We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Craig House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ben Craig House to your Saves list
Ben Craig House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3 Craigmillar Park, Edinburgh EH16 5PG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #271 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Krakow, Poland
1 review
“excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I've spend 5 nights at Ben Craig house and it was wonderful.Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was excellent everyday. Bus stop right outside and very frequent every few minutes. Highly recommend it. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    42
    19
    13
    12
See reviews for
16
59
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This place needs a makeover NOW. I never understand why a B&B pays no attention to their beds, which were old and uncomfortable, the duvet was thin and worn out. The bed cover - again worn out, come on these are the basics to a B&B.

And why do you display 4 stars outside when your a 2star at best????

The bathroom was in a poor state of repair. The toilet seat would not stay up, the toothbrush holder was falling off the wall. Towels! Replace them as they have seen better days in the 1990’s!!!!!

Breakfast greasy. Why ask for payment upon arrival!
This B&B could be superb with a minor make over and new beds.

I give the staff credit, they were polite and pleasant.
Great location for the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonUK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Ben Craig's best attribute were the staff who were first class. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfy. Take your own toiletries unless you want really basic ones. Breakfast menu ok...but not the best ingredients...Good position with abus stop to city centre outside

Room Tip: Quieter rooms at the back....front rooms on a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pembs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

After booking through late rooms booked and had confirm a room in Ben Craig hotel, 1 hour later i had a phone call saying that there had been an error and it was going to cost me an extra £100 to stay i didn't except this and the hotel agreed to swallow the cost. 20 mins later i had an email saying your card had been declined which - Which it hadn't!! They said please contact us to make payment in 24 hours or we will cancel the order. I rang them over 30 in the 24 and left 3 voice mails and sent 3 emails to no avail!! They didn't answer the phone once which is weird for a hotel. I then had an email saying your order has been cancel so i rang them surprise surprise they answer after a day!! and i spoke to the rudest man......... who consistently lied and feed me rubbish!! i wonted recommend dealing with these people customer service is an all time low!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadyh, Manager at Ben Craig House, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
The reservation made by you was an 'advanced purchase' reservation. This room type is discounted on the basis payment is charged prior to arrival. In order to do this we require valid card details. As card details given by you had been declined we offered 24hrs. to send us alternative card details. Unfortunately at no time whatso ever had new card details been offerred. Therefore we were left with no choice but to cancel you reservation. We apologize for the inconveniance this may have caused but valid card details are required to complete all confirmed reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had the lovely room featured on the brochure. It is actually a lot bigger than it appears in the picture. Great breakfast, friendly service. While we loved the room it could do with a little TLC and the beds are getting a bit worn. Our adult daughter stayed with us in the single bed and could feel the springs coming through the mattress. Bus stop at gate so easy commute to major attractions in city. When the car park was full they had additional parking at the rear of the property which was off street and easily accessible

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night. We were early and they let us in and gave us a key though the room was not ready. The room was clean and well presented, cant really complain. The shower was good enough with soap and shampoo provided. Apart from that, it was fine! Breakfast was average, though the one piece of bacon I received was fatty and I received scrambled eggs without being asked how I'd like my egg. Not much room in the breakfast room, there was a que, the seats were quite large and cumbersome! Being able to look into the kitchen was a bit off putting.

In conclusion, I would say the room was clean and tidy, average breakfast, average hosts, just dont expect a 4* hotel when you book, I would say it was more like a 3*/2*.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celbridge, Kildare, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is the first time I have ever written a review of a stay I have had. The first problem with Ben Craig house was that it would not take a booking directly over the phone. Staff were extremely curt and the mysterious manager never appeared. There is very limited parking (2 cars). Being so close to the main road it is very noisy until 4am at the front of the house. The featured room on their website was our accommodation. It was very disappointing. The decor and furniture were jaded and worn. The beds and pillows were very soft and the headboard banged against the wall every time you turned. The radiator in the bathroom was rusty and in a very bad need of paint. The toilet seat would not stay up. There are some things worth getting up in the morning for and breakfast at Ben Craig House is not one of them. Breakfast is only served from 8am to 9am and the menu consists of tinned fruit, long-life croissants, weak tea and coffee. The cooked breakfast comes with over cooked sausage cold scrambled egg and cold mushrooms - thankfully I did not have the beans!! The dining room is set up for 18 persons were in fact a maximum of 10 would be allowed which makes it extremely tight and uncomfortable. There is no sitting room or recognized communal area which I would like in a guest house. I would call it a hostel but that would be unfair to hostels I have stayed in. I do not know were the 4 stars come from as there is no indication in the house or on the sign - one star would be too many. In summary an overpriced poor stay that leaves a bitter taste in the mouth just like the breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ben Craig House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Craig House

Address: 3 Craigmillar Park, Edinburgh EH16 5PG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ben Craig House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ben Craig Guest House provides you with the best of Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Scotland's capital city, Edinburgh. We deliver only the highest standards and warmest welcome to all of our customers, making them feel at home in our Victorian building which is fully fitted with original period décor and quality soft furnishings.Our convenient position in the south side of the city means that you are within reasonable walking distance of many of Edinburgh's top tourist attractions, including the historic Old Town, the Scottish Parliament Buildings, Holyrood Palace, various galleries and Edinburgh Castle. Ben Craig Guest House also offers you secure car parking at the front and rear of the house, free on street parking, and the easy option of public transport, allowing you to leave your car and enjoy a stress free day in the capital. You will also benefit from the extensive variety of restaurants, shops and bars situated nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Ben Craig House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Craig House Hotel Edinburgh
Ben Craig House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Craig House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.