We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Twenty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Twenty to your Saves list
Hotel Twenty
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Leopold Place | London Road, Edinburgh EH7 5LB, Scotland (Formerly Richmond House Hotel) (Calton Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Hotel Twenty as part of a three month European holiday. We arrived and were greeted by Eddie, the assistant manager who was so helpful. He pointed out on a map where we were in relation to new town, old town and the main sights of Edinburgh and where the Sunday market farmers market was. During our stay, Eddie continued to be amazingly helpful, booking us a table at the Thai restaurant which is inside the hotel building, booking us a taxi and providing us with a breakfast pack as we were leaving early morning, before breakfast hours. The hotel also offers a laundry service for guests staying two or more nights and Eddie also took care of this for us. The room itself was located a floor below street level and was quite large, with tea and coffee making facilities, a tv, heaps of storage and a small but clean bathroom. This room is located near the Thai restaurant, however it was quiet between the hours of 11 till 8 when breakfast begins and we had no major issues with noise. The hotel is a fifteen minutes lesuirely walk from the city centre and with staff like Eddie you will definately enjoy your stay here!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for taking your time to give us your feedback. As you are aware we only just took over the hotel and are really trying to achieve a 4* standard hotel eventually. We take all comments in to consideration . I will look forward to see you stay here again at Hotel Twenty.

Regards
John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    77
    35
    19
    22
See reviews for
24
88
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for one night and recieved a very warm welcome by the manager and given a tour before we were taken to our room.
The room was comfortable and clean the only thing I can say is that the trafic noise was too much for me as I come from the country so it took me a long time to get to sleep.
Continental breakfast included was fine and staff were very helpful and friendly.
The Manager was informed of my problem with the trafic noise the next morning and i was informed they are upgrading the rooms one at a time this will include secondary glazeing.
I would use this hotel again as they were very friendly and value for my money. Thank you for your hospitality.

Room Tip: I think next time I would ask for a back room which would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for taking your time to give us your feedback. As you are aware we only just took over the hotel and are really trying to achieve a 4* standard hotel eventually. We take all comments in to consideration . I will look forward to see you stay here again at Hotel Twenty.

Regards
John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I went there for a birthday break this week as it was a cheap deal and an alternative to the soul-less travel lodge type experience.

We were met at the door by John the super friendly manager who shook our hands and gave us a tour of the facilities before we went to our room.

The room was clean, freshly decorated, comfortable and warm. The WC facilities, although small were in perfect condition and well stocked with soap, shampoo and conditioner.

Breakfast the next day was a nice laid back vibe and didn't feel at all like we were unwelcome despite us still being there after the end of breakfast time. At the time of writing this there's a Thai restaurant (Thai-pad) which operates from the hotel although we never had time to check it out.

To conclude, there's nothing bad to say about this place: they're a new company and are doing a very good job so far. I'm already looking forward to going back. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for taking your time to give us your feedback. As you are aware we only just took over the hotel and are really trying to achieve a 4* standard hotel eventually. We take all comments in to consideration . I will look forward to see you stay here again at Hotel Twenty.

Regards
John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Booked this hotel well in advance for one night. Informed the hotel that check in was to be after midnight and the hotel manager informed us that "We have no issues with late arrivals". However after more than 30 minutes ringing the bell, phoning on the supplied telephone number, knocking and banging on the door we had no other choice other than try to find another hotel in the pouring rain. In fact we did not manage to find a hotel and had to spend all the night outside soaking wet. To add insult to injury the hotel manager tried all in his powers to take our money even if we did not make use of the hotel due to his negligence. BEWARE

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Are you sure you have the correct Hotel. We have a late check in time of 10 pm unless stated by the guest. We are very sorry that you did not have a pleasant time in Edinburgh. As a Manager i have a legal obligation of having a 24 hour reception due to health and safety. Another obligation for Health and safety reasons is that i ask all staff members to close the front door after 10 pm due to security reasons for guest and staff. I have a door bell on our front door which echoes through the hotel if rung. I pay all staff hourly whilst working at the hotel and all staff are expected to work during these hours. I also have on our front door my telephone number and my assistant manager s number in case of emergencies , such as if guests lose there keys or in case of very late check ins stated by guests arriving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

best service and perfect breakfast this money can buy. Staff provided a portable heating since the central one was broken that night.
Only inconvenient are the no-soundproof walls that let you hear anything going on in the hall.
Overall, good place to stay for 1 or 2 nights in Edinburg

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your feedback . As you are aware we are upgrading the hotel and take all comments and feedback in to consideration. We are looking to achieve a 4* Hotel upon completion . It was a pleasure having you as a guest at Hotel Twenty and hope that you stay again.

Merry Christmas and a happy New Year from all at Hotel Twenty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

stayed for one night ,what superb service from all the team!! couldnt be more helpful!! superb value for money,added bonus of the tad pai restaurant best thai food ive had outside Thailand,good luck for the future plans etc will be back!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your feedback . As you are aware we are upgrading the hotel and take all comments and feedback in to consideration. We are looking to achieve a 4* Hotel upon completion . It was a pleasure having you as a guest at Hotel Twenty and hope that you stay again.

Merry Christmas and a happy New Year from all at Hotel Twenty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here just for the night and I can't complain for the price. There was enough space for two, the bed was comfy, the shower worked and the staff were friendly. The restaurant downstairs is also good due to convenience, plus 10% off when you're staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your feedback . As you are aware we are upgrading the hotel and take all comments and feedback in to consideration. We are looking to achieve a 4* Hotel upon completion . It was a pleasure having you as a guest at Hotel Twenty and hope that you stay again.

Merry Christmas and a happy New Year from all at Hotel Twenty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Twenty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Twenty

Address: 20 Leopold Place | London Road, Edinburgh EH7 5LB, Scotland (Formerly Richmond House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Calton Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Twenty 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Twenty is situated in the heart of Edinburgh. We strive on giving a good customer service at the best possible prices. Hotel Twenty is within walking distance of Edinburgh Waverly Train station and all its shops, pubs and clubs. We have only recently taken over the Hotel and have already done a lot of cosmetic work to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Twenty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Twenty Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Twenty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.