We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MW Townhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added MW Townhouse to your Saves list
MW Townhouse
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11 Spence Street, Edinburgh EH16 5AG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #309 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Velp, The Netherlands
1 review
“excellent hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Very very friendly owners; parking behind the B&B; clean and well furnished rooms;
a 10 min. walk to the city center; also buses nearby; if we could, we will give
12 points from the Netherlands!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    18
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
15
25
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Pole
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

The place is very uncomplicated. Owner friendly, breakfast is good.
The bus gets you directly to the centre in 10 mins.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

My family and I were very excited about staying in this hotel after looking at its website. We were expecting a very modern guest house and although the entrance area and dining areas were acceptable, our family room was very disappointing. The room was clearly in need of a revamp and our family room consisted of a double bed and two pull out beds - we would expect proper beds for the price we paid. Also, our towels were not changed throughout our 5 day stay. Breakfast was nice and the location suited us well. This guest house was acceptable but it simply did not reflect what is described on the website and the cost of our stay did not reflect the standard of the accommodation we received.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Having had a very poor experience the last time we stayed in Edinburgh (see other review) we went for the promise of "modern, stylish and contemporary Bed and Breakfast accommodation with private parking facilities, luxurious standards of comfort, a friendly service and a hearty breakfast." We feel the owner needs to be made aware of the Trade Descriptions Act!

The service when we arrived was the exact opposite of "friendly". We had driven over four hundred miles, and were tired - the owner (?) was unhelpful and abrupt. We pointed out that we had been quoted two different prices - one in an email, the other when we booked. This was ignored, he insisted on payment in advance (before we had even seen the room!) and tried to charge us an extra £5 for paying by credit card. (He withdrew this charge when we challenged his assertion that the charge was mentioned on the website - I've just checked again - it's not!)

The "private parking facilities" are OK if not too many guests have brought cars. We just managed to squeeze our car up against the fence alongside the other three - the alternative would have been to block them all in, as the on-street parking is Residents Only.

The owner surprised us by saying he had put the heat on in our room before we arrived - this was mid-July, after all, even if it was Scotland! On reaching the room, however, we found it absolutely freezing - largely thanks to the open window, which we closed immediately. We tried to coax the rdaiator into giving out some warmth, but without success.

The bed in our room, on the top floor, was two pushed together, but the duvet only just about stretched across the top - so a cold room during the night would be even more unwelcome! The narrow bathroom was adequate, but the shower curtain (as another reviewer has said, these are NOT power showers!) had mould on it.

Breakfast in the morning was quite pleasant, though it would have been good to have had it available for longer than one hour - it seemed to be that they needed the guests clear of the Breakfast Room early as they then provided a meal for a group of ladies. The Polish ladies serving (the only staff, it seems, on duty in the mornings!) were friendly and the food was well cooked.

In short, if you want high quality, luxurious B&B accommodation with a friendly face - go elsewhere. If you just need a bed for the night somewhere that's reasonably clean and not too noisy if you keep the windows closed (a good idea anyway, even in Summer) then give MW Townhouse a try!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

My husband, daughter and I spent three nights in this hotel. The interior is modern and the common areas are clean. The breakfast is good, but I agree with the other reviewers that the hours could be extended beyond just one hour.

The major thing they need to work on is housekeeping for the individual rooms. We received very few, thin, scratchy towels, only some of which were laundered during our stay. The bed was made haphazardly and nothing was really tidied up. Normally I don't expect rooms to be cleaned too much, but this was a stark difference to our experience in other Scottish B&B's.

The owner was a bit pushy about payment. He asked us on a daily basis whether we were going to pay cash or credit. We are Americans, so this might be a cultural thing. We just assumed we would be able to pay with a credit card and that we would square up upon check-out. They prefer cash so that's what we did.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

I booked based on the location, my room was a closet with a window.
It is on a corner of a busy street so you cannot sleep or watch TV with the windows open.
Breakfast is 8:00 - 9:00 ONLY, cute Polish girls serving was a good point.

Not really worth the money, shop around as there are a LOT of B&B's in Edinburgh

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
östergötland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

Nice rooms, very clean and modern, nice service and a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MW Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MW Townhouse

Address: 11 Spence Street, Edinburgh EH16 5AG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #309 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MW Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your MW Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MW Townhouse Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MW Townhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.