We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Within minutes walk from the city in an oasis of tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nira Caledonia

Save Saved
You added Nira Caledonia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Nira Caledonia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland (Formerly Number Ten Edinburgh) (New Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New Spring/Summer menu
Ranked #9 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Within minutes walk from the city in an oasis of tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

If you like being pampered then this is your hotel. The staff is extremely friendly, helpful and personable.Consider booking a suite. The suite was very spacious and tastefully decorated, the bed very comfortable and a modern bathroom. The breakfast was great (opted for the continental and my husband ordered a la carte and was very satisfied). Plenty of choice with the breakfast buffet and very pleasant seating area. Perfect to start the day. We had one evening dinner in the hotel which was to our satisfaction. Close by is a private park for which a key is needed, the staff informed us that they are working on getting a key for the hotel. If that would become available this would be great for runners or just to have a nice stroll without worrying about safety.

Room Tip: Opt for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    88
    33
    10
    5
See reviews for
29
263
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is a hotel with lots of potential but it seriously misses the mark. The location is lovely in leafy Stockbridge and the decor is tasteful and contemporary. The staff are courteous and helpful but...! Breakfast is uninspiring - stale pastries, undercooked black pudding and general lack of attention to detail. The bedrooms are also disappointing being that this hotel is rated as 5 star. The beds are uncomfortable and very small (although described as queen sized), the smell from the kitchen seemed to seep up through the bathroom in the evening and the rooms are stifling and hot with no air conditioning. There are slippers but no robes (not the norm for a 5 star hotel). One toilet roll with no spare is provided in the room. Perhaps this is an environmentally conscious measure, but this appeared a little unusual. We stay in Edinburgh at least once a month and have stayed in much better hotels with lower star ratings at far more competitive prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed at Nira Caledonia for one night and had a lovely stay. Very comfortable bed and quiet room. The rooms was beautifully decorated. We had a floor to ceiling window looking over chimneys and roofs and gardens at the rear. We ate in the hotel and were impressed with the quality, beautifully presented. We will most definitely be back to stay if rooms are available. Five star indeed.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will certainly be quieter but not too busy an area of Edinburgh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I fell in love with this hotel the moment I was greeted by the lovely member of staff. The decor is incredible and lives up to it's 5 star boutique title. I even took a video of the stairs, because it is so beautiful.
The staff could not have been nicer. The breakfast was delicious. i am still dreaming of the croissants - try them, you'll never find nicer anywhere.
The bedroom was gorgeous. We had the one at the top, but we didnt mind due to the sumptious decor and stylish bathroom with a jacussi. The tv was massive and the food we ordered via room service was gorgeous.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This small hotel is sited in pleasant location, slightly away from the busy centre of Edinburgh, but still just a short (10 minutes or so) walk to the action. The service from all the staff encountered was notably friendly, from the folk on reception and in the restaurant at breakfast, to the charming girls cleaning the rooms. As the hotel website states clearly, there is no lift, but this should not prove a problem unless your mobility is restricted. The rooms vary considerably in size and outlook. The suite we occupied overlooked the front of the hotel, and while the road is not at all busy, the sound of passing cars on the cobbled surface was surprisingly loud. There is no air-conditioning, so if you are fortunate to visit Edinburgh on one of its few very warm days, you may have to open one of the large sash windows for ventilation. These are not great sound insulators when closed, and clearly worse when open, so I was disturbed a few times each night. However, my partner slept soundly, so I suspect this may not be an issue for many people. The enormous bed was fantastically comfortable.

Unfortunately for a hotel of this quality and price, a number of small but important details detracted slightly from the whole experience. One of the blinds was broken, so no shade could be had over one of the windows. The sash-cords on another window were broken, so no ventilation could be had via this window. Neither problem is the end of the world - but at over £200 a night, I expect everything to function correctly. It's not my job to look after building inspection, don't the cleaning staff communicate with anyone? Additionally, despite using hotel-supplied toiletries, none were ever replenished when used. Poor. The shower had been beautifully fitted, but at height so low that we both had to bend to get under the water - another sign of lack of attention to detail. The ceiling in the bathroom was clean and white, what a pity that the tiled (slate?) walls were spattered in white paint as well. A large flat screen TV was provided, but it did look like maybe its predecessor had occupied a position on the wall above - something had clearly been mounted there previously, and the holes and ripped wallpaper left unrepaired.

Finally a plea to management. I know it sets the right ambience to come back to the room and find the lamps on and the radio playing Classic FM, but I'd prefer that you don't waste electricity lighting an empty room (even with energy efficient bulbs) and playing to a non-existent audience...

Overall - not bad, but expensive unless you can get some sort of deal. Suffers in several areas from lack of attention to detail, and that is surely the mark of a stand-out hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, I'd go for a room that does not face the front, cobbled road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

What a wonderful hotel experience (and we are pretty hard to please). My husband gasped a little when he saw the rate for this hotel but 5 minutes after check in he was convinced it was worth it. You really do get what you pay for. We were upgraded to the garden suite (which I would definitely recommend) and had plenty of room even for friends to come back for a drink. Lovely furnishings and amenities. Staff were super accommodating and pleasant. Breakfast was great and the dining room is very pleasant. Although located in a more residential part of Edinburgh the hotel is within easy walking distance of major points of interest. Recommend very highly!

Room Tip: Garden suite was just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your very kind and positive review of our boutique hotel in Edinburgh.

Your comments have been passed onto all the team and we are all delighted you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Nira Caledonia in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

James Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I recently enjoyed a wonderful Friday night stay at this hotel with my wife on a first time trip to Edinburgh. This stylish boutique hotel is within walking distance of the centre of Edinburgh and is perfect for a romantic getaway.
This hotel had all the ingredients for a great weekend. Room was immaculate and service excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your very kind and positive review of our boutique hotel in Edinburgh.

Your comments have been passed onto all the team and we are all delighted you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Nira Caledonia in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

James Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nira Caledonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland (Formerly Number Ten Edinburgh)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nira Caledonia is surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat. Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style. Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service. The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whiskey blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours. With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nira Caledonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.