We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nira Caledonia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Nira Caledonia to your Saves list
Nira Caledonia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland (Formerly Number Ten Edinburgh) (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

It is difficult to sum up in a few words how wonderful out stay was, we are only sorry it wasn't for longer.
From the stunning listed building, the top class staff & service, the great room and the best nights sleep I have had in ages.
The room is quiet, the bed is ridiculously comfortable, comes with all the amenities (TV, coffee maker, slippers, robe etc)

I have been lucky to stay in many hotels all over the world and this hotel has literally gone to the top of the pile of my favourite hotels.

If you are visiting Edinburgh you have to stay here.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Well lettonwm
Talk about putting a smile on our faces!! wow , what a great review. i have shared this with the team tonight and trust me it really means alot that you mention the great service and and top class staff. we work hard to deliver the magic. Thank you for taking the time to post , its made our week. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    104
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
44
335
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed for a weekend break in June 2013. Recommend highly this wonderful boutique hotel. Staff were excellent so helpful. Breakfast was perfect.Location was quite and away from the rush of the city centre a short taxi ride. This hotel consists of 2 Georgian houses broken into 1. Full of character but also luxury.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear SteveB
thank you for your review of Nira Caledonia. Summer last year was very busy and the whole team loved looking after you, and your review is written before we began our refurbishment. I am happy to report nearly all rooms have received a full make over and really look 5 star.Perhaps we could persuade you to return again soon?Make sure you book direct, ask for Emma in Reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenstone, Leicestershire, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Just been up to Edinburgh for a few days over the last weekend and stayed at the Nira Caledonia.
It is one of the best hotels I have stayed in for a long time, recently refurbished room, very friendly and helpful staff and good food (both breakfast and dinner). Couldn't really ask for much more.
Our room was ready, as requested, when we arrived at 12:00 and we got upgraded to an executive room :)
Although we were at the front of the hotel there was almost no external noise, being in a quiet residential area.
It's about 10-15 minute walk up to Princes Street and the centre of Edinburgh

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 at no. 6 Gloucester Place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Mr Scaife.
5 out of 5!! Thank you very much. We loved looking after you both on this special stay. Room 605 is beautiful, the photos you posted really look great. We do try to offer a unique experience while staying with us and reading your review it sounds like we hit the Mark. Thank you for also posting about our restaurant (BlackWoods) the F&B team were really chuffed with your feed back. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Nira Caledonia, 5 stars luxury hotel located in the city center which is part of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Set in a magnificent Georgian House spread through few storeys; it boasts 28 rooms with individual style and touch of uniqueness. Featuring rooms with a private garden, en-suite bath tubs and whisky tasting Nira Caledonia is the perfect choice for a romantic weekend or shopping trip to the city of Edinburgh. Only a short walk to Princess and Queen Street it offers the comfort, quality and convenience each travelers look for.


Nira Caledonia offers accommodation in 4 different categories; singles, petite doubles, executive rooms and suites. Each room features luxury comfortable bed, bathroom with toiletries, slippers and bathrobes, tea and coffee maker and an IPod decker. I’ve stayed in an executive deluxe on the ground floor which was amazing because it came with a large private garden with aseating area ideal for a romantic evening with loved one. Other rooms located on the higher floors had views of the city but I found the garden to be very neat. The hotel staff is very nice and friendly and the concierge can easily organize a city tour or a golf break. The hotel offers several packages for a spring break, to discove
he hotel occupies two townhouses on Gloucester Place and is planning on expanding to make space for either conference or wellness facilities.. Dining is an important part of hotel’s experience and therefore whether you head for dinner to Blackwood's Bar & Grill or simply enjoy your afternoon tea; you’ll be pleased to find excellent cuisine, fresh and organic ingredients and exotic flavors. Pork and lamb are Chef’s specialties and these dishes can be accompanied by a selection of over 25 different whiskies from the bar. After a long day of shopping at nearby Queen and Princes's Street, you can indulge in a cup of delicious tea with fresh sandwiches and cakes. Breakfast is served daily in the restaurant and the hot and cold buffet offer a great selection to suit all tastes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Well Hcslonanka. Your review reads like PR for our little hotel.
Do you work in marketing? If not you should, I note that you are a elder on trip-advisor and this is your 29th review. Thank you for taking the time to post such an informative and detailed review. We are trying hard to promote real luxury, a proper boutique experience and the local independent artisan hotel that we really are. Each room is personally styled and has it's own personality , the team at Nira Caledonia as the same, passionate, polite, well versed in the local area and completely guest orientated . Please come back soon. I look forward to welcoming you back to Nira Caledonia .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at the Nira Caledonia hotel on 17th January for a one night stay as we were going to see the lion king. It was simply amazing. From the moment we first arrived we were treated exceptionally well by all the great staff. We were staying in a jacuzzi suite which was beautiful. We arrived back from the lion king to our room being filled with candles and rose petals which was a lovely surprise! The breakfast the following morning was fab and I really have no complaints at all. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Wow, Natalie G, what a stunner of a review thank you for taking time after your visit to post, so many guests don't. The old romantic turndown in a Jacuzzi suite is a thing of beauty. I think your other half arranged this in advance and booked our special turndown as an extra. Sounds like it did the trick. If you enjoyed The lion king, you should come back in November as Wicked comes to the Playhouse ( it's my favourite ) . See you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here at the weekend , was able too upgrade from a petit double to a suite. This upgrade was taken care of very promptly via e-mail , thanks emma. The suite was lovely and a great size. Breakfast was really nice and well presented. The reception staff were very accomadating and helped in every way possible when needed. Overall great city and a great hotel and would stay again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hello Mesher75,
Thank you for this review, and for mentioning the lovely Emma, she is the keeper of all things sacred to reservations and the gatekeeper to Upgrades. We bow down to her daily at morning meeting . Good to hear the whole team looked after you and that you enjoyed breakfast. I hope to welcome you back to Nira Caledonia again soon , don't forget to book direct (ask for Emma)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

My girlfriend treated me to a stay at Nira Caledonia last week as we were in Edinburgh to see The Lion King... and what a surprise!

Check in was friendly and efficient - they'd remembered that we were going to see The Lion King from the conversation with my girlfriend at the time of booking and were already making suggestions about dinner as we had limited time.They reserved us a table in the restaurant within the hotel and we dined on the pre-theatre menu which was outstanding. With our bags swiftly taken from us when we arrived we were then personally shown to our room - another great touch.

The room itself was amazing - light, spacious and spotless. My Girlfriend had originally booked a standard double room but later told me she managed to upgrade for a bargain on the day of arrival as they still had suites available. We found the welcome pack given on arrival informative and personal as well as an added nice touch of a note from the General Manager welcoming us and telling us to enjoy the show giving us the feeling we were VIP's.

When we returned after the show we arrived into our room to find out it has been turned down beautifully with rose petals and candles - not cheesy over the top but just the right balance to make it a truly memorable touch. Again I discovered this was an added extra but the smile on my girlfriends face as she entered the room shows in her mind it was money well spent.

Breakfast in the morning was a huge offering leaving me spoiled for choice. The service was friendly yet not intrusive and Rory the General Manager was nice enough to spend some time chatting with us about our time in Edinburgh. We were made to feel very welcome.

Overall I had a fantastic stay and I wouldn't hesitate to return. The rooms are beautiful but it is the staff and the level of service they provide that make you feel truly special and it is the little touches like organising taxi's without being asked, remembering our names and why we were visiting that will stick with me and make me return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear ClarkeD
Glad you liked the Lion King, a great great show indeed. Perhaps you should come back in November as Wicked comes to the Edinburgh Playhouse and truly is stunning ( I've seen it a few times.) Our romantic turndown is receiving lots of mentions and good feedback , the rooms look so good once we have finished making the turndown, I'm happy you liked the extra feature. We are all working hard to ensure each guest receives an experience in keeping with a small boutique hotel and it seems from your review you did. Perhaps see you in Novemeber for Wicked , and remember to book direct with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nira Caledonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland (Formerly Number Ten Edinburgh)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nira Caledonia is surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat. Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style. Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service. The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whiskey blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours. With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nira Caledonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.