1,982 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Family Fare, Gastropub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely dinner for two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We wandered in here on a weeknight after our our original choice of restaurant was fully booked. We were greeted at the door by a friendly bartender, who took us round the side to a table for 2 by the window, in a quiet section away from the main bar. Our waitress (who turned out to co-own the bar with the aforementioned bartender) was very friendly and served us good food that had been freshly cooked. We both had steak, which was cooked how we had asked and the chips were really hot and crisp, obviously made fresh. Drinks and food were reasonably priced and good value, the only thing preventing a 5 star review was a bit of a delay between our starters and main course. Overall a great pub/bar for dinner, would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HermitageBar, Manager at The Hermitage Bar, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
To team_tc

Thank you very much for leaving a review and for bringing the delay between courses to our attention. We would like to apologise for this and hope that it does not affect you returning to us again. We are really happy to hear that aside from this, you enjoyed your evening and the food was cooked to your liking.
All our food is locally sourced and cooked fresh on site, we even get our bread from the local bakery Adante, as we are at the heart of the community and believe this is key to maintaining that community essence.

Thank you once again and we really hope to see you again soon!

The Hermitage Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    18
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We called in to this bar after getting off bus from city centre, initially we were just calling in for a drink but ended up booking to eat there which we did 2 nights in a row. Staff very friendly and food very good, can strongly recommend their steak with blue cheese sauce and their lemon tart, both delicious! Staff very attentive and eager for feed back. Decor very nice, there are lovely sofas you can just relax on after a hard days shopping/work.

This bar is worth a visit so don't walk by it......call in!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HermitageBar, Manager at The Hermitage Bar, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Hi Andersons_10

Thanks so much for leaving such great feedback!
We're very lucky to be so central and just across the road from bus links into town, so we are happy to hear that that's how you stumbled across us and straight into our comfy couches!
Thank you for the food recommendations, we are also big fans of the blue cheese sauce!

We really hope to see you all again soon and thanks again for the kind words.

The Hermitage Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice local pub in Morningside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This seemed to be THE pub for this part of Morningside. We were there for two meals- a lunch and a dinner. We had the burgers and the steak pie. The cocktails were the cheapest I paid in Europe-4.50 pounds and the beer,cider and whiskey were 2.70 and had a great selection. The service is inconsistent. Depending on your server, your drinks arrived promptly or you had to chase them down at the bar. It's a nice place to while away an hour with bar stools, large leather couches or proper dining tables as your choice. The good was of good quality, especially for the price. There are few tourists, mostly locals.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“GOOD LOCAL RESTAURANT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

AS our local is closed for renovations, my wife and I and two good friends decided to meet at the Hermitage. Although we hadn't been there for several years we were delighted that the ambiance hadn't changed. There is still a good selection of beers and spirits and the wines suited out palates. Best of all was the meal. I had a fantastic burger made with real minced Scotch Beef topped with a Portobello mushroom. There was plenty of garnish (unlike Wotherspoon's who call a slither of tomato skin, one shred of onion and a bit of very dead lettuce 'garnish'). My wife had a fish risotto - again very fresh and a tribute to the buyer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycott, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere, great food, drinks and music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My partner and I came here when staying with family in morningside. The outside decor looks great and inside there are huge comfy sofas!

We came by for some cheap food late at night and didn't expect the fantastic meal we got. The gourmet burger selection is great - I had a scrumptious Italian Job burger and my partner the blt. Both arrived fresh off the grill with delicious, hot skin on fries.

Very good drink selection, they even did cocktails meaning we stayed late!

The staff are just so friendly. They could tell we weren't local and took the time to chat to us, asking where we've been and what we are up to. Johnny (I think) even let me choose a few songs on the hi if!

Although we were visitors you could tell this was a real local pub but everyone was lovely.

Pop in!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hermitage Bar also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Hermitage Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hermitage Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.