We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel in a historic part of the city.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nira Caledonia

Save Saved
You added Nira Caledonia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 17 more sites!
Nira Caledonia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland (Formerly Number Ten Edinburgh) (New Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New Spring/Summer menu
Ranked #9 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
1 review
“Top hotel in a historic part of the city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Could not fault the service or facilities at the Nira Caledonia. Only a short walk from attractions such as the castle and the Edinburgh dungeons. Good selection of food/drinks and the breakfast was very tasty. Only problem was the mattress was a bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and had time to make full use of our facilities, from our delicious Scottish breakfast to the peace and tranquillity of our location. I was very surprised that you found our beds uncomfortable. All the beds feature 2,000 pocket sprung mattresses and luxurious down toppers and pillows.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in 2013 sometime soon.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    88
    33
    10
    5
See reviews for
29
263
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights as part of a voucher codes promotion and were delighted with it.
The room was really nicely furnished and the bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfast service was top class and the food was also really nice as they used all locally sourced produce.
We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night and had a delicious meal. The Chef came out to talk to us to see if we'd enjoyed the food and he told us how he'd been to one of the finest steakhouses in London to get some inspiration for his menu.
The hotel is situated in a really quiet part of town and the area just behind the Hotel ( Stocksbridge) is well worth exploring as there are some great restaurants and cafes around which have a more 'local' feel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor and there is no lift. It was a great room and had nice views but if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and had time to make full use of our facilities, from our delicious Scottish breakfast and fabulous dinner to the peace and tranquillity of our location. Your comments regarding the professionalism and warmth of service from my colleagues are especially appreciated and it will be a pleasure to share you feedback with the team. I will certainly pass on your comments to David, our Chef.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in 2013 sometime soon.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights with a wowcher deal and loved our time in the Nira Caledonia.
We read reviews prior to arriving, which stated rooms were small. I expected them to be cramped but they were more than adequate. We decided to upgrade to the jacuzzi room and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The whole hotel has a touch of class about it and we were made to feel very welcome. The staff we encountered were all very helpful and happy to assist. The food we received with the deal was first class, with the option to add other courses should you feel the need. The location is in a lovely part of Edinburgh around 10-15 minutes slow walk to Princes St/Waverley Station. The only problem you may find is the opaque bathroom doors.
I'd definitely recommend this hotel. Hopefully we'll be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Nira Caledonia on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback on your visit and for your lovely comments about the hotel and location. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and please be assured all your great feedback has been relayed to all our team members. Thank you for sharing your comments with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here back in March for my birthday on St Patricks Day- and it was booked through the wowcher website. It's the first time I've bought one of those deals and I was nervous we'd be treated differently- but I needn't have worried. The 2 gentleman we dealt with over the 2 days on reception were fantastic- it was heavy sleet outside the whole time and as we travelled by train- we needed taxis everywhere and they booked those for us and chatted to us while we waited. We did go out for a couple of walks and the smallest touches (like the umbrellas by the front door) helped us greatly! There was a young blonde girl waitressing on the Monday night who was also fantastic- these staff are a credit to the hotel. The room (room 4) was beautifully decorated and although I'd read other reviews of the rooms being tiny - I was more than happy with the space. The bathroom was lovely and immaculate- with a jacuzzi bath- and was replenished descreetly when needed. When we were shown to our room we were helped with our luggage, and classical fm was playing in the room when we entered which was a lovely touch! There was champagne and roses as part of the deal and they were presented beautifully too. We had dinner in the restaurant on our last night and my partner really enjoyed the food- although I can't comment as I was suffering from terrible morning sickness at the time and was disappointed I couldn't enjoy it but the food looked and smelled delicious. Overall, we had a gorgeous weekend at the Nira Caledonia and have recommended it to several of our friends since getting back- I wouldn't hesitate to pay full price to go back and if we visit Edinburgh again- I'll be staying there! Fabulous!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and had time to make full use of our facilities, from our fabulous dinner in Blackwoods Restaurant to the peace and tranquillity of our location. I was delighted to read your comments about how friendly our colleagues are and will certainly share your comments with them.

All the very best for when your new arrival comes and we look forward to welcoming you back to Nira Caledonia sometime soon.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armadale
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had 2 nights in a Jacuzzi Suite & we loved it.
We were apparently given the largest jacuzzi & I believe this meant our room perhaps wasn't as large as other suites but this suited us fine as relaxing, champers in hand in the jacuzzi was all we wanted to do anyway..we were on honeymoon afterall!

However the room was still spacious & felt luxurious. We also had a separate smaller room with sofa, small wardrobe, luggage stand & a well stocked mini fridge also.
There was also a compact separate bathroom, nice shower but very small shower cubicle. Overall it almost felt like a small apartment, with beautiful decor, high ceilings, shutters on windows with big heavy beautiful curtains & situated in a leafy quiet area in Edinburgh. Just lovely & we'd definitely go back to a jacuzzi suite for sure.

We had one breakfast delivered to the room & another breakfast (both delicious!) in the restaurant.
We also had one evening meal in their new Blackwoods restaurant which was superb (the food wasn't as hot as I'd personally have liked, & after mentioning it to staff we were given a complimentary bottle of wine by way of apology-much appreciated. I didn't want to give a negative as it was beautifully cooked, so well prepared & it's obvious when speaking to the chef that he's passionate about his food & tries very hard to please). I'd definitely go back just for a meal - steaks & sauce were amazing.

The hotel staff couldn't have been nicer, they were always friendly, accommodating & willing to please .. We requested room service (ice buckets & champagne glasses) a few times & it was always brought swiftly, & with a smile.
We would highly recommend for a romantic, relaxing, quiet stay - just perfect for us!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Nira Caledonia on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback on your visit and for your lovely comments about the your suite and your meal in Blackwoods Restaurant. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and please be assured all your great feedback has been relayed to all our team members. Congratulations once again on your recent marriage and may you have many happy years together. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went to stay here with a Wowcher deal and definitely were not disappointed. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from George Street so really handy for pubs and restaurant. The room we had was just lovely, very clean and modern with a door opening into a small garden, there were 3 red roses and a small bottle of champagne on the bed, bed was really comfy too.

The menu for the wowcher deal in the restaurant was limited to one choice but you could get from the main menu for a supplement, however the food was first class, very very tasty with lovely service. The breakfast in the morning was also superb, fresh ingredients for the scottish breakfast and a great selection for the continental.

Would definitely recommend a stay in this hotel and keep your eyes pealed for any deals.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and had time to make full use of our facilities, from our delicious Scottish breakfast and dinner to the peace and tranquillity of our location. |I was delighted to ready your comments about the little touches and amenities in your room. It will be a pleasure to share you feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Nira Caledonia sometime soon.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights on a voucher deal, it was a lovely stay with very pleasant staff. On arrival we were informed that we were up 3 floors hopefully this was not a problem we were asked?? I do have a bad knee but we did manage although a tad out of breath at the top!!! The room we had up in the attic area was small but tastefully furnished and all amenities except for an iron & ironing board.
We had dinner on the first night which was well presented and tasty, we both had steaks however my partners was not cooked correctly and he did not want to complain. The breakfast area can be a bit overcrowed as it is small. I asked for poached eggs and 2 potato scones out came 1 poached egg and 1 potato scone cut in half!!! I did learn for the next morning lol!!!
Overall though a lovely stay and near the town centre of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Nira Caledonia on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback on your visit and for your lovely comments about the hotel and location. I do apologise that you did not receive the order you requested for breakfast on the first morning. We do have iron and ironing boards available from housekeeping and these can be requested to be delivered to your room. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and please be assured all your great feedback has been relayed to all our team members. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nira Caledonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland (Formerly Number Ten Edinburgh)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nira Caledonia is surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat. Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style. Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service. The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whiskey blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours. With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nira Caledonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.