We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended, brilliant.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calton Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Calton Apartments to your Saves list
Calton Apartments
44 Annandale Street, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland (Broughton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Highly recommended, brilliant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Stayed here in September & found it great, yes there was some noise from the bus depot across the road, but I didn't find it overly bad. The twin bedroom was small, but it's a bedroom, we were there to sleep. Had great nights sleep. Everything was clean, shower was good. Was super good being a short walk from Princes St. Will be booking here again for sure. Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

As a group of 12, we rented 3 apartments over a long weekend. The booking process was efficient and the staff were very responsive to our pre-trip questions. Once we arrived, we checked in at a hotel about 10 minutes walk from the apartments and found the hotel staff helpful and friendly.

The location of the apartments is perfect. We walked into the city both evenings which took a very short time. There's a youth hostel about a block away that has public internet access and printing (which we used for boarding passes etc), and there are plenty local buses passing up and down the closest main road. There were shops close by so we could stock up on supplies (the supplies promised by the business were in place in all apartments when we arrived).

As far as I know, the apartments don't have a lift so we had to climb a couple of flights of stairs with our bags. It wasn't a problem for us, but other travellers should be aware.

I'd recommend these apartments to other travellers because of price, location, and service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

We stayed there in October and were very happy. The appartment was very clean and tidy,had plenty of room and was very well appointed. It was only a short walk into town or there was a local bus nearby. Even though there was a bus depot across the road we never heard the buses during the night. We had to collect the key from a nearby adress, but this was no big deal. We would stay there again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

Me and my girlfreind booked here through laterooms the night before we arrived. I wasn't too sure what to expect but when we arrived we found the apartments to be very spacious and able to sleep up to six people (not bad for £60). Okay, the apartments aren't 5 star luxury but inside you will find evrything you need to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The block is a 10 minute walk or 2 minute drive from the Abbey Hotel where the keys must be picked up. The free parking is a massive bonus. Slight negatives were the noise from the stairwell in the wee hours from a rowdy crowd upstairs and a bit of noise from workers outside the building in the morning but that is in no way the fault of the management team and can be expected in any city in the world! I would definately stay again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

I use these apartments several times per year when I have to stay in Edinburgh for work, and I am there again in a few weeks. But I have also used them to enjoy a family break in the past.
Great location on the edge of the city centre, and the walk to princess street IS 10 minutes if you know where you are going, despite comments in another review.
They are spacious, and clean, and allow the flexibilty of self catering if you prefer it. There is now a tesco express a few minutes away that makes it even more convenient.

I have not had chance to use the Wifi, so cannot comment on that.
I always have my car, so the distance between apartment and hotel to collect the keys is not an issue at all - just a few minutes drive, but easily walkable if necessary.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

We had a very bad experience with this property. When we arrive on saturday afternoon we went to collect the keys for the apartment in a hotel,there we meet a very rude man in the reception desk that suggest once the apartment wasnt ready for us to goback to the station in order to have a safe place for our bags there. That is not all, there beds was full of house mates, we had to spray a product in our bed in order to get some sleep.The internet is most of timess unavailable. A day before last, while my wife was getting change a man out of the blue apears on the window and start to do a painting work!!!
When i call the manager she told me that she was away and the job was booked to be done a month ago, that shouldnt be a problem as we should leave the property to go touring!!! The location is ok not perfect, isnt in a attractive part of town.
Overall the city was great but the apartment a nightmare, i will never go back and i dont recomend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Got good deal from Laterooms-£90 which in Edinburgh you wouldn't get a hotel room for ,let alone an apartment.
Had to collect keys from hotel up the road which is pointed out at time of booking,easily found and a short walk from far end of Waverley Station. We were too early for check in ,but the receptionist let us leave our case and phoned us as soon as apartment was available.
Apartments were also easily located and in what we found to be a quiet area.
Rooms were all clean & had everything needed,would say perhaps a wee retouch of decor needed in places but nothing major.
Bed was comfy and we had a good sleep,bedroom was at back and there was no noise at all either from outside or other apartments.
On leaving we just had to put keys through letterbox rather than return them to hotel.
We appreciated the freedom of having space rather than a hotel room and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calton_Apartments, Manager at Calton Apartments, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Thank you so much for your positive comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Calton Apartments. We endeavour to ensure the comfort of our guests, and are more than happy to assist in any way we can.
Regarding the decor, this will be addressed in the quieter times.. not possible during our busy months. There are plans to revamp the kitchens, soft furnishings and also new furniture. Already this year, 2010, we have replaced the previous sofas and chairs with quality hand-made ones (sofas are twin action sofa-beds, each side pulls out separately, with orthopedic mattresses) - our regular guests are delighted with this change, especially as the chair is now a proper armchair. We have also ensured that all of our 8 apartments have new Freeview digital colour TV's.
I do we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to stay at the apartments, and again, thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Calton Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calton Apartments

Address: 44 Annandale Street, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 2 bedrooms + additional beds, 4 Star. City centre. Since 2007 we have installed: *New top quality divan beds in all bedrooms*New duvets * Bounce back pillows*Duvets for twin sofa beds*New carpets: Lounges & bedrooms* Karndean flooring in halls & kitchens*Free Wi-Fi *Freeview Digital TV*DVD players*Vacuum cleaners in each apartment (ideal for families). Upgraded kitchen electrical equipment. Also provide as standard: washing powder tablets, washing up liquid. Complimentary tea/coffee/milk/sugar, also toilet rolls & soaps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Calton Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calton Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Calton Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calton Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.