We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting in a disturbing way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surgeons' Hall - CLOSED

Surgeons' Hall
Nicolson Street, Edinburgh, Scotland
+44 131 527 1600
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Surgeons' Hall houses one of the largest and most historic collections of surgical pathology in the World. Developed as a teaching museum for students of medicine, its fascinating collections, including bone and tissue specimens, artefacts and works of art, have also been open to the public since 1832, making it Scotland's oldest museum. The History of Surgery Museum traces the story of surgery in Scotland from 1505 to the present day through objects, images and artworks. The Pathology Museum is the oldest purpose-built museum that still houses its original collection in Scotland. The Dental Museum incorporates the outstanding object and art collection of Menzies Campbell, and is one of the top dentistry collections in Britain. In 2012 the Museum was host to the exhibition "Watching on the Heights: The Life and Work of Joseph Lister" and the "60 Years of Surgery" exhibition launched for the Queen's Diamond Jubilee. In 2013, Surgeons' Hall Museum hosted a new exhibition, entitled "Women in Warfare", which was launched to coincide with the "Women in Warfare: From Troy to the Trenches". This exhibition ran until December 2013. Currently the Museum is open from 10am - 5pm, 7 days a week The Museum will be closed for redevelopment from 18th May 2014 - Summer 2015.
Sozopol, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very interesting in a disturbing way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was an interesting museum with tons of creepy and fascinating stuff. We were here without a guide, but it was plenty to see alone. This is not a place for the lighthearted, because the displays have everything from extremely premature fetus skeletons, to extremely disgusting parasites from inside human beings.

P.S the guy that recently wrote that you should be there a while before the guide comes so that you can read all the text without being annoyingly disturbed must be overly enthusiastic, cause it was like walking through a book. We read headlines and highlights, and focused on all the the fascinating displays. Only costs £5, so well worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    92
    19
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fascinating - a real surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We visited here today as part of our latest trip to Edinburgh and it was fabulous! An actor gave a fabulous interactive talk several times a day which was super! He was very enthusiastic and was more than happy to answer any questions at the end of the talk. It's probably worth arriving at the museum early around 10ish if you can to read most of the displays in the room he gives the talk in before he begins as the talks are at regular intervals of around an hour and we still hadn't finished reading when the next one began which was very distracting. Parts of the museum contain extensive collections of specimens, not for the faint hearted but the whole exhibit was engaging and thoroughly interesting. The £5 entrance fee was a bargain considering we were there for over 3 hours. It's a real must see!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Medical marvells”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

have passed this building for years, but as it was raining we decided to visit. What a surprise in store, facinating history of medince, some interesting exhibits - unusual but good

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Grisly but interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Wonderful museum macabre, but interesting,made all the more special by actor portraying an 19th century surgeon. So many wonderful discoveries in medicine made in Edinburgh. Well worth a visit

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Real, honest and bold. Absolutely fascinating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is definitely a place that every suregon to be should visit. It gives you a honest overview where it all began. There where no fancy equipments or even the kind medicine we have today. It really makes you appreciate all the things you have today.

This museum wasn't what I accpected to be, it was much more! I just thought I was going into one these average museums that would have a couple of real human bones and mostly just pictures in it. But no! The scots are not afraid to show that this is human, these are thing you're maid of. I work as a nurse and this is the kind of museum I would have liked to visit during the time I was studying. And even now having been on the job for a while, I still learned a lot.

So, all the surgeon and nurse wanna bees go see this. Dontä just read your books and look pictures. See how it all began, see how one most important parts of medicine got into the the point where it is now.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surgeons' Hall also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surgeons' Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.