We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and will be even better after refurb!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Twenty

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Twenty to your Saves list
Hotel Twenty
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Leopold Place | London Road, Edinburgh EH7 5LB, Scotland (Formerly Richmond House Hotel) (Calton Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and will be even better after refurb!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Felt incredibly welcome from the moment I walked into the hotel...The manager on the desk, John, was brilliant, he carried our bags to the room and made us feel very comfortable. Breakfast, although not much choice, was lovely and service was with a smile from Eddie who was fantastic! Really lively and helpful...and certainly made us smile! This hotel has a Thai restaurant too, which can only be described as AMAZING...I certainly recommend this hidden GEM! The room had absolutely everything we needed and although was old and tired the other perks of the hotel made up for this. I will certainly stay here everytime and recommend to anyone staying in Edinburgh!! Thank you for a lovely stay and lots of luck for the future!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your positive feed back as you are well aware we are currently trying to update the hotel and will in time get in to the rooms and reception areas and have them to the same standard if not better than the service we provide. It was a pleasure having you stay here at Hotel Twenty and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Yours Sincerely

John Kelly Manager 0131 5563556
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    77
    35
    19
    22
See reviews for
24
88
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spent two nights in Hotel Twenty with two friends. Excellent service on arrival and had no problems when checking in early. Our room was family room which was clean and comfy, with the added touch of minuture soaps, and shampoos. Very welcoming. Lovely continental breakfast. The Deputy Manager Ed, was brilliant, went above and beyond to ensure our stay was brilliant. Staff were very welcoming and helpful offering advice on restaurants and transport information. Really good location only 8 mins walk from Waverly Station, excellent transport links. Thai Reastaurant is amazing worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feed back . As you are aware we are doing some cosmetic work in the hotel and hopefully it will be completed soon. We strive on customer service and hopefully the rooms and reception areas will meet the same standard. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Yours sincerely

John kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Upon arrival, we were left waiting outside in the snow for about 5 minutes until someone opened the door after we had rang the bell several times. We were then given our room key after we had paid to find that the bed was broken with the slats lying on the floor in a poor attempt to hide them under the bed. Some of the wall lights in the room also didn't work.

When we spoke to the person on reception, we were told that the hotel was fully booked and we couldn't have another room, but they would offer us a £9 refund. When we said no to this offer, a room suddenly became available, however this room was tiny and freezing. We were told that it was hotel policy that the heating did not come on until later in the evening, however the heating in our original room appeared to be working fine! This new room also overlooked the main road and was exceptionally noisy.

After a conversation with the manager over the phone, we were told he was coming in, even though it was his day off, which he made perfectly clear more than once. When he arrived, he was extremely rude and took quite an aggressive manner. We told him that we did not want either the old or new room, and wanted a refund, when he offered us a Thai meal worth £30, with no money off for the reason that we were offered a new room.

Upon some more harsh words being exchanged, mainly by the manager, we decided we did not want to stay in the hotel, and proceeded to leave. We were not given a refund, and will not be back at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest ,

I am very sorry that you had a bad experience at our hotel and can only hope that if you visit again you will have a much more positive one. As you are well aware we are under renovation and are replacing all the beds and furniture in the rooms. Your reviews are important to us and will be taken in to consideration.

Yours sincerely
John Kelly Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Spent two nights at the Hotel Twenty, made to feel very welcome on arrival and was impressed by the hotel's Thai reastaurant and bar. My room, a single, was warm and comfortable and had the the extras you would expect from the larger hotel chains. The Twenty is ideally situated for easy access to the city centre and you're spoilt for choice of cafes, bars and restaurants within a short walk of the hotel. I will certainly be using the Twenty again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your positive feed back . It was a pleasure having you as guests and hopefully we will be seeing you again and hopefully the renovation work will be completed.

Yours sincerely

John Kelly Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A late booking, following flight change and needing an extra nights accomodation. So only stayed the one night. Yes it in middle of being completey renovated and is expected to take another 12 months, but wow! Great rooms in a lovely building, brilliant hosts that really look after you. Our room was a large family room with everything you need despite not having been renovated yet. We got the room for a good price that was right for our particular room. If you pay nearer full price ask for an updated room. Location excellent for shopping side of city with plenty to see and do. Excellent transport connection, buses stop right outside. I wouldnt worry about the renovation, these are done during the times when guests are out enjoying themselves.
This hotel is going to be a real gem, but even now has lots of those little extras like umbrellas to borrow, excellent free wifi, good tea/coffee facilities and more.
Thanks

Room Tip: Ask for upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your time and effort on writing such a positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to seeing you again. Hopefully the next time you visit we will have most of the refurbishment work complete.

Yours sincerely

John Kelly Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel is much worth than the price. The staffs are very helpful and friendly, wifi is free and the room is warm. The Thai restaurant on the basement floor is excellent!! The one negative impression is that the wifi signal is weak in the room. But I could use it in the public area and there is a PC in the public area, so it's all right. I'll stay this hotel again next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are very grateful for your comments and take every one in to consideration. We strive on customer service and hopefully the rooms will catch up with the standard of the staff and restaurant as you are well aware we are doing some cosmetic work and hopefully it will be completed soon. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Yours sincerely
John Kelly Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We had two family rooms which were spacious and although still in need of decoration (which is happening soon) were still pleasant and the beds/towels/toiletries extra were great. Bathroom and furniture needs updating but it certainly didnt spoil our stay. Staff were brilliant, very friendly and helped us in every way possible. Thai restaurant was lovely and well priced.
Location was good, 10 mins walk from Waverley station. Not right in the city centre but near enough.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are very grateful for your comments and take every one in to consideration. We strive on customer service and hopefully the rooms will catch up with the standard of the staff and restaurant as you are well aware we are doing some cosmetic work and hopefully it will be completed soon. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Yours sincerely
John Kelly Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Twenty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Twenty

Address: 20 Leopold Place | London Road, Edinburgh EH7 5LB, Scotland (Formerly Richmond House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Calton Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Twenty 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Twenty is situated in the heart of Edinburgh. We strive on giving a good customer service at the best possible prices. Hotel Twenty is within walking distance of Edinburgh Waverly Train station and all its shops, pubs and clubs. We have only recently taken over the Hotel and have already done a lot of cosmetic work to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Twenty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Twenty Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Twenty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.