We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, welcoming and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Averon Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Averon Guest House to your Saves list
Averon Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   44 Gilmore Place | Central Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH3 9NQ, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Live Scottish Music
Ranked #121 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean, welcoming and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I have to agree with the reviews from 94Lisa and Triciaco - couldn't have put it better myself. In particular, the location is very good for access to the Grassmarket/Royal Mile side of town, although Princess St and the New Town are not that much further. There are also plenty of shops and eating establishment in the vicinity of the guest house, so after a long day walking, you don't need to go too far in the evening if you don't want - if you do, buses run past the front door.
The bedroom and en-suite were clean and tidy, with coffee/tea facilities, and the staff were particularly friendly and helpful, with good food and service at breakfast.
The only negative, and it's very slight, is that the dining room is not big enough for the number of guests - if you arrive for breakfast at the wrong time, you may have to wait for a table to become available.
We came for the rugby weekend, so prices were higher than normal, but still good value in comparison with other establishments checked.
All in all, a very good stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    286
    71
    12
    20
See reviews for
163
208
52
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Cute guest house! Decorated so cute and very well done. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We had a bathroom connected to our room. It was also very clean. There was breakfast included and it was delicious. We stayed two nights and the first morning I had eggs and toast and the 2nd day fruit and porridge( which was fab!). They were great with my dietary restrictions ( lactose intolerant) and very hospitable. It felt almost like staying at a friends house. We really enjoyed our stay there, and will stay there in the future.

The only downside is that it is a house , so you can hear people in the hallways and there are gaps under the door, so really you would only stay there for a good nights sleep, not really a romantic holiday... if you get what I mean .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olga4446, Owner at Averon Guest House, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Alpor

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel convenient for your needs. Thank you for your comment on the gap under the door which we are going to rectify this week. . I am pleased you liked the way the guest house is decorated. The house was built in 1750 and is a listed historic house and is almost identical to the governors house is Edinburgh Castle which is also built around 1750. Being a historic house we promot Scottish history and culture and music.. We have musical entertainment about three times a week when the guest house owner sings a variety of scottish songs .

Alan Cran
Owner
Averon Guest House
Edinburgh Bed and Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Excellent location within walking distance of all amenities in the city. Nice place to stay. The room clean, tasty breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely return to Averon Guest House!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location within walking distance of all ammenities in the city. Rooms a little small but perfect for two people staying for a short break - warm and very clean. Staff were very helpful and friendly and tasty breakfast served every morning. I would definitely return to Averon Guest House!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

From first arriving until leaving nothing was too much trouble. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The proprietor's homely introduction to Scottish music and the history of Scotland was a very pleasant option in the evening.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This was an excellent place to stay for visiting the old part of the city. The bed was comfy; the room warm; and clean. There was a good choice of breakfast food which was well cooked and plentiful. The owner and staff were very friendly. Plenty of cafes and restaurants around. Kings Theatre is nearby and a cinema. We walked to the city centre and even to the Playhouse which only took half an hour (there are buses too). The free carpark was a big incentive. An excellent short break - we would go there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I chose the Averon for my two-night stay because it's less expensive than the more central Edinburgh hotels. And what a great choice it was. The bed was comfortable, the room clean, the central heating was excellent and there was plenty of hot water at all times. Free WiFi and TV as well! The staff were friendly and helpful.
And to top it all the cooked breakfast (sausage, bacon, fried or scrambled egg, toast, tea or coffee) was a great start to the day. Cereals and fruit juice are also available. No need for a big lunch after that.
Two bus routes into central Edinburgh run past the guest house but take a left turn out of the front door and just three minutes walk away there is a bus stop on the main road outside the Cameo cinema (turn left when you get to the main road and the Kings Theatre). (The Cameo has a great cafe/bar and also has free WiFi). Buses from there will take you to the Royal Mile and Princes Street in no more than 10 minutes. There are clear route maps at the stop and an electronic indicator to show when the next buses are due. And best of all a one-day ticket for the buses is only £3.50 - get one of these as otherwise it's a flat fare of £1.50 no matter how far you are going.
There are takeaways and restaurants on the main road (I didn't try them so cannot make any suggestions) but if you want to sample great quality Scottish real ales try Bennets Bar. Left out of the front door, along to the main road and the pub is to the right of the Kings Theatre. Bennets also does meals (which I didn't try) and a huge range of malt whiskies.
I would recommend the Averon and will certainly use it again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Averon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Averon Guest House

Address: 44 Gilmore Place | Central Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH3 9NQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Averon Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Edinburgh's city centre, Averon Guest House has spacious rooms, free Wi-Fi and free private parking. Shopping on Princes Street is just a 10-minute walk from the property and King's Theatre and numerous excellent restaurants are all close by.The Averon is a Georgian townhouse, offering rooms with modern en suite bathrooms with TVs and tea/coffee facilities. A full Scottish or continental breakfast is provided.The Averon Guest House is just a 10-minute walk from Edinburgh Castle. Edinburgh International Conference Centre is within a 5-minute walk.Bus tours to Loch Ness or Loch Lomond can be arranged at the guest house and they leave every morning after breakfast.In the evening there is free Scottish musical entertainment where the owner sings traditional Scottish songs including songs by Robert Burns and is a "musical tour of Scotland" together with a beautiful picture show of Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Averon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Averon Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Averon Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Averon Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.