We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Craig House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ben Craig House to your Saves list
Ben Craig House
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   3 Craigmillar Park, Edinburgh EH16 5PG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #266 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The location was perfect, with a bus stop on your doorstep with a brilliant bus service. We opted not to have breakfast so can't comment on the food. The room was nice, although it wasn't cleaned fantasticly well. Friendly staff. We got this as a late room deal so was worth the £35pn. Probably wouldn't of paid much more for it. Overall not a bad place to spend the night.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    42
    19
    13
    12
See reviews for
16
60
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Everything about our stay here has been great. The hotel has a really nice family feel to it, and straight away upon arrival the owner greeted us with friendliness and gave us loads of good advice on how best to enjoy our stay. There is a bus stop right outside with a plethora of services that run past all day and night, and with an all day anywhere ticket costing only £3.50, we haven't used the car once! Breakfast was great as was the service. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

stayed there for about a week in March 2012. Big, bright, clean rooms, tidy, well-maintained property, nice staff. Location was also quite comfortable. For those who don`t like walking might seem quite remote from the main attractions and the city centre. However, the walk-lovers would be quite happy with the position of this B&B as on the way to the centre you get to walk by little cafes and shops, etc. Really, quite happy about our experience in Ben ~Craig :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountaintrecker
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great location, non stop buses going into town. Located on the main road into the old town. 10 mins on the bus and you're on the Royal Mile. Only costs £1.40 to get the bus. Staff very friendly and polite. Our room was really nice and clean.Bathroom spotless and even had a jacuzzi in it! Beds very comfortable. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment on the food but it smelt delicious when we woke up in the morning. Staff let me leave my car on check out while we had a few hours looking round the city and they let us leave our luggage in a spare room. We'll definitely use the Ben Craig again.

Room Tip: Probably better at the back of the hotel if you don't want to be awoken by early morning traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Big and clean rooms, nice decoration, helpful stuff. Need bus or taxi to the center.
Heating not very adequate but when asked for heater it was provided.
Breakfast was served from only 8-9, very early for vacations.


  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montello, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at the Ben Craig House for three nights. Our room was converted from the garage so it was small, but comfortable. For being right on the street, it was not as loud as we had expected. This place would have gotten higher marks had it had a public sitting room We had friends over and we had to visit sitting int he hall. Also the people who work there were Polish with poor English skills. That was a little surprising. There are dozens of B&B up and Down the road there, but this one was just fine

Room Tip: Avoid the "Garage" room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were given a room (No1) with a double and single bed in, which meant that because there was only two of us we had extra storage space. The en-suite was small but adequate, and was clean. Breakfast was plentiful with a good choice. The B&B is situated on a main road into Edinburgh with bus stops right outside, with a bus every few minutes the journey taking about 20mins. Have the right fare ,nochange given on the bues.
Would stay there again when in Edinburgh and recommend it as good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ben Craig House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Craig House

Address: 3 Craigmillar Park, Edinburgh EH16 5PG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ben Craig House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ben Craig Guest House provides you with the best of Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Scotland's capital city, Edinburgh. We deliver only the highest standards and warmest welcome to all of our customers, making them feel at home in our Victorian building which is fully fitted with original period décor and quality soft furnishings.Our convenient position in the south side of the city means that you are within reasonable walking distance of many of Edinburgh's top tourist attractions, including the historic Old Town, the Scottish Parliament Buildings, Holyrood Palace, various galleries and Edinburgh Castle. Ben Craig Guest House also offers you secure car parking at the front and rear of the house, free on street parking, and the easy option of public transport, allowing you to leave your car and enjoy a stress free day in the capital. You will also benefit from the extensive variety of restaurants, shops and bars situated nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Ben Craig House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Craig House Hotel Edinburgh
Ben Craig House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Craig House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.