We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely disgusting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Twenty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Twenty to your Saves list
Hotel Twenty
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Leopold Place | London Road, Edinburgh EH7 5LB, Scotland (Formerly Richmond House Hotel) (Calton Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

On arrival greeted by laundry bags all over the floor. Room damp patch and peeling paint. Minibar was black and grubby as was ensuite bath. Extractor dangerous with years of fluff and bit of toilet paper stuck in it! Wall light hanging off and mattress stored in bar I kid you not! Should be condemned and management are con men. They take money when folk refuse to stay in their dirty smelly hotel THEN re-let room to some other victim.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback , i take all feedback positively. As you are aware we are updating the hotel as it was left in a terrible state from the previous owners. I am hoping to update another 3 rooms in this quiet period and have them completed by February. As this is a grade 1 listed building it takes time and patience with the planning permission as i would rather do things properly and to a good standard than rushed and half done. We strive on customer service and all reviews over the last year are very positive in this area. We are sorry that you did not choose to stay at Hotel Twenty . As the price reflects we are a budget hotel and not a 5 star in which you may be used to, I have taken the star ratings of until i have completed the refurbishment. The price we charged you was very fair especially for a hotel in the middle of Edinburgh , you will find it very difficult to find a double room and a family room for 2 nights including breakfast at a busy period in hospitality and at a weekend for £200 . The way you bullied my staff members was unacceptable in common respect and next time if you do decide to return i will put you in a new room and you can see the difference in standard and where we are looking to take the Hotel .

Regards

John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    77
    35
    19
    22
See reviews for
24
88
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed for one night in October when passing through. On the plus side, a very friendly welcome and helpful staff, low prices, and it's a fine old building, well placed for theatres and Waverley. The Thai food in the restaurant was also great. On the minus side, my single room was very cramped, smelt a bit stale, and the bathroom was also tiny and rather tired-looking, with nowhere to hang a towel. Breakfast was not very appetising (slightly soggy croissants) and it was odd to have it in the Thai restaurant. I know they are working on renovations, so maybe other rooms are better (and it was very cheap, so for the price it was OK).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback . As you are aware we are updating the hotel as it was left in a terrible state from the previous owners. I am hoping to update another 3 rooms in this quiet period and have them completed by February. As this is a grade 1 listed building it takes time with the planning permission as i would rather do things properly and to a good standard than rushed and half done. Again thank you for staying and it was a pleasure having you stay at Hotel Twenty and next time you return i will put you in a new room and you can see the difference in standard and where we are looking to take the Hotel .

Regards
John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for two nights we had booked the hotel for our visit to see the Lion King at the Playhouse location was excellent. But have to say the two Johns went that little bit extra to make our stay very pleasant they took the time to speak to us and advised the hotel was being upgraded also we were upgraded to a family room they provided everything we required for our stay. Hotel was spotless first time in the hotel but would be our first choice when we visit again.Would like to wish John and his staff every success in the future which i am sure they will have once again we have to thank you.John & Anne Mcgougan

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear John and Anne,

Thank you very much for your feedback it really means a lot to us here at Hotel Twenty . It was a pleasure having you at the hotel and you are more than welcome back any time . As you are aware we are upgrading and hopefully it will be to a 4* standard when completed . Again it was a pleasure having you .

Regards

John kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for a visit to the Playhouse. Location is excellent, just a short walk from the station and round the corner from the Playhouse. When we arrived the manager, John, advised us that the hotel was being upgraded and if anything was wrong to let him know. Couldn't really complain about anything, room was clean, functional and comfortable with a decent sized shower. Thought the branded mugs and coasters were a nice touch. Breakfast was ok, only thing (not really a complaint) was the plastic glasses for the juice.
I would definitely recommend Hotel Twenty, £63 for a double room was a bargain, and will probably use it again to see how the refurb is going.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We take all guests comments in to consideration. We try and pride ourselves with great service and in time we are hoping to upgrade the whole hotel to a 4 star standard. Again we thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at Hotel Twenty and hope to see you again .It was a pleasure having you stay at Hotel Twenty.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

a cheap priced hotel that is well worth the money in central edinbourgh?i scoured the internet and could not find one till i tried hotel 20.it was cheap and at a good price for central edinbourgh even included a breakfast(continental) and staff were so friendly and helpful and full of good advice for everyone. the decor and facilities are more worthy of the 4 stars they are aiming for and deserve as i have never stayed in such a lovely room before at these priceswith one of the most comfortable hotel beds i have ever had and the quality of furnishings and decor this has left left me determined to come back next time i am in edinbourgh and i will certainly tell everyone going to edinbourgh to check them out.

Room Tip: any special requests are met if possible from the team at hotel 20 and i was even advised on my pers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We take all guests comments in to consideration. We try and pride ourselves with great service and in time we are hoping to upgrade the whole hotel to a 4 star standard. Again we thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at Hotel Twenty and hope to see you again .It was a pleasure having you stay at Hotel Twenty.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed here a night before a week long tour of scotland and two nights post tour with my boyfriend and mum- both times we had the same room.. "Featuring views of the back garden" - please note this is actually a room at the front of the buliding only a few metres from a busy road, however on the otherside of the road is a park, so i guess not complete false advertising. This would have been absolutely fine (im usually a good sleeper) except the window dont close tightly and there is a constant breeze and noise entering the room. The venitian blinds dont close completely and curtains are not block out so light filters through very easily. The modern bedding is nice but the springs of the bed could be felt and the pillows (even after havin extra due to a spare bed) were quite uncomfortable. Also the bedheads on two of the beds were tipping like they werent screwed on properly. I appreciate bathroom wasnt updated yet - it was still quite functional and large but the toilet didnt flush properly 100% of the time. The breakfast is very basic but fine (i dont eat cooked english breakfasts though). The heating isnt set come on until 8pm for a few hours and doesnt come on in the morning which we found a little uncomfortable as it was quite cold. Also we were completely lost when we first arrived as there is no sign to the reception which is down stairs! I have been travelling for 6 months around the world and to be blunt i have stayed in cheaper/better quality hostels, but im sure these things will all improve when renos are complete :) Dont get me wrong there are definitely a few positives - LOVED having a bar fridge in the room (this is so rare!) the location was central, staff were very helpful plus it is pretty well priced for £90 a night for 3 adults. The thai restuarant down stairs was fantastic aswell and provided us with room service for no extra charge!

Room Tip: If youre a light sleep dont choose a room with "back garden views"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We take all guests comments in to consideration. We try and pride ourselves with great service and in time we are hoping to upgrade the whole hotel to a 4 star standard. Again we thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at Hotel Twenty .It was a pleasure having you stay at Hotel Twenty.

Regards

John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We just returned home after a short break at the hotel twenty. It's an absolute bargain for a central Edinburgh hotel. It is a 10 minute walk from Waverly Station and a 5 minute walk to the Playhouse, a very central hotel for a tourist in Edinburgh. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was continental and adequate. The staff are all friendly and John certainly goes out of his way to make you feel very welcome. Will certainly stay there again when in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We take all guests comments in to consideration. We try and pride ourselves with great service and in time we are hoping to upgrade the whole hotel to a 4 star standard. Again we thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at Hotel Twenty and hope to see you again .It was a pleasure having you stay at Hotel Twenty.

Regards

John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Twenty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Twenty

Address: 20 Leopold Place | London Road, Edinburgh EH7 5LB, Scotland (Formerly Richmond House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Calton Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Twenty 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Twenty is situated in the heart of Edinburgh. We strive on giving a good customer service at the best possible prices. Hotel Twenty is within walking distance of Edinburgh Waverly Train station and all its shops, pubs and clubs. We have only recently taken over the Hotel and have already done a lot of cosmetic work to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Twenty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Twenty Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Twenty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.